"Central hotel opposite Grand Central Station and near 5th Ave. rooms are really small and the bathrooms need a upgrade " More

By a verified traveller on Wed 06 Jun 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

The Roosevelt Hotel, New York City places you in the centre of New York, steps from 5th Avenue and within a short 5-minute stroll of Grand Central Terminal. Highlights at this hotel include 3 restaurants, a restaurant and a 24-hour health club.

Flat-screen TVs with cable channels are featured in all rooms, and you can enjoy WiFi, safes and hairdryers. Premium bedding and free toiletries are nice touches to enhance your stay. Room service, phones and irons/ironing boards are also available.

For a drink, you can stop by the hotel's own bar/lounge. 29999 square feet (2787 square metres) of event facilities include conference rooms, and other business amenities include a business centre. Added amenities include a fitness centre and WiFi in public areas. There's also the convenience of valet parking.

Attractions within a 10-minute walk of this 4-star Midtown hotel include Chrysler Building and St. Patrick's Cathedral.

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed (Cozy)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
AU$155* Per night/room 25 Aug. - 26 Aug.

Junior Suite, 1 Queen Bed

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Suite, 1 Bedroom

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Deluxe Room, 2 Double Beds

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Suite (Madison)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

The Roosevelt Hotel, New York City ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.0 out of 5 3.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 2.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for The Roosevelt Hotel, New York City

Everyone (23) Couples (1) Family (4)
1 out of 5
Out toilet got blocked and it wasn’t a nice experience as we come to know about it only when we flush after using the toilet. I think it’s because it’s an old building and need some maintenance to be done urgently

Posted by on 20 Jul. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

20 Jul. 2019 by Guest Relations Representative, The Roosevelt

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear about the issue with your toilet. That is certainly an inconvenience and not the experience we aim to provide. We hope our staff was able to bring a quick resolution to the problem for you. Your experience will be shared with our management.

3 out of 5
I did not like the extra daily charge after room had been paid for. Made this very expensive accomodation

Posted by on 30 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Jul. 2019 by Guest Relations Representative, The Roosevelt

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate guest insight in our continual effort to improve the guest experience. We understand the facility fee can be a bit frustrating to guests, however, it is a common fee among NYC hotels. It is mentioned at the time of making your reservation, and we charge it as a way of staying on par with our competition. The good news is that with the introduction of the facility fee, room rates have gone down throughout the city, including those at The Roosevelt. We hope on a future visit to NYC, we'll have the pleasure to host you again!

4 out of 5
The best thing about this hotel was its location in Midtown. It's a great spot to stay in order to explore the city and is very close to Grand Central for subway etc. The hotel lobby is elegant but the rest of the hotel is pretty outdated. Rooms are small and tired looking, but otherwise clean and relatively comfortable. Disappointing that the room came with no facilities - no mini-fridge, kettle or any other amenity. Staff were friendly and helpful when we asked for a late checkout.

Posted by , from Adelaide, Australia on 30 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 May 2019 by Guest Relations Representative, The Roosevelt

Thank you for sharing you feedback! We are glad you had a comfortable stay with us. I will note that we have coffee machines in our suites and are happy to provide them in other rooms by request. We hope the next time you are in NYC, you'll choose to stay with us again!

1 out of 5
Probably the worst service and attitude I have ever encountered. I have been travelling around the world for over 40 years.. The hotel was in poor condition and it would not have been a problem had the staff been a bit more in tune with our needs, terrible terrible service. To top it off there was no hot water in the morning and we could not shower. I am returning to New York in October and will not return to the Roosevelt and will never recommend it to anyone either.

Posted by on 28 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 Apr. 2019 by Guest Relations Representative, The Roosevelt

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to read you had such a poor stay with us. We expect our staff to be friendly, hospitable and responsive to guest needs and regret to hear that was not your experience at all. Your experience will be shared with our General Manager's office as we continually look to improve the guest experience.

3 out of 5
It’s close to Time Square and Grand Central Station.

Posted by on 12 Nov. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

13 Nov. 2018 by Guest Relations Representative, The Roosevelt

Dear Dean, Thank you for sharing your review, We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the future!

4 out of 5
Although a little tired, I enjoyed my stay, the staff were lovely and the classic style, history and authenticity of the hotel was marvellous.

Posted by , from Australia on 26 Oct. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

26 Oct. 2018 by Guest Relations Representative, The Roosevelt

Dear Lynda ,Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the historical charms of the hotel! We hope to welcome you back again soon!

