Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
3.8 out of 5

"We didn’t get to arrive at the Able Tasman due to work commitments, so maybe another time. " More

By a verified traveller on Wed 23 Jun 2021

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At The Abel Tasman you'll be 1.7 km (1 mi) from Centro Meadow Mews Shopping Centre and 4.9 km (3 mi) from Saint Leonards Recreational Reserve. Highlights at this hotel include free in-room WiFi.

You can enjoy flat-screen TVs, coffee/tea makers, and ceiling fans, featured in all 42 rooms. Refrigerators and microwaves make in-room dining convenient. Additionally, hair dryers, irons/ironing boards, and desks are available. Change of towels is available on request.

This business-friendly hotel offers free WiFi in public areas, express check-in, and express check-out. Added amenities include laundry facilities, tour/ticket assistance, and wedding services. There's also the convenience of free self parking.

Places within a 15-minute drive of this 3-star Youngtown hotel include Josef Chromy Wines and Cataract Gorge.

Standard Queen Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
AU$74* Per night/room 8 Jul. - 9 Jul.

Apartment One

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Apartment Two

Bed Count 2 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Two Bedroom Interconnecting Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Twin Share Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Family Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

The Abel Tasman ratings based on 477 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.8 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for The Abel Tasman

Everyone (267) Couples (97) Business (2) Family (107)
4 out of 5
We didn’t get to arrive at the Able Tasman due to work commitments, so maybe another time.

Posted by on 23 Jun. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5

Posted by on 13 Jun. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
The base of the mattress was broken. There was rubbish in the draws and rusty water came out of the taps.

Posted by on 9 Jun. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

10 Jun. 2021 by The Abel Tasman

Thank you for your feedback.

2 out of 5
I was very disappointed with my stay.. the heater wasn’t working, so it was absolutely freezing on a cold Launceston night and the free milk was open and off

Posted by on 23 May 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

23 May 2021 by The Abel Tasman

Thank you for your feedback. So sorry to hear about your issues. I will follow them up immediately. Sometimes it's a bit tricky to operate a heater you aren't familiar with, but our reception staff are always happy to help and only a phone call away.

1 out of 5
There was a mix up on the Wotif app when the booking was made. When we arrived on the date that we wanted, we were told there was no vacancy and this had happened to 3 other people that day. The motel informed us they would authorize a full refund, however when we tried to get it, Wotif was impossible to contact. We contacted the motel, they told me they were attempting to help other people get there refunds as well and they were emailing Wotif. That's the last we have heard. Now I get a survey asking how was my stay. Hmmm!!!

Posted by on 17 May 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 May 2021 by The Abel Tasman

Dear Guest, we are so sorry that you experienced trouble with the Wotif app. As I'm sure you understand, this is out of our control as they are a third party booking agent. As such, management of your booking needs to be done through their site or by communication with them. In these situations, where an incorrect booking date has been requested, we will always do all that we can to accommodate our guests. Unfortunately, if the motel is already full on those dates our hands are tied. The best advice is to always contact the booking agent as soon as possible.

3 out of 5
Needs the taps fixing

Posted by on 13 May 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 May 2021 by The Abel Tasman

Thank you for your feedback.

2 out of 5
Appauling, grotti carpets, old beds, broken tv, holes in the wall, bad repairs to walls, lights didnt work and said they were pet friendly and they are not. Horrible

Posted by on 11 May 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 May 2021 by The Abel Tasman

Thank you for your review. We have not been a pet friendly hotel for quite some years now, sorry. I know if you google "pet friendly" it comes up with a list of places, but may I suggest you call ahead just to check if that is updated? We stopped accepting pets about 3 years ago, just for the comfort of our other guests. I believe our site manager tried to come up with a good solution for you in your situation and did everything she could to assist you, however you still let the dogs inside the room.

1 out of 5
I tang up three days before left a message that we wernt able to stay they didnt even ring us back.

Posted by on 10 May 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 May 2021 by The Abel Tasman

Thank you for your review. We did have a small issue with our message bank that has now been resolved. We apologise for your experience.

