3.5 out of 5

"friendly staff. cleanish room. very warm room despite fan. " More

By a verified traveller on Fri 23 Mar 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Nomads Auckland Backpackers places you steps from Queen Street Shopping District and within a 10-minute stroll of Auckland Ferry Terminal. Highlights at this hostel include a spa tub, a sauna and a rooftop terrace.

All 74 rooms feature WiFi and hairdryers.

This hostel offers a 24-hour front desk, a library and barbecues. Other amenities include WiFi in public areas and laundry facilities. There's also the convenience of car rentals on site.

Attractions within a 10-minute walk of this 3.5-star Auckland Central Business District hostel include University of Auckland and Sky Tower.

Basic Double Room (Without Windows)

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
AU$39 per night

Shared Dormitory (12 Beds)

Bed Count 1 Twin Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Shared Dormitory, Ensuite (4 Beds)

Bed Count 1 Twin Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Twin Room, Ensuite

Bed Count room.options.bedSize.BunkBed.Singular Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Ensuite

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Twin Room, No Ensuite

Bed Count room.options.bedSize.BunkBed.Singular Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Nomads Auckland Backpackers ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.5 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 2.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Nomads Auckland Backpackers

Everyone (57) Couples (14) Family (2)
4 out of 5
Close to transport, I found it quiet and staff very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again

Posted by on 9 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Posted by on 26 Feb. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Apr. 2019 by Nomads Auckland

We really appreciate your time to leave a review for Nomads Auckland. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will stay with us in coming days. Hope you enjoy your trip in New Zealand. Regards, Nomads Auckland

1 out of 5
Ugly noisy , don’t go there ! Poor wifi Music in the corridor all day , annoying !

Posted by on 24 Feb. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
Location is great but we really struggled with the noise. We had a private room thinking it would be quieter but the noise from the communal facilities on the floor above was constant. Neighbouring guests also very loud. We also had 2 guests turn up and unlock our door one morning while we were getting dressed - they’d somehow been checked into our room while we were still there :/

Posted by , from New Zealand on 25 Nov. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

Posted by on 7 Sep. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5

Average

Very run down, got overcharged, tv didnt work, shower wasnt cleaned properly. Overall just not the best

Posted by on 27 Mar. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
friendly staff. cleanish room. very warm room despite fan.

Posted by on 23 Mar. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 May 2018 by Nadine

Thank you very much for your review! We hope to see you again soon. Nomads Auckland Management

3 out of 5

Cheap and cheerful

Pros: Clean and comfortable
Cons: Replace the iron in the Laundry - it's old and past its best by date, so if too hot it will leave black marks on your clothes.
Location: Auckland central, near to shops, bars and restaurants
I was in Auckland for work and booked a private ensuite room at the last minute, otherwise it was $500+ for another hotel in Auckland Central. I didn't expect the room to be 5 star and it wasn't. What it was though was clean and comfortable and unexpectedly quiet that was all I needed for a one night stay.

Posted by , from Tauranga on 11 Mar. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 May 2018 by Nadine

Thank you very much for your review! We have replaced the iron in our laundry and hope you didn't have any damage done to your clothes. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

1 out of 5

An disease breeding hotel.

The carpet crunches when walked on. There were bugs in the beds and no assistance from staff. For a dry hostel, there were a lot of drinks in the place and mould everywhere. I'm looking at reporting them to a health agency.

Posted by on 10 Mar. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
Kitchen too small for the amount of people and my food has disappeared even if I labeled it. Cleanliness wasn't very a priority (kitchen bathroom showers and my room was a mess) No wifi no spa like the photo/description says.

Posted by , from Canada on 22 Nov. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Nomads Auckland Backpackers

Location 16-20 Fort St, Auckland, 1010

Property Features

Nomads Auckland Backpackers offers its guests a spa tub and a sauna. Public spaces have WiFi for a fee. A rooftop terrace, a library, and a BBQ are also featured at the eco-friendly Nomads Auckland Backpackers.

  • 74 guestrooms or units
  • 7 levels
  • Terrace on the roof
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff members are multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front desk safe
  • Library
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Lift

Internet

Available in all rooms: WiFi (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: WiFi (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: Auckland (AKL-Auckland Intl.) (28.6 km / 17.8 mi)
  • Train station: Auckland Britomart Station (0.2 km / 0.1 mi)
  • Parking:

Room Amenities

Nomads Auckland Backpackers offers 74 forms of accommodation with a hairdryer. This Auckland hostel provides wireless Internet access for a surcharge. Rooms have partially open bathrooms. Bathrooms include a shower. Housekeeping is provided on a daily basis.

  • Bathrooms are partially open
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hairdryer

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hostel include a spa tub and a sauna.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. No on-site parking is available.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cots (infant beds) available

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for in-room wireless Internet: NZD 4 per 24-hour period (rates may vary)
  • Fee for wireless Internet in public areas: NZD 4 per day (rates may vary)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
  • Nomads Auckland Backpackers
  • Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
  • Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel New Zealand
  • Nomads Backpackers Hostel
  • Nomads Backpackers

You should know

  • Alcohol isn't served or allowed at Nomads Auckland Backpackers.

Awards & Affiliations

Green/Sustainable Property
This property participates in Qualmark, a programme that measures the property's impact on one or more of the following: The Environment, the community, the cultural heritage and the local economy.

National Rating

Qualmark® assigns an official star rating for accommodation in New Zealand. This Backpacker property has been rated 4 stars, which is displayed on this page as 3.5 stars.

Official New Zealand Rating provided by Qualmark®

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.