Enter dates to see availability

3.8 out of 5

"The Hotel looks different in pictures when I first booked. However please was nice and clean but they need to renovate soon. " More

By a verified traveller on Sun 14 Jan 2018

Hotel Description

At Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation you'll be 1.8 km (1.1 mi) from Manuka Oval and 1.9 km (1.2 mi) from Lake Burley Griffin. Highlights at this property include an outdoor swimming pool, free self parking, and in-room kitchens.

Each apartment is individually decorated and features a flat-screen TV, a hairdryer, and an iron/ironing board. In-room dining is easy with a kitchen that comes equipped with a fridge, a microwave, and a hob.

This apartment has a garden, barbecues, and a picnic area. Added amenities include laundry facilities, express check-in, and express check-out. There's also the convenience of free extended parking.

Attractions within a 10-minute drive of this 3-star Griffith property include National Convention Centre and Parliament House.

Standard Studio, 1 Double Bed

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
AU$133 per night

Premium Studio, 1 Double Bed, Kitchenette

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Premium Studio, Kitchenette

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Budget Two Bedroom Apartment

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Larger Studio

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Premium Studio, 1 Queen Bed, Kitchenette

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.8 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation

Everyone (88) Couples (48) Business (2) Family (40)
2 out of 5
Carpets and couch were dirty and very sticky, more than half of the television channels were not working properly. Reported at 8:12pm Saturday to night service that power points weren't working, was told a service person would attend within 2hrs, no one turned up, resulting in $30 worth of food from the fridge being thrown out. Thanks

Posted by on 7 Jan. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

10 Jan. 2019 by Canbhol Team

Hi Thank you for taking the time to review. We did receive a phone call from you regarding the power to the kitchen had been tripped. Our maintenance team were onsite at 8.40pm and flipped the switch back on, this would have corrected any loss of power points. I have checked the TV stations and all the stations are working correctly, we do not offer movie channels etc. The carpets and couch were professionally cleaned prior to our Christmas period, however I will inspect this myself on guests departure. Thanks again

4 out of 5

Posted by on 24 Dec. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

6 Jan. 2019 by Saarah

Hi Thanks for taking the time to rate our fabulous accommodation. Canbhol Team

3 out of 5
Very small room particularly the bathroom,bed was comfortable .and it was very quiet .

Posted by on 18 Oct. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

24 Oct. 2018 by Danny

Thank you for taking the time to review our accommodation. I believe that you may have stayed in one of our standard studio units which is the entry level to our accommodation offerings. They are suitable for a couple or a single. I am pleased that you found the bed comfortable and the location nice and quiet.

2 out of 5

Not suitable for long stays

I stayed for three weeks when in Canberra on business. This was the only accommodation I could find in the area at the time. The apartment was clean but basic. The only natural light was a small window over the kitchenette. Two mornings there was no water at all coming from the taps.

Posted by on 1 Aug. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Aug. 2018 by Saarah

Hi Thanks for your review. We offer accommodation from 1 night to 3 months with a great number of guests staying for extended periods finding this option cost effective and suitable for extended stays. I do apologies in regards to the water. I have forwarded this comment onto our maintenance team as we have had no issues in regards to the water. I would have been more than happy to assist you if you had of let us know..

2 out of 5
The room was clean but old and 3 star at best. The website photos were very deceptive suggesting a much better and newer room than the reality. This was disappointing. If we had known about the true standard, we would not have booked this accommodation.

Posted by on 2 Apr. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Apr. 2018 by Saarah Mills

Hi Thank you for taking the time to review. Yes, we are 3 stars as listed on our site. We do have quite a few room types listed with pictures representing all of our units. You booked an entry level standard studio. Our standard studio units are very popular with the budget conscious traveler. I would recommend booking a premium studio for your next visit. Regards Saarah Mills

3 out of 5

Hotel closed to main events

The Hotel looks different in pictures when I first booked. However please was nice and clean but they need to renovate soon.

Posted by , from Sydney- Australia on 14 Jan. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Jan. 2018 by Danny

Hi Alan Thanks for your feedback. I am a little confused about your reference to our photos as they are all genuine and reflect the different accommodation offerings which we have. They range from standard studio through to larger 1 bedroom unit and 2 bedroom units. The building is a quaint 60's construction with lots of Canberra history and we have renovated, and continue to do so all of our units. We are having major outdoor renovation starting with the replacement of balconys within the next few months so hopefully we will see you back to view the changes. Thanks for taking the time to share your comments

4 out of 5

Convenient twenty minute walk to Canberra station.

Pros: Quiet with all facilities.
Cons: Reception room could not be accessed at 3pm to collect keys. Locked door and phone message only, yet the reception was staffed.
Location: Twenty minute walk to Canberra station very convenient.
Pleasingly quiet with friendly staff. Twenty minute walk to Canberra station.

