Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.0 out of 5

"Hot water in the on-suites was minimal, leaving me to have a cold shower! Lack of experienced staff made dinner a complete shambles. " More

By a verified traveller on Mon 08 Mar 2021

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At this aparthotel, you'll be 0.5 km (0.3 mi) from Jenolan Caves. Highlights at this aparthotel include 2 restaurants, free self parking, and a bar/lounge.

The apartment features free WiFi and a coffee/tea maker.

The restaurant, Chisolm's Restaurant, serves Modern European cuisine and is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Additionally, you'll find free WiFi in public areas, a snack bar/deli, and laundry facilities. Full breakfast is available daily between 7:30 AM and 9:30 AM.

Places within a 30-minute drive of this 3.5-star Jenolan aparthotel include Kanangra Boyd National Park and Oberon Visitor Information Centre.

Mountain Lodge King (100 Metres behind Caves House)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Jenolan Caves House ratings based on 430 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.0 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Jenolan Caves House

Everyone (181) Couples (129) Family (121)
3 out of 5
Hot water in the on-suites was minimal, leaving me to have a cold shower! Lack of experienced staff made dinner a complete shambles.

Posted by on 8 Mar. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Posted by on 23 Feb. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
The property is in Jenolan cave, it is very convenient to tour the caves and bush walks.

Posted by , from Sydney on 26 Jan. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Great place to stay although air conditioning would have made it so much better. Thankfully it didn’t get too hot in the room.

Posted by on 24 Jan. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
The property requires maintenance, paint peeling off everywhere, carpet old and ripped, curtains old and dirty. Location is however fantastic, beautiful caves are at the door step, so are walks and hikes. Restaurant on premises was disappointing, but since there are no restaurants in the area (Oberon is 30km away)- we ate the tasteless and overcooked food there.

Posted by , from Sydney on 31 Dec. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Wonderful wholesome atmospheric stay. All weathers in one day.

Posted by on 29 Dec. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 Dec. 2020 by Hotel and Hospitality Manager

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We can assure you, we had nothing to do with the weather :) but we are so happy to know that you loved your stay at Jenolan. We are aware of our shortfalls and issues, whilst we work on them, it is great to hear of positive feedback and of guests having a wonderful time. We hope to see you again to have another relaxing stay with us at Jenolan. Kind regards and season's greetings, Jenolan Caves House Team.

5 out of 5

Posted by on 8 Dec. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Dec. 2020 by Hotel and Hospitality Manager

Dear Guest, Thank you for rating us 5 on 5. It is kind of you and helps in motivating the team to do even better. Kind regards, Jenolan Caves Reserve Team

4 out of 5
Staying at Caves House took me back to 1950s. If you are looking to visit a unique place, stepping back in time, then Caves House is for you. The caves had just opened (following the terrible fires and floods of 2019/20) so we were able to go on a caves tour. The drive to the site is not for the faint hearted!!! Lots of tight corners and narrow road. But ultimately worth it.

Posted by , from Sydney on 25 Nov. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

25 Nov. 2020 by Hotel and Hospitality Manager

Dear Liz, Thank you for taking your valuable time to leave us a review! It makes us real happy to know of your great stay at Jenolan. This grand old lady does have strong bones and is really charming for an old fashioned getaway. As you rightly mentioned, we have opened 5 cave tours and they are available to booked online, on our website. The tours are packaged with dining and accommodation options over the weekends. We are accessible by road from two sides and the last few kilometers give you a true mountain experience, we recommend going slow and steady. I also must mention RMS, who have done a tremendous job to repair the roads, railings etc. post the terrible damage from the bushfires earlier in the year. Also, once you reach Jenolan valley and are greeted by our Grand Arch, it makes one forget all else. Currently being summer, there are hundreds of different birds flying around the precinct, adding a bit of music to the freshly grown ground cover. I hope we see you soon, driving back like a pro :) Kind regards, Jenolan Caves House Team

3 out of 5
property has obviously suffered from lack of maintenance - in fairness the recent bushfires & covid have had a huge impact - with walks & caves closed the options are limited also - the restaurant meal and their staff were lovely though

Posted by on 2 Nov. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

10 Nov. 2020 by Hotel & Hospitality Manager

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review us! We have had a few difficult months with first the fires in Summer, then the floods in autumn and then the Pandemic. However, we are working towards improving our infrastructure offerings. We have been granted approx $19 Million by NSW state and that would be put towards bringing the infrastructure back to how it should be. Thank you for your warm feed\back for our chefs, service team and Chisolm's restaurant. Positive feedback is a great tonic for our hardworking team and I can assure you of their elation because of your kind words. Please follow us on social media to know more about our projects, upgrades and other developments. Hope to see you soon!