2 out of 5
Our first room was without hot water, we asked for assistance each day with no result, eventually spoke to a desk manager who arranged a new room. Despite asking for assistance we could not get help to move the bags as we were told the staff is not allowed to touch baggage? New room had a blocked toilet and again we had to ask for assistance, each time we visited the front counter we had to wait due to the que. we would not recommend this hotel.

Posted by on 1 Sep. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

20 Sep. 2018 by Guest Relations Representative, The Roosevelt

Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We expect our staff to be courteous and helpful, and it seems like you didn't receive that type of service. Although the plumbing issues are not typical, we know they were a huge inconvenience. Rest assure, you comments have been shared with our General Manager's office.

4 out of 5
Central hotel opposite Grand Central Station and near 5th Ave. rooms are really small and the bathrooms need a upgrade

Posted by , from Gild Coast Australia on 6 Jun. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5

Giid location and nothing ekse

Pros: Only the location
Cons: The hotel needs to undergo total refurbishment.
Location: Its near everything, perfect location.
Old rooms, cheap bedding and pillows, smelly old bathroom that flooded, terrible internet. Slow lifts. Dont waste your money. The only goodthing was the location.

Posted by on 22 Apr. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Location is the selling point here.

The Roosevelt is a pretty Hotel, set in midtown just a few blocks from Times Square, Grand Central, and the Empire State Building. The hotel is an older style, so don’t expect 5-Star quality. It was comfortable, but certainly not opulent. A great place to stay if you are planning to explore the city.

Posted by , from Brisbane, Australia on 26 Jan. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?

About the The Roosevelt Hotel, New York City

Location 45 E 45th Street, New York, NY 10017

Property Features

There are 3 restaurants on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. You'll find a business centre on site. WiFi is available in public spaces for a fee. Event space at this hotel measures 29999 square feet (2787 square metres) and includes conference rooms. A 24-hour health club, a rooftop terrace, and multilingual staff are also featured at the business-friendly The Roosevelt Hotel, New York City. Parking is available for a fee. This 4-star New York hotel is smoke free.

  • 19 levels
  • 3 dining venues
  • 29999 sq ft of conference space
  • 2787 sq. m of conference space
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Terrace on the roof
  • Business facilities
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Staff members are multilingual
  • Front desk safe
  • Concierge
  • Beauty salon
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • ATM
  • Bellhop
  • Lift
  • No smoking on site

Internet

Available in all rooms: WiFi (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: WiFi (surcharge)

Parking

Valet parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: New York, NY (LGA-LaGuardia) (11.8 km / 7.3 mi)
  • Train station: New York Grand Central Terminal Station (1 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Metro station: Grand Central - 42 St. Station (0.4 km / 0.3 mi)
  • Parking: Valet parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Air-conditioned accommodation at The Roosevelt Hotel, New York City offers a safe and a hairdryer. Beds feature premium bedding. Flat-screen televisions come with premium cable channels and pay-per-view films. Bathrooms include a combined bath/shower unit and complimentary toiletries. In-room wireless Internet access is available for a surcharge. Business-friendly amenities include desks and telephones. Additionally, rooms include an iron/ironing board and blackout curtains. Fridges and hypo-allergenic bedding can be requested. Housekeeping is provided on a daily basis.

  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Films for purchase
  • Fridge available
  • Luxury bedding
  • Hypo-allergenic bedding
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs available
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hairdryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

The Roosevelt Hotel, New York City has 3 restaurants on site.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Check-in time starts at 4 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children 17 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 35.00 per night.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

This property will place an authorization at check-in for the entire length of stay and incidental charges for any bookings where payment for the stay will be made on site instead of at the time of booking. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • Only service animals are allowed

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 50.00 per day
  • Resort fee: USD 40.16 per accommodation, per night

The resort fee includes:

  • Fitness centre access
  • Internet access
  • Phone calls
  • Additional inclusions

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: USD 28 per person (approximately)
  • Fee for in-room wireless Internet: USD 19.95 per night (rates may vary)
  • Fee for wireless Internet in public areas: USD 19.95 per night (rates may vary)
  • Valet parking fee: USD 72 per day
  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 35.00 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Hotel Roosevelt
  • Hotel Roosevelt New York City
  • New York City Roosevelt Hotel
  • Roosevelt Hotel City
  • Roosevelt Hotel New York City
  • Roosevelt New York City
  • Roosevelt New York City Hotel
  • Roosevelt Hotel

You should know

  • Children 17 years old and younger stay free in the same room as the parent or guardian when using existing bedding.
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.