Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

The Manly Hotel Est. 1964 puts you in the centre of Manly, 0.7 km (0.4 mi) from Manly Beach and 2.5 km (1.6 mi) from Shelly Beach. Highlights at this beach motel include in-room kitchenettes and free WiFi.

You can enjoy TVs, coffee/tea makers, and desks, featured in all 27 individually decorated rooms. In-room dining is easy with kitchenettes that come equipped with fridges and microwaves. Weekly housekeeping is available.

This business-friendly motel offers free WiFi in public areas, a terrace and a garden. Added amenities include laundry facilities and a reception hall. There's also the convenience of self parking.

Attractions within a 15-minute drive of this Manly motel include Taronga Zoo and Sydney Harbour Bridge.

Budget Student Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max
AU$100* Per night/room 29 Oct. - 30 Oct.

Heritage Room with Verandah and Garden

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Classic Family One and a Quarter Rooms

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Classic Family Room Courtyard

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Comfort Family Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Double Room with Balcony

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

The Manly Hotel Est. 1964 ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
2.7 out of 5 2.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 2.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 2.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for The Manly Hotel Est. 1964

Everyone (29) Couples (2) Family (1)
3 out of 5
Overall ok, price good especially for the area. Kids were in a second room off the main room which was great. Facilities-fittings old but ok, furnishings nice and in good condition, the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was less than great. Toilet took forever to refill and my husband said the seat wouldn’t stay up. The shower could have used a good clean around the edges.

Posted by on 30 Sep. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 Sep. 2019 by dizzy

Thank you for your review and we hope you had a good stay. All your comments and feedback are valued as we can immediately act on the shower and the toilet but if not told we do not know the maintenance. As for the bathrooms the whole hotel is scheduled around guests for renovations especially the bathrooms but this all takes time and scheduling but we hope you will come back and see the renovations some time.

2 out of 5
I didn’t get any parking... very noisey too. Nothing was in the fridge so there was no opportunity to even make a cup of tea. Not for me!

Posted by on 25 Aug. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 Aug. 2019 by dizzy

Thank you for your review we do however state that we have limited off street parking and you can reserve if available or safely park in the wide residential street. All know that there is a parking problem in Manly unless metered and or paying other hotels $55.00 per night. As for noisy we do try to keep the guest hopefuly to respect other guests and we do when on duty or if a complaint try to get them to respect the other guests. As for shortage of anything in the room through housekeeping human error we follow up on this so thank you for letting us know but any guest missing anything all they have to do is contact reception for it to be dealt with.

4 out of 5
Budget hotel and that is what I needed for one night.

Posted by on 9 Aug. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 Aug. 2019 by dizzy

Thank you for your review and as currently the hotel is around guests being renovated although slowly it will become a beautiful old lady

5 out of 5

Posted by on 20 Jul. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Aug. 2019 by dizzy

Thank you for your review and we do hope to welcome you back as schedule for the future are many renovations. Dee

4 out of 5
The location of this hotel is fantastic. The rooms and bathrooms are in need of alot of work. The hotel was quiet, and yet we could hear our neighbours. We booked this last minute and it was fine for a night. Thanks to the great and friendly staff!

Posted by on 14 Jul. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 Jul. 2019 by dizzy

Thank you for your review and yes we are in the process of renovating the hotel currently as we have just finished one major renovation's for another arm of the business, I am sorry though if your neighbours disturbed you, and we hope we can welcome you back so you can see the new look. If you ring direct then we can tell you what rooms are completed.

2 out of 5

Posted by on 5 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

8 May 2019 by norman bates

I am sorry the guest was disappointed but without the knowledge of why and what happened any complaints or upsets if not dealt with the guest to accommodate them are unable to be reviewed as we take the all our guests comments seriously. But this is currently a 2.5star hotel the guest booked in Manly which is a very expensive area I would have liked it if the guest could have given the reasons for the ratings and the room they stayed in so management could review all the disappointments unfortunately this not able to be done and new ownership is undergoing renovations through the winter season in all areas of the business

5 out of 5
Good clean rooms, great location, off street parking, close to beach and transport

Posted by on 2 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

6 Mar. 2019 by The Manly Hotel Est. 1964

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again next time you are in Manly.

2 out of 5
There was so many cockroaches in our room it was disgusting ... there was a seriously gross white stain on the couch .... and hair in the sheets of the bed l have never stayed in a place more discusting ...

Posted by on 17 Feb. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

6 Mar. 2019 by The Manly Hotel Est. 1964

Hello Anonymous, we are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay? Did you let our reception know of your issues at the time? It is always hard to respond to profiles who chose to be anonymous, but we most certainly value feedback. We are also happy to let you know that we are under NEW Management and currently undergoing a full Refurbishment, one room at a time. So ironing out issues as they may arise. We hope to have you back in the not to distant future.

