Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.1 out of 5

"We are avid swans fans and have stayed at Abey and Cambridge on a number of occasions the staff and hotel are just wonderful they are always trying to ... " More

By a verified traveller on Sun 11 Mar 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Abey Hotel places you steps from Crown Street and within a 10-minute stroll of Australian Museum. Highlights at this hotel include an indoor swimming pool and a conference center.

IPod docks, WiFi, and flat-screen TVs are featured in all 24 rooms. Premium linens welcome you to a good night's rest, and other nice touches include soaking tubs and free toiletries.

The restaurant, Baccomatto Osteria, serves Italian cuisine and is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Additionally, you'll find free WiFi in public areas, luggage storage, and a reception hall. Each morning buffet breakfast is served between 6:30 AM and 10:30 AM. There's also the convenience of self parking.

Within a 15-minute walk of this 3-star Surry Hills hotel, attractions include Capitol Theatre and Hyde Park.

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Twin Room

Bed Count 2 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Triple Room

Bed Count 3 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Abey Hotel ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.1 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Abey Hotel

Everyone (104) Couples (17) Students (1) Family (38)
5 out of 5

Fan day

Pros: It is mid range in distance to all the local Sydney venues both tourist oriented and footy fan the hotel staff are tremendous happy and vibrant
Cons: The outside lane way little Campbell st has a constant flow of water in the gutter can be bit slippery on the up hill ramp
Location: It’s mid range in distance to all the great Sydney venues and easy to get around plenty of everything everywhere
We are avid swans fans and have stayed at Abey and Cambridge on a number of occasions the staff and hotel are just wonderful they are always trying to make our stay a great one and yet again they have won us over

Posted by , from tasmania on 11 Mar. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 Mar. 2018 by Fiona

Dear Chuck, It’s so pleasing to see your good rate of our Abey Hotel, and thank you for taking the time to sharing your Abey Hotel experience. We are delighted to know that you had another great stay with us and enjoyed the hotel’s convenient location to meet your needs; your feedback regarding the back of the street water leaking we have been noticed and has undertaken to fix it, it is a little bit more complicated due to the building construction, however we want to get this done as quick as possible, thank you for your feedback and continued support, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Warm regards

5 out of 5

Nice hotel right in the middle of the action

We were looking for something clean and comfortable right near Darlinghurst but also needed some affordable. We will return here every time. In addition to ticking all of our main criteria, the staff were friendly and helpful.

Posted by , from brisbane on 27 Jan. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Jan. 2018 by Fiona

Dear Bill, thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed every element of the hotel and its service, especially our convenient location met your needs. It is always pleasure to hear about the great guest experience as this motivates our team to exceed guest expectations. Once again, thank you very much for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon. Warm regards

2 out of 5

Pool was the only good thing about this place

Won’t go back, arrived at 9.30pm, was travelling with myself and 2 small children, when arrived at reception we were told we were late and got a snide look. Things just got worse, reception also made a comment that we were “only in a Abey room” and apparently that isn’t as good as the others. Automatically made us feel second class. It is good location to the shops of Surry Hills.

Posted by , from NSW on 26 Jan. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Feb. 2018 by General Manager

Hi Kimberly, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is disappointing to read your comments about the level of service you received on arrival. This certainly is not the warm welcome we strive to provide all our guests and I apologise for this. Your comments have been investigated by the Front Office Manager and the staff member you dealt with has been reprimanded and retrained. As mentioned before Kimberly, this is not the high levels of service we pride ourselves on and I hope we can welcome you back to show you a true Abey experience. Kind regards,

2 out of 5

Overpriced and bad vibe

This hotel is overpriced for what it provides. The toilet drains stank. Got a creepy vibe from the manager too. Free wifi and good location but on balance not worth it. Will not stay again.

Posted by on 5 Dec. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

12 Dec. 2017 by General Manager

Hi, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is disappointing to know you did not have an enjoyable stay with us experiencing some issues. Your comments have been passed onto the appropriate Heads of Departments and please know this certainly is not the standards we strive to provide our guests. We would like to know more about your stay. Please can you contact the hotel to discuss your feedback further. Kind Regards,

4 out of 5
Pros: Hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Pool area was a little dated. We stayed on the pool level, so early morning cleans were a bit noisey. Front window needs a curtain to keep out light.
Location was great, close to resturants and supermarkets. We were able to walk to the Harbour and Opera house, with lots of coffee and shopping stops along the way.

Posted by on 14 Oct. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

20 Oct. 2017 by Fiona

Dear Guest, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time in reviewing your stay, however I am sorry to hear that our facilities did not meet your expectations. It is pleasing that you found our staff were friendly and helpful. I have noted your comments that the noise in the morning from Housekeeping team and I have taken steps to ensure that staff have a greater knowledge of this when they at work. Warm regards

4 out of 5

Nice hotel, very central location

The hotel was just what we needed for a 1night stay in Sydney. The room was clean and very comfortable. The downside was that the room was by the indoor pool and there was a noticeable amount of water on the tiles even outside there pool fence. Also the plumbing was very loud when the person staying next door had a shower.