3 out of 5
Caves House is a beautiful old hotel built in the 1920s. It oozes nostalgia and elegance but, in the 21st Century, it is in much need of an upgrade. I was told by a staff member that exactly that is about to happen with a $20 million upgrade. The style and feel will be maintained as it is a Heritage listed building. We stayed in the Mountain Lodge building up the hill. Parking was further up the hill. Very steep access. The room did not have air conditioning (just fans and heaters), no table, no cover over the light and one lamp light bulb was out. We arrived exhausted after the drive down the mountain in heavy snow and, after getting a bite to eat (the café is very basic), we asked if we might be able to check in early. We were told that the room still needed to be cleaned. They suggested we wait in the guest lounge and they would tell us when it would be available. They never did. We could hear conversations from the front desk from where we were sitting and a woman was making criticisms and rude comments after every phone call enquiry. Their website says that you have to book for the restaurant prior to arriving, which we did but we were forced to do it again and also to choose out meals from a list on a piece of paper and put it in a box. Also for breakfast. Caves House is the only hotel at Jenolan Caves so it's a monopoly. It's their way or the highway. For such an elegant hotel, their professionalism leaves a lot to be desired.

Posted by , from Sydney on 28 Aug. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

24 Nov. 2020 by Hotel and Hospitality Manager

Dear Mark- Leon, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review! I apologize for the ordinary experience that you had with us during your stay. I have taken your comments on board and have spoken to the concerned staff regarding the unnecessary comments at Front Desk. We are in a business for people and by people, sometimes, either could be having a bad day. It isn’t pleasant and doesn’t have to be heard in hospitality set up. I gain, apologise for marring your experience with unnecessary chatter. It wasn’t also ideal to be told to wait and not get a timely response. I understand your disappointment at the quality of infrastructure at Mountain Lodge, and I agree with your assessment. That particular building was built in 1980's and opened for business in early 1990's. It has not seen any upgrade since. We lease is rooms as a budget accommodation compared to the Heritage building, Caves House. The rooms size doesn’t allow for tables and the building needs about $750,000 influx to fix is issues. The funding was proposed and got rejected with other projects going on site. We will definitely work hard to ensure the buildings are clean and have all the facilities working for guest use. With Covid-19 restrictions, we have had to change our working styles, including removing buffet and do ala carte meals only. In the absence of technology and with poor Wi-Fi because of the remote location, paper is the only saviour for our processes. But I can assure you the team is doing its very best to improve manual processes and deliver on a hospitable experience for all guests. We have now sorted out the booking processes, which works entirely online. I am sorry for the trouble you had to go through by making a table booking again. I hope you visit us post the renovations on site and enjoy the uplifted services on the Jenolan Precinct. As you mentioned, we have been granted approximately $20 Million by state Govt. to fix a few niggles accumulated over the past 3-4 decades. Please follow us on social media handles to get latest upgrade news and see things in action. Kind regards, Jenolan Caves House Team

Property Features

There are 2 restaurants on site, along with a snack bar/deli. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. WiFi is free in public spaces. Tour/ticket assistance, barbecue grills, and an arcade/game room are also featured at this aparthotel. Self parking is free. This 3.5-star Jenolan aparthotel is smoke free.

  • 78 guestrooms or units
  • 2 dining venues
  • Bar or lounge
  • Deli
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Game room or arcade
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Laundry facilities
  • Arcade/game room

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

This aparthotel offers 78 accommodations with coffee/tea makers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Coffee maker
  • Housekeeping (daily)

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy full breakfast daily from 7:30 AM to 9:30 AM.

Chisolm's Restaurant - This restaurant specializes in Modern European cuisine and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar. A children's menu is available. Reservations are required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18
  • Check-in time ends at anytime

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

The Mountain Lodge King and Mountain Lodge Family are located 100 metres behind Jenolan Caves House. The Bed in 6 person dorm, with shared bathroom, Gatehouse 6 is located 50 metres behind Jenolan Caves House.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • Pets and service animals are not allowed at this aparthotel

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts Visa and Mastercard. Cash is not accepted. For guests' safety, the property includes a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, a security system, and a first aid kit in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. The property is professionally cleaned; disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cots (infant beds) available
  • Service animals not allowed
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Staffed front desk
  • Security system
  • Property uses a professional cleaning service
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • No gap period between guests' stays
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is not available
  • Property does not follow sanitisation practices of any association

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for full breakfast: AUD 21 for adults and AUD 10 for children (approximately)
  • Late check-out fee: AUD 30.00 (subject to availability)
  • Credit card charges are subject to a surcharge

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Jenolan Caves House
  • Jenolan Caves House Hotel
  • Jenolan Caves Hotel
  • Jenolan Caves House Hotel Jenolan Caves
  • Caves House
  • Jenolan Caves House Apartment
  • Caves House Apartment
  • Jenolan Caves House Jenolan
  • Jenolan Caves House Aparthotel
  • Jenolan Caves House Aparthotel Jenolan

You should know

  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
  • Pets and service animals are not allowed on site.

National Rating

This property has been awarded a star rating from the Australian Star Ratings Agency, Star Ratings Australia.

url importing http://www.wotif.com/Jenolan-Hotels-Jenolan-Caves-House.h78323-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Jenolan-Hotels-Jenolan-Caves-House.h78323-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/Jenolan-Hotels-Jenolan-Caves-House.h78323-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently asked questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.