1 out of 5
The only good thing was that it was close to the beach. There was cockroaches in the fridge and in the room, the air conditioner vents had so much dust in them, the room hasn’t cracks in many areas, room service enters the room whenever they want even when people are not in the room and the toilet was so tiny plus the toilet door wouldn’t lock either. It was a terrible experience for us.

Posted by on 28 Dec. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

5 Jan. 2019 by Norman

I am sorry you were disappointed unfortunately Manly and the Northern beaches are as the residents know renound for coackroaches during certain season and although we regularly spray both the outside of the Hotel and the inside we do all we can. Room service only enters to refresh or maintenance if you have made a report other than that no one enters your room. With regards to the rest of your review as it is anonymous and does not let us know what you are in it does not help us to review any problems. This is a 2.5 star hotel that you booked and we offer affordable prices to stay in our beautiful Manly during the summer season and as under new ownership we are in the process of renovations around guests to make this grand old lady shine. We have so many happy guests that value the character of the hotel the costing and the location so it is just a question of perspective. Had we been told of the bathroom lock that would have gone immediately to maintenance in the busy season of xmas to have been fixed however if you do not report it or them that you are unhappy about then we have no knowledge of the problems We wish you a happy new year.

1 out of 5
Booked and paid in advance - told by very rude receptionist that they hadn’t got a room for me and were fully booked. I was so taken back by How I was spoken to. Eventually managed to get allocated a room from a guest that didn’t turn up. The bathroom was very very dirty and in need of repairs. This is more like a low rate hostel. Very over priced for what it is.

Posted by , from Goondiwindi NSW on 4 Nov. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Nov. 2018 by Dee

I am sorry you thought I was rude unfortunately we had a mapping problem with Expedia and I was trying to sort out what and how to you find you, that is stressful not rude and the questions I asked were relevant to the problem. We immediately found you a room once we had worked out what had happened. It is difficult when one has to look at different sites to confirm bookings, so if you thought that my concentration on the matter and the questions asked quickly were rude then I apologise as I am not rude. As for the rooms they are cleaned daily and we are under new ownership with ongoing renovations we are not a low rate hostel though that is a perspective which is yours neither right nor wrong it is just yours and not shared by all others as they happily stay in our hotel in Manly which is an expensive area to stay in and in a 2.5 star rated hotel at the prices we offer. So again I am not rude when stressed just working on the problems. In the meantime I am sorry you were disappointed but would although early like to take this opportunity on behalf of the staff to wish you a very merry xmas and happy new year to you and your family.

About the The Manly Hotel Est. 1964

Location 19 Pacific Street, Manly, NSW 2095

Property Features

As a guest of The Manly Hotel Est. 1964, you'll find a terrace, a garden, and laundry facilities. WiFi is free in public spaces. Limited parking is available for a fee and is offered on a first-come, first-served basis. This Manly motel is smoke free.

  • 1 floor
  • 27 guestrooms or units
  • 2 buildings
  • Built in 1964
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Kitchenette
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi


Self parking (surcharge) , Parking (limited spaces) , Offsite parking reservations required


  • Airport: Sydney, NSW (SYD-Kingsford Smith Intl.) (30.9 km / 19.2 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

The Manly Hotel Est. 1964 offers 27 forms of accommodation with coffee/tea makers. This individually decorated and furnished accommodation includes desks. Kitchenettes offer fridges, microwaves and kitchenware and utensils. Bathrooms include a shower. Guests can surf the web using complimentary wireless Internet access. Housekeeping is offered on a weekly basis and an iron/ironing board can be requested. Housekeeping is provided on a limited basis. Renovation of all guestrooms was completed in May 2017.

  • In-room kitchenette
  • Television
  • Fridge
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Kitchenware
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (weekly)
  • Iron and ironing board available
  • Desk
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Unique furnishings
  • Unique decor

Hotel Policies


  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 8:30 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 8 AM - 8:30 PM.
If you are planning to arrive after 8:30 PM, please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 8 AM - 8:30 PM.
Guests arriving after 8:30 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation.


  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for AUD 35.0 per day.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.


  • No pets allowed


Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. Noise-free guestrooms cannot be guaranteed.

  • No cots (infant beds) available
  • Noise-free rooms not guaranteed
  • No lifts
  • Parking height restrictions apply
  • Number of children who can stay for free – 2


Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Self-parking fee: AUD 15.00 per night
  • Late check-out fee: AUD 35 (subject to availability)
  • Rollaway bed fee: AUD 35.0 per day

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Manly Hotel Est. 1964
  • Manly Oceanside Motel
  • Oceanside Manly
  • Hotel Est. 1964
  • Manly Est. 1964
  • The Manly Est 1964 Motel Manly
  • The Manly Hotel Est. 1964 Motel
  • The Manly Hotel Est. 1964 Manly
  • The Manly Hotel Est. 1964 Motel Manly

You should know

  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
url importing
There was an error importing /Sydney-Hotels-The-Manly-Hotel-Est.-1964.h4516966-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspException: Problem accessing the absolute URL "".
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.