Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.3 out of 5

"Hand location, easy walk to Pukekura Park but overpriced for a shared bathroom situation. Dated property in need of a really good clean inside and out ... " More

By a verified traveller on Sun 23 Feb 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At Sunflower Lodge you'll be within a 20-minute stroll of TSB Stadium and Pukekura Park. Highlights at this hostel include free in-room WiFi.

All 15 individually decorated rooms feature flat-screen TVs and hair dryers. Bathrooms are shared.

This hostel offers free WiFi in public areas, a garden, and barbecue grills. Additionally, you'll find free use of bicycles and laundry facilities. Each morning continental breakfast is served between 7:00 AM and 11:30 AM. There's also the convenience of free self parking.

Sights within a 30-minute walk of this New Plymouth hostel include Centre City Shopping Centre and Saint Mary's Church.

Double Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
AU$65* Per night/room 17 Mar. - 18 Mar.

Twin Room

Bed Count 2 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Single Room

Bed Count 1 Twin Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Apartment

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Triple Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Shared Dormitory

Bed Count room.options.bedSize.BunkBed.Singular Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Sunflower Lodge ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.3 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Sunflower Lodge

Everyone (6) Couples (3) Students (1) Family (5)
3 out of 5
Hand location, easy walk to Pukekura Park but overpriced for a shared bathroom situation. Dated property in need of a really good clean inside and out, top to bottom. There was a strange smell in our room.

Posted by , from Whanganui on 23 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
It was awesome for the price, we had our own room for 3 days and it was safe, clean and a cozy place to stay.. Thank you

Posted by on 11 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
They were really helpful and welcoming . The property was in a quiet and beautiful setting.

Posted by on 5 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Chill Backpakers Right in the City

I booked a single room to stay the weekend while I attended the wedding and reception of a good friend. Staff were warm, friendly and welcoming. The facilities were a little run down, but very clean and had everything I needed. It was a very comfortable stay with good vibes and so close to the central city.

Posted by on 29 Jan. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
Pros: Had an outdoor smoking area
Cons: Nothing other than staff off their phones and more pleasant
Location: Unknown didn't need to know
Price was too much fr what it was as it was not what I expected

Posted by on 22 Jun. 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Pros: it was cheap
Cons: very nice for back packer accom
Location: close to city was quite handy. also on man road in so handy for access too.
it was fine, very suitable for my needs, tidy room, warm, and friendly staff.

Posted by on 23 May 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

new plymouth

Pros: friendlyness
Cons: already well run
Location: handy to pukekura park and shops. buses available
we took our seeing eye dog. perfect. gates kept shut so would suit a family. close to all facilities family rooms available. we had a double room

Posted by , from new zealand on 18 Jan. 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

Did the Trick......

I needed a cheap place to stay and The Sunflower Lodge did fulfill this requirement. It is a backpackers so the ablution facilities were not in the room which is expected. My only complaint would be the room did have a musty smell most likely something to do with the towel that was taped over the skylight :( I would stay there again and would recommend to my kids as a cheap option but not my friends.

Posted by on 18 May 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Pros: Nice quiet place
Location: Perfect
Facilities: Above average; Value: A steal; Service: Courteous; Cleanliness: Spotless;

Posted by , from New Zealand - Manawatu on 25 Jan. 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

25 Jan. 2015 by

Thank you Paul for your feedback, it helps keep an up to date . I am pleased you had a restful stay. See you next time.

3 out of 5
Cons: Unpleasant place, had 2 nights booked, left after 1 and sacrificed the tarif
Location: Reasonable access
Value: Could be better; Service: Below average; Cleanliness: Poor; generally yuk

Posted by on 11 Aug. 2014

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Aug. 2014 by

hi there, Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry you felt your room was not up to standard. We have taken a very close look at your room, and redecorated in light of your comments. I remember you leaving early, a day early, as guests have seldom left early at our lodge. I thought it was the rainy bad weather. I would really appreciate if you had let me know you were unhappy, and I would have offered you an alternative room..

Property Features

As a guest of Sunflower Lodge, you'll find barbecue grills, a garden, and a picnic area. WiFi is free in public spaces. Sunflower Lodge also features laundry facilities, a safe deposit box at the front desk, and a television in a common area. Limited free parking is available on a first-come, first-served basis. You'll have access to the indoor pool and outdoor pool at a partner property. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this New Plymouth hostel.

  • 1 floor
  • 15 guestrooms or units
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Television in lobby
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking , Limited onsite parking

Transport

  • Airport: New Plymouth (NPL) (12.2 km / 7.6 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Sunflower Lodge offers 15 accommodations with shared/communal kitchens and hair dryers. Each accommodation is individually furnished and decorated. Beds feature premium bedding. Flat-screen televisions are featured in guestrooms. Guests have access to shared bathrooms. Bathrooms include showers. This New Plymouth hostel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Housekeeping is offered daily and irons/ironing boards can be requested.

  • Bathrooms are shared
  • Communal kitchen access
  • Flat-screen television
  • Luxury bedding
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Iron and ironing board available
  • Heating
  • Unique furnishings
  • Unique decor
  • Wheelchair accessible

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy continental breakfast daily from 7:00 AM to 11:30 AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 5:00 PM

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM. To make arrangements for check-in please contact the property at least 24 hours before arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. If you are planning to arrive after 5:00 PM please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in instructions. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM.
To arrange for check-in, guests must contact the property at least 24 hours prior to arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests arriving after 5:00 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in information. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for NZD 10.0 per stay.

Pet Policy

  • Pets and service animals are not allowed at Sunflower Lodge

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts credit cards, debit cards, and cash.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No lifts
  • Service animals not allowed
  • Debit cards
  • Staffed front desk

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for continental breakfast: NZD 7 per person (approximately)
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: NZD 10.0 per stay

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Sunflower Lodge New Plymouth
  • Sunflower New Plymouth
  • Sunflower Lodge New Plymouth
  • Sunflower Lodge Hostel/Backpacker accommodation
  • Sunflower Lodge Hostel/Backpacker accommodation New Plymouth

You should know

  • Sunflower Lodge offers transfers from the airport. Please contact the property at the number on the booking confirmation with your arrival details prior to travel.
  • Pets and service animals are not allowed on site.

National Rating

This property does not have a Qualmark® rating. For the benefit of our customers, we have provided a rating based on our rating system.

url importing http://www.wotif.com/New-Plymouth-Hotels-Sunflower-Lodge.h9629140-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /New-Plymouth-Hotels-Sunflower-Lodge.h9629140-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/New-Plymouth-Hotels-Sunflower-Lodge.h9629140-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.