Posted by , from Melbourne on 13 Sep. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 Sep. 2017 by Fiona

Dear Lainee, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking them time to sharing your Abey Hotel experience. It’s great that the standard of cleanliness and comfortable room met your expectations. we take guest feedback very seriously and our Maintenance team will look at the issues you mentioned, thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Warm regards

3 out of 5
The hotel room was large but everything in it was pretty basic. Needs an update

Posted by , from Sydney on 25 Aug. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Aug. 2017 by Fiona

Dear Liz, thank you for choosing to stay with us at Abey Hotel and for taking the time to give us feedback after your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that the room allocated to you this time did not meet your expectations, however you loved the spacious room size. For the future stay, you can choose Cambridge Hotel rooms which most of them on higher floor and most recent have been updated. Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warm regards

5 out of 5

weekend stay

Pros: excellent location, good size, nice restaurant in hotel and esp around the corner
Cons: softer bed and cant wait for construction nxt door to b finished to be able to open blinds!
Location: heaps to do
excellent location, good size, nice restaurant in hotel and esp around the corner

Posted by on 24 Aug. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Aug. 2017 by General Manager

Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to review our property after your recent stay with us at Abey Hotel Sydney. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the hotel’s convenient location, thank you again for the sharing, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Warm regards

5 out of 5

Great stay, awesome staff

Great location close to everything Friendly hospitable staff heater wasn't working and they were so quick to send maintenance men and that was after they gave us a portable one. Room service was great fast and with awesome prices very clean and comfortable Definately reccomend

Posted by , from Cairns on 22 Aug. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

24 Aug. 2017 by General Manager

Dear Deli, thank you for sharing your recent experience on your recent stay at Abey Hotel Sydney. It’s pleasing to our friendly staff and its service added to your comfortable stay, especially the hotel’s location was to your favour, thank you for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warm regards

5 out of 5

Nice hotel - close to all amenities

Pros: The hotel was clean, well positioned and really friendly and helpful staff - will certainly stay their again.
Location: Close to the City, Central Station and Darling Harbour. Plenty of the things to do.
Arrived to be greeted by welcoming staff. Helpful with what we can expect from the hotel and their facilities. The hotel is very secure so you feel safe staying there. Room was clean, had a bath and was very quiet. No road noise so you can sleep soundly.

Posted by , from Canberra, ACT on 20 Aug. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

22 Aug. 2017 by g

Dear Sandra, thank you very much for taking the time to review our property after your recent stay with us at Abey Hotel Sydney. We are delighted that you had an wonderful stay and enjoyed the hotel’s convenient location, we are lucky enough to be located in the heart of Surry Hills which only walking distance to CBD and most of Sydney attractions while enjoying Surry Hills vibrant dining, fashion, art and entertaining. Thank you again for the sharing, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Warm regards

Property Features

Abey Hotel offers its guests an indoor pool. WiFi is free in public spaces. For a fee, parking is available. For a fee, the property may offer extended parking privileges after check-out.

  • 24 guestrooms or units
  • Conference center
  • Storage area for luggage

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Indoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: WiFi (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Self parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: Sydney, NSW (SYD-Kingsford Smith Intl.) (14.7 km / 9.1 mi)
  • Train station: Sydney Central Station (1.1 km / 0.7 mi)
  • Metro station: Museum Station (0.7 km / 0.5 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Abey Hotel offers 24 accommodations with iPod docking stations and complimentary toiletries. Beds feature premium bedding. Flat-screen televisions come with cable channels. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations with deep soaking bathtubs. This Surry Hills hotel provides wireless Internet access for a surcharge.

  • Deep soaking tub
  • IPod dock
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Luxury bedding
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy buffet breakfast daily from 6:30 AM to 10:30 AM.

Baccomatto Osteria - This restaurant specializes in Italian cuisine and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include an indoor pool.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for AUD 40.0 per night.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • Parking height restrictions apply

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: AUD 50.00 per night

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for buffet breakfast: AUD 20 per person (approximately)
  • Fee for in-room wireless Internet: AUD 15 per day (rates may vary)
  • Self parking fee: AUD 35.00 per day
  • Rollaway bed fee: AUD 40.0 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Abey Hotel
  • Abey Hotel Surry Hills
  • Abey Surry Hills
  • Hotel Abey
  • Abey Hotel Surry Hills
  • Abey Hotel Hotel Surry Hills
  • Abey Hotel Hotel
  • Abey Hotel Hotel
  • Abey Hotel Surry Hills
  • Abey Hotel Hotel Surry Hills

You should know

  • Please note that this property can refuse certain bookings for the purpose of group events or parties, which include pre-wedding stag/bachelor and hen/bachelorette parties.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
url importing http://www.wotif.com/Sydney-Hotels-Abey-Hotel.h5371369-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Sydney-Hotels-Abey-Hotel.h5371369-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/Sydney-Hotels-Abey-Hotel.h5371369-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.