Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"It’s in a great location, but the room was gross. Stains on the carpet, outdated bathroom, etc. " More

By a verified traveller on Tue 17 Mar 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

The Manly Hotel Est. 1964 places you in the center of Sydney, within just a 10-minute stroll of Manly Beach and within 30 minutes of Curl Curl Beach. Highlights at this beach motel include in-room kitchenettes and free WiFi.

You can enjoy TVs and desks, featured in all 27 individually decorated rooms. Kitchenettes and refrigerators are also available. Weekly housekeeping is available.

This business-friendly motel offers free WiFi in public areas, a terrace, and a garden. Plus you'll find laundry facilities and a reception hall. There's also the convenience of self parking.

Sights within a 30-minute drive of this Manly motel include Shelly Beach and Taronga Zoo.

Budget Student Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max
AU$72* Per night/room 29 Nov. - 30 Nov.

Classic Family One and a Quarter Rooms

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Comfort Family Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Double Room with Balcony

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Family Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Queen Double Room with Balcony

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

The Manly Hotel Est. 1964 ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
2.6 out of 5 2.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 2.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 2.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for The Manly Hotel Est. 1964

Everyone (34) Couples (7) Family (6)
3 out of 5

Posted by on 9 Oct. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5

Posted by on 28 Jul. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
It’s in a great location, but the room was gross. Stains on the carpet, outdated bathroom, etc.

Posted by on 17 Mar. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
Property is tired, some rooms have had a refresh but bathrooms need work. The pipes don't cope and was a struggle to have a shower that wasn't scorching or freezing. Location is great and it's value for money. If you book knowing it's an older property that will have some"issues" then it's perfect.

Posted by on 16 Mar. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

16 Mar. 2020 by dizzy

Thank you for your review it is a question of just adjusting the levels on the taps and sometimes there are airlocks like any home. yes the hotel is schedule for renovations but the costs offered in manly make coming to Manly affordable and should you wish more see our manly designer studios to book which have been renovated. we do thank you for your review and feedback and we hope you enjoyed your stay as your review appears to state for this warm friendly and grand old lady with history. and a perfect location

4 out of 5
hotel location at Manly was fantastic. easy walk to local facilities.

Posted by , from sydney on 5 Mar. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

5 Mar. 2020 by dizzy

Thank you for your review Mem and we hope to welcome you back in the future

1 out of 5
Manley Hotel 29 Feb room 7 The best thing about this hotel is the location. Besides this I have nothing good to say about it. Having stayed there for 1 night I would never recommend this place Reasons: As reception closes early I would encourage whoever want to take the risk and stay here to thouroghly give your room the one over before heading out. Coming back to the room at 12.00 I was greeted to a room of 8 cockroaches, and heaps of mosquitoes. (If this is a known isssues I feel like complimentary insect spray should be provided.) Secondly to stop more mosquitoes coming in I tried to close the windows however one of the windows is broken and has no handle so it can’t be closed, so I was forced the deal with the mosquitoes situation. There clearly was a major mould issue in the bathroom, that someone has tired to clean but has done an awful job because more mould is growing on the ceiling, wall, door and shower curtain. The room was not cleaned properly before my stay, rubbish under the bed was evident, and further viewing under the bed was covered with dead bugs and layer of dust. The room had no air conditioner, so the provide you with a pedestal fan, this fan clearly has never been cleaned, covered in dust inside and out, at 12.30 at night I was forced to clean the whole fan before using it. The old saying comes to mind, you get what you pay for... if you are decide to stay here and pay more than $20 for the room you are getting ripped off. 0 Stars

Posted by , from Sydney on 5 Mar. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

5 Mar. 2020 by dizzy

Hello Joe I thank you for your review, we have taken on board your comments however all our guests have been more than happy with that room and we clean on check out but the cleaners have been reviewed on all your points. However as stated on our booking sites not all of our rooms have air conditioning and you had a fan which although cleaned regularly with the ongoing storms and dust from the road it can easily accumulate dirt or dust as can the room if the windows are open as does my room and fan. You booked a 2.5star hotel and the standard room on the ground floor for the price in a busy time and this is a question of your perception neither right nor wrong just yours and others love that room so you see as they do I will let others decide. And it is always booked for the price quite happily older bathroom but its clean

1 out of 5

Posted by on 2 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

6 Feb. 2020 by dizzy

Thank you for your review

3 out of 5

Posted by on 27 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

6 Feb. 2020 by dizzy

Thank you for your review however there are no comments for the reasons for the scoring so all I can do is thank you.