3 out of 5
It is quite old. Could do with a good clean inside, Bed was clean and comfortable but there was no spare blanket. toilet clean. Lot of dust behind the heater on the wall, so we only had it on for short stints. cutlery- not all there. We won't stay there again. It was cheap but not my cup of tea.

Posted by on 27 Apr. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Apr. 2021 by The Abel Tasman

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We do appreciate it, and will certainly address the issues you discovered during your stay. Our apologies for the missing items in your room, but thanks once again for taking the time to let us know.

2 out of 5
There was a dirty glass of water next to the bed when i checked in, there was no soap, no bath mat, and the mattresses really need replacing. Overall probably rate it 2/10.

Posted by on 24 Apr. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

27 Apr. 2021 by The Abel Tasman

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for lack of soap or bathmat and the cleaning. We will be addressing these issues with housekeeping immediately.

Property Features

As a guest of The Abel Tasman, you'll find tour/ticket assistance, laundry facilities, and express check-in. There are 3 meeting rooms available. WiFi is free in public spaces. Free self parking is available. This 3-star Launceston hotel is smoke free.

  • 1 floor
  • 42 guestrooms or units
  • 3 buildings
  • Built in 1960
  • Self-service laundry
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Wedding services available
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free long-term parking , Free self parking , Free RV, bus, truck parking , Free parking nearby

Transport

  • Airport: Launceston, TAS (LST) (11 km / 6.9 mi)
  • Train station: East Tamar Junction Station (6.9 km / 4.3 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking, extended parking, and RV/bus/truck parking

Room Amenities

The Abel Tasman offers 42 accommodations with coffee/tea makers and hair dryers. Refrigerators and microwaves are provided. Bathrooms include showers and complimentary toiletries. This Launceston hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Flat-screen televisions are featured in guestrooms. Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and ceiling fans. Change of towels and change of bedsheets can be requested.

  • Flat-screen television
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Kitchenware
  • Shower
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Heating
  • Ceiling fan
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Change of towels (on request)
  • Change of bedsheets (on request)

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18
  • Check-in time ends at 7:00 PM

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open during the following times:

  • Monday - Friday: 2:00 PM - 7:00 PM
  • Saturday - Sunday: 2:00 PM - 5:00 PM
If you are planning to arrive after 7:00 PM please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

This property's front desk is open during the following times:

  • Monday - Friday: 2:00 PM - 7:00 PM
  • Saturday - Sunday: 2:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Guests arriving after 7:00 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! One child stays free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts credit cards and cash. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Personal protective equipment, including gloves, will be available to guests. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; guests are provided with hand sanitizer. Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available. Each guestroom is kept vacant for a minimum of 24 hours between bookings. This property affirms that it adheres to the cleaning and disinfection practices of Safe Travels (WTTC - Global).

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cots (infant beds) available
  • No lifts
  • One child stays free
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Staffed front desk
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wear personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is available for guests
  • Gloves are available for guests
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually wrapped food options are not available
  • gap period enforced between guest stays 24 hours
  • Staff temperature checks are not conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are not available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property follows sanitisation practices of Safe Travels (WTTC - Global)

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • A damage deposit of AUD 100 will be collected before check-in.

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property.

Optional extras

Hotel Names

  • Abel Tasman Airport Motor
  • Abel Tasman Airport Motor Inn
  • Abel Tasman Airport Motor Inn Youngtown
  • Abel Tasman Airport Motor Youngtown
  • Abel Tasman Airport Motor Inn Launceston, Tasmania
  • Abel Tasman Hotel
  • The Abel Tasman Hotel
  • The Abel Tasman Youngtown
  • The Abel Tasman Hotel Youngtown

You should know

  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
url importing http://www.wotif.com/Launceston-Hotels-The-Abel-Tasman.h8411895-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Launceston-Hotels-The-Abel-Tasman.h8411895-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/Launceston-Hotels-The-Abel-Tasman.h8411895-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.