Posted by , from Sydney on 8 Dec. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Dec. 2017 by The Canberra Accommodation Team

Hi Michael, Thank you for taking the time to review our accommodation. We are pleased that overall you had enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry that you had that experience with Reception. Reception is open from 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM Monday - Friday. We offer a self-check in service which means you do not have to come to reception to collect your keys as mentioned in the check-in email that was provided to you prior to your check-in date. One of the best things about our accommodation is that it is very quiet and private which is why many choose to book with Canberra Short Term & Holiday Accommodation. We look forward to your next stay with us.

1 out of 5

Most unclean I have stayed in ever

Stayed at this hotel in Nov 2017 and the state of the room was the worst I have stayed in and I have stayed in 100s. 1. Toilet had uncleaned filth behind the toilet roll dispenser, 2. The bathroom roof had many spots of waxy and shiny filth 3. A dirty towel was left in the bathroom 4. The bathroom cabinet had an uncleaned obvious drip stain down the front The only reason i didn't leave is that I had no transport to move and so no option. Beware if booking! When notifying the "customer service" number a refund was offered but only if I did not stay and this was not a feasible option for me. no other room was available. I noted also a sale smoke smell in the furnishings regardless of the non-smoking signs although the comment back was after I checked out the representative couldn't smell it. An email of "apology" we received when I made them aware of the cleaner's failings and a brief reference made to the dirty towel but not much else. Given the number of unclean aspects of this room I would have though a good service provider would be embarrassed at this state of service and want to show more sincerity in making up for the inconvenience.

Posted by on 22 Nov. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Nov. 2017 by Saarah Mills

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to reply. I do believe this review is a gross exaggeration on the condition of our units. All of our units are non smoking and as advised on the phone guests are welcome to smoke in the courtyard or balconies of our units. You were offered a full refund after checkin as you believed the smoke smell to be inside your unit, you declined this offer and stated you would stay and you would also like a full refund. as listed here "I understood your offer to refund". As you did decide to stay you further emailed. "I will give you a week’s right of reply before sharing my experiences further". I do apologies that on the following morning after your stay there was a towel behind the door. We do have high rating on Expedia and do en devour to keep up or fantastic work and great customer service. Thank you again for your feedback

3 out of 5
It is quite old and needs renovation. But it was clean.

Posted by on 9 Nov. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

16 Nov. 2017 by Danny

thank you for your review. The building is a quaint older style building but we have begun renovations on the units. Previous renovations were carried out around 5 years agao.

4 out of 5

Good for the price

Room was really clean and bed comfortable. Well located.

Posted by on 5 Nov. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

16 Nov. 2017 by Danny

Thank you for taking the time to review our accommodation. We will certainly pass on to our housekeeping staff your comments on the cleanliness of the unit. Thanks again

About the Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation

Location 47 McMillan Crescent, Griffith, ACT 2603

Renovations + Closures

The property will be renovating from 01 March 2019 until 30 June 2019 (completion date subject to change). The following areas are affected:

  • Exterior

Renovation work will only be conducted during working hours on weekdays. Every effort will be made to minimise noise and disturbance.

Property Features

Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation offers its guests an outdoor pool, a BBQ, and a garden. Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation also features a picnic area, laundry facilities, and express check-in. The front desk is open around the clock. Self parking is free. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 3-star Griffith apartment.

  • 40 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • Self-service laundry
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Outdoor pool
  • Kitchen
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Parking

Free long-term parking , Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Canberra, ACT (CBR-Canberra Intl.) (7.2 km / 4.5 mi)
  • Train station: Kingston Canberra Station (1 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking and extended parking

Room Amenities

Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation offers 40 forms of air-conditioned accommodation with a hairdryer and an iron/ironing board. Each accommodation is individually decorated. Flat-screen televisions come with digital channels. Accommodation at this 3-star apartment has kitchens with fridges, hobs, microwaves and kitchenware and utensils.

  • In-room kitchen
  • Flat-screen television
  • Digital channels
  • Fridge
  • Microwave
  • Hob
  • Kitchenware
  • Hairdryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Unique decor

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the apartment include an outdoor pool.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 5:30 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open during the following times:

  • Monday-Friday: 9 AM-4:30 PM
If you are planning to arrive after 5 PM, please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation.

A text and email will be sent advising guests of check-in procedures, unit access codes, and unit assignment. Guests should contact the property using the information that appears on the booking confirmation.

This property's front desk is open during the following times:

  • Monday - Friday: 9 AM - 4:30 PM
Guests arriving after 5 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 6 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Please note: The hotel cannot accept any same-day bookings after 4:30 PM.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. Minimum Spring Break check-in age is 18 years old.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cots (infant beds) available
  • No lifts

Fees

 

The charges below are included in your overall room price:

  • Resort fee

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Cleaning/housekeeping/linen fee: AUD 45 every 7 days, varies per unit size
  • On-site credit card charges are subject to a surcharge

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Canberra Short Term Holiday Accommodation Apartment
  • Canberra Short Term Holiday Accommodation

You should know

  • The total price shown includes a resort fee.