3 out of 5
Facilities are outdated and the property needs a facelift but staff are very friendly and the location is excellent!

Posted by on 26 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

26 Jan. 2020 by dizzy

Thank you for your review although I have to address you as Anonymous unfortunately. We are aware of the facelift but that takes a lot of scheduling should you wish to return then please see what the new owner has achieved thus far in renovations by checking out Manly Designer Studios. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our welcome the location which is superb and your stay

2 out of 5
Room in need of a refurb, carpet was very old and everything out dated

Posted by on 17 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

21 Jan. 2020 by dizzy

the hotel has yet to have renovations under new management so if booking again see what our Manly Designer studios show on what and how renovations achieved thus far. As you do not put a name we cannot review the room you stayed in but we do thank you for your feedback and it would be nice to know what you booked at.

About the The Manly Hotel Est. 1964

Location 19 Pacific Street, Manly, NSW 2095

Property Features

As a guest of The Manly Hotel Est. 1964, you'll find a terrace, a garden, and laundry facilities. Public spaces have free WiFi. Limited parking is available for a fee and is offered on a first-come, first-served basis. This Sydney motel is smoke free.

  • 1 floor
  • 27 guestrooms or units
  • 2 buildings
  • Built in 1964
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Kitchenette
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Self parking (surcharge) , Parking (limited spaces) , Free parking nearby , Offsite parking reservations required

Transport

  • Airport: Kingsford Smith Intl. Airport (SYD) (30.9 km / 19.2 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

The Manly Hotel Est. 1964 offers 27 accommodations. These individually decorated and furnished accommodations include desks. Kitchenettes offer refrigerators and cookware/dishes/utensils. Bathrooms include showers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Housekeeping is offered weekly and irons/ironing boards can be requested. Housekeeping is provided on a limited basis. Renovation of all guestrooms was completed in May 2017.

  • In-room kitchenette
  • Television
  • Refrigerator
  • Kitchenware
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (weekly)
  • Iron and ironing board available
  • Desk
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Unique furnishings
  • Unique decor
  • Free tea bags/instant coffee

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18
  • Check-in time ends at 8:00 PM

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 8 AM - 8:00 PM. To make arrangements for check-in please contact the property at least 24 hours before arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. If you are planning to arrive after 6:00 PM please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests planning to arrive outside of normal check-in hours must contact the property in advance for check-in instructions and lockbox information. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Guests will receive lockbox codes and check-in instructions via text message.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 8 AM - 8:00 PM.
To arrange for check-in, guests must contact the property at least 24 hours prior to arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests arriving after 6:00 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests planning to arrive outside of normal check-in hours must contact the property in advance for check-in information and lockbox information. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for AUD 35.0 per day.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. This property accepts credit cards, debit cards, and cash. Noise-free guestrooms cannot be guaranteed.

  • No cots (infant beds) available
  • No lifts
  • Parking height restrictions apply
  • Noise-free rooms not guaranteed
  • Number of children who can stay for free – 2
  • Debit cards
  • Staffed front desk

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Breakage deposit: AUD 200 per stay

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Self parking fee: AUD 20.00 per night
  • Late check-out fee: AUD 35 (subject to availability)
  • Rollaway bed fee: AUD 35.0 per day
  • Credit card charges are subject to a surcharge of AUD 2.5

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Manly Hotel Est. 1964
  • Manly Oceanside Motel
  • Oceanside Manly
  • Hotel Est. 1964
  • Manly Est. 1964
  • The Manly Est 1964 Motel Manly
  • The Manly Hotel Est. 1964 Motel
  • The Manly Hotel Est. 1964 Manly
  • The Manly Hotel Est. 1964 Motel Manly

You should know

  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
url importing http://www.wotif.com/Sydney-Hotels-The-Manly-Hotel-Est.-1964.h4516966-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Sydney-Hotels-The-Manly-Hotel-Est.-1964.h4516966-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/Sydney-Hotels-The-Manly-Hotel-Est.-1964.h4516966-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.