3.8 out of 5

"Extra nice being able to make a good cup of coffee in the large, clean and well set out shared kitchen. " More

By a verified traveller on Mon 06 Aug 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At Haka Hotel Newmarket you'll be 1.9 km (1.2 mi) from Mt. Eden and 2.2 km (1.4 mi) from Auckland War Memorial Museum. Highlights at this hostel include free in-room WiFi.

You can enjoy flat-screen TVs and hairdryers, featured in all 62 rooms. You'll find nice touches like free toiletries and premium bedding to enhance your stay.

This smoke-free hostel offers free WiFi in public areas, a 24-hour front desk and dry cleaning/laundry services. Other amenities include laundry facilities, a microwave in a common area and a fridge in a common area. There's also the convenience of self parking.

With a stay at this 3-star Auckland hostel, you'll be 2.6 km (1.6 mi) from Auckland Domain and 2.2 km (1.4 mi) from Alexandra Park.

Queen Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
AU$75* Per night/room 30 Sep. - 1 Oct.

One Bedroom Suite

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Studio

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Deluxe Shared Dormitory, Mixed Dorm

Bed Count room.options.bedSize.BunkBed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Double or Twin Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Haka Hotel Newmarket ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.8 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Haka Hotel Newmarket

Everyone (22) Couples (1) Family (2)
5 out of 5
Walking distance to shops etc and excellent value for mine. Really clean rooms. Have rebooked it's a great find

Posted by on 13 Sep. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

Posted by on 12 Sep. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Clean, great service centrally located highly recommended

Posted by on 17 Aug. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

5 Sep. 2019 by Silvia

Kia ora, Thank you for the high score. It is much appreciated! We hope to see you again on your next trip to Auckland! Kind regards, Silvia Fang Hotel Assistant Manager

1 out of 5
I accidentally booked the Newmarket branch and when I arrived at KRd hotel advised the receptionist who said they were booked and could not assist so we had to book another hotel. They said they would advise the other hotel which they did not and sent me an email advising me I was a 'no-show' and charged me full cost. I explained the situation and sent them proof and asked for some discretion which they decide not to oblige. I understand I made an error but so did their staff and because they did not communicate to the other hotel like I asked, it meant they couldn't on-sell the room and I got charged for the full night. They are happy to point out my error but not happy to accept theirs - terrible service.

Posted by on 13 Jul. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Jul. 2019 by Naomi

Good morning Lucretia. I am sorry that we were unable to rectify this situation via email last week. As mentioned directly to you, you had made a same day booking with a non-refundable rate. This was part of the terms you agreed to when you made your booking via Wotif. Had we been notified (this was our error, I did check with the team and we were not), your booking still would have been charged, as Wotif would have requested payment for this particular reservation at the time of booking. Again, I am sorry you were not satisfied with how this booking error was handled, but hope you enjoyed your stay in Auckland.

5 out of 5
Great location for New Market. Small functional rooms. Great for short stays. Clean and tidy. Handy communal kitchen facilities down stairs. Close walking distance to shops/town. Ideal for uber eats if u have no transport for meal options. Highly recommend

Posted by on 8 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

12 Jun. 2019 by Jayson CVL

Kia ora, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to leave a reply. I am so happy to hear that you found our premises so clean and tidy. Our communal kitchen is an amazing place to whip up your own meals, as well as us being in a fantastic location for uber eats! We also have a fantastic Indian restaurant next door, and by November 2019, the amazing rooftop dining experience at the Westfield Newmarket shopping centre will open! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

5 out of 5

Posted by on 2 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

5 Jun. 2019 by Silvia

Kia Ora, Thank you for the high score. It is much appreciated! We hope to see you again on your next trip to Auckland! Kind regards, Silvia Fang Hotel Assistant Manager

5 out of 5
Easy to get to ,parking ,clean ,friendly staff value for money

Posted by on 13 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

13 Apr. 2019 by Silvia

Thank you for your feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Auckland!

3 out of 5
Make SURE you RING THE HOTEL to CONFIRM any car parking needs Before booking or assuming there is space.. Parking on the streets is a nightmare.. Yellow lines everywhere...

Posted by on 28 Feb. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 Mar. 2019 by Joelle

Kia ora and thank you for your feedback. We do advertise on our own and third party websites that parking spaces need to be booked prior to arrival to avoid disappointed as we are limited in spaces. Parking is an additional $15 per night. There is free street parking nearby on Alpers & Owens Road, alternatively there are a few parking lots/garages a 5-10 minute walk away from the hotel. We hope we will have the chance to host you again on a return visit to Auckland. All the best,

4 out of 5
Nice hotel close to Newmarket and Remuera. Handy to city attractions

Posted by , from Palmerston North on 26 Nov. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

28 Nov. 2018 by Jayson CVL - Assistant Manager

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to leave a review. We are so happy you had a great time, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

1 out of 5
Not happy at all ....facilities bad .very small room and also staff behave not well

Posted by on 18 Aug. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

23 Aug. 2018 by Jayson CVL - Assistant Manager

Kia Ora Tanzir, We are really sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience during your stay here. We are sorry that you arrived with more guests than what you had booked, and due to rules and regulations we we had to ask you to book an extra room. This is a health and safety issue, and is a legal requirement for us. Our rooms are a good size for the amount of people are supposed to be in them, and we are sorry you feel differently. We are unsure about why you believe the staff behaved badly, and we invite you to communicate with us directly so that we can try and figure out why you rated our staff so low. Kind Regards

Property Features

Haka Hotel Newmarket offers its guests tour or ticket assistance, multilingual staff, and complimentary newspapers in the lobby. Public spaces have free WiFi. Haka Hotel Newmarket also features laundry facilities, dry cleaning/laundry services, and a safe deposit box at the front desk. Limited parking is available for a fee and is offered on a first-come, first-served basis. This 3-star Auckland hostel is smoke free.

  • 62 guestrooms or units
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff members are multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • No smoking on site
  • Microwave in a common area
  • Fridge in a common area

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Self parking (surcharge) , Parking (limited spaces)

Transport

  • Train station: Auckland Newmarket Station (0.8 km / 0.5 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Haka Hotel Newmarket offers 62 forms of accommodation with shared/communal kitchens and a hairdryer. Beds feature premium bedding. Flat-screen televisions are featured in guestrooms. Bathrooms include a shower and complimentary toiletries. Guests can surf the web using complimentary wireless Internet access. Housekeeping is provided on a daily basis.

  • Communal kitchen
  • Flat-screen television
  • Luxury bedding
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hairdryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Climate control (heating)

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for NZD 20.0 per night.

Pets

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cots (infant beds) available
  • Only service animals are allowed

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: NZD 50.00 per stay

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Self-parking fee: NZD 15.00 per night
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: NZD 20.0 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Haka Hotel Newmarket Auckland
  • Haka Newmarket Auckland
  • Haka Newmarket
  • Haka Hotel Newmarket Auckland
  • Haka Hotel Newmarket Hostel/Backpacker accommodation
  • Haka Hotel Newmarket Hostel/Backpacker accommodation Auckland

National Rating

This property does not have a Qualmark® rating. For the benefit of our customers, we have provided a rating based on our ratings system.

url importing https://www.wotif.com/Auckland-Hotels-Haka-Hotel-Newmarket.h21397484-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.