Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At Kooyong Hotel you'll be 2.2 km (1.4 mi) from Bluewater Lagoon and 2.3 km (1.4 mi) from Caneland Central. Highlights at this hotel include free self parking and a bar/lounge.

You can enjoy TVs, coffee/tea makers and ceiling fans, featured in all 14 rooms. Fridges and desks are also available.

Sights within a 30-minute walk of this North Mackay hotel include Queens Park Orchid House and Artspace Mackay.

Standard Room (Queen)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
AU$55* Per night/room 20 Oct. - 21 Oct.

Family Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Standard Room (Queen 2 singles)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room (Queen Single)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Kooyong Hotel ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.2 out of 5 3.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 2.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 2.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Kooyong Hotel

Everyone (73) Couples (25) Students (1) Family (26)
4 out of 5
Had the basic amenities I was looking for. Although older it was clean and comfortable. Would stay again.

Posted by on 19 Aug. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

23 Aug. 2019 by Zane Lewis

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Regards

2 out of 5

Posted by on 10 Feb. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Actually quite comfortable. Great staff! Close to shops all within walking distance.

Posted by , from Townsville on 30 Jul. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Aug. 2018 by Zane Lewis

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you in the future if you travel this way again.

3 out of 5
Great for a place to sleep, cheap and nothing fancy. Photos are accurate.

Posted by on 17 Jun. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 Jun. 2018 by Zane Lewis

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

2 out of 5

Bed bugs

The room was dirty the bathroom floor when wiped with a wet bath mat went black, climbed into bed and felt things crawling and the sheets felt "crunchy". Bed was full of bed bug poo and i pulled back the sheets to find bed bugs. Called reception as I had 3 sleeping kids. The manager was very promt and handled the situation well. I received a full refund and an apology. I was moved rooms and it seemed ok. Takes an extremely long and unexplained reason to receive key deposit back of $100. (Time frame given to me was 27-30 business days).

Posted by , from Bundaberg on 14 Jan. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Jan. 2018 by Zane Lewis - Hotel Manager

Afternoon Heidi, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, We where extremely sorry to hear about the bed bugs and we take all possible measures at the hotel to make sure our hotel rooms are always free from them. We have closed off this area and have had this room attended by our pest control. In regards to the $100 deposit most time frames for return are 4-10 business days, but some banks can take up 30 days which is why we feel obliged to inform you of the worst case scenario when checking in. Thank you again for your feedback I have passed this on to our cleaning team to address.

1 out of 5
Pros: Somewhere to sleep
Cons: Everything
Location: Pub
I was the only thing I could fine old shabby and run down

Posted by on 13 Nov. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 Nov. 2017 by Zane Lewis

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay at our hotel. We work hard to keep our rooms clean and maintain them in a good working order. If there was any problems you feel we need to address immediately please feel free to contact the hotel and discuss. So we can keep our guests happy and satisfied with there stay. Thank you

5 out of 5

Friendly service

Last minute booking and very accomodating staff. Room was perfect for our few hours sleep before continuing our drive up north to see family.

Posted by , from Gold Coast on 20 Sep. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

10 Nov. 2017 by Zane Lewis

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again if ever pass back through Regards Management

2 out of 5
Room ok. Had a musty smell and carpet felt sticky. Was fine for 1 night.

Posted by on 30 May 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5
We were given a room and only one light was working. Bathroom light was not working so we asked if someone could fix it. The only people there around 8.30pm were the bar staff. The girls were as helpful as they could be. They gave us keys for another room. This room was covered with live worms all over the floor. After we saw a live cockroach run across the bed, we asked for our original room back. Once back in our original room, we noticed more live worms. Bathroom mirror was sitting on the floor and not even up on bathroom wall. I know you get what you pay for, but this is just basic cleanliness and maintenance. We have stayed in other motels for the same price and have never thought twice about staying there again. Due to cyclone and shortage of power in the town, we were limited as to where were could stay.

Posted by on 6 Apr. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

you pay for what you get. quality for the price.

Pros: comfy bed and and shower had good water pressure and great hot water. Have stayed there a few times before.
Cons: More cutlery in rooms. eg knives and forks.
Location: good location on way to harbour and plenty of shops in walking distance.
Staff friendly and helpful. No rooms were available and staff let us re rent our room from previous 2 nights.

Posted by , from Rockhampton on 5 Mar. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?

Property Features

As a guest of Kooyong Hotel, you'll find a BBQ, ATM/banking services, and camper van/bus/lorry parking. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. The front desk is open around the clock. Free self parking is available. For a fee, the property may offer extended parking privileges after check-out.

  • 14 guestrooms or units
  • Bar or lounge
  • Pool or billiards table
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • ATM

Parking

Free self parking , RV, bus, truck parking

Transport

  • Train station: Mackay Station (6.9 km / 4.3 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Kooyong Hotel offers 14 forms of air-conditioned accommodation which are accessible via exterior corridors and feature a ceiling fan. Fridges and coffee/tea makers are provided.

  • Television
  • Fridge
  • Coffee maker
  • Iron and ironing board available
  • Desk
  • Exterior corridor access
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan
  • Ensuite bathroom

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at noon
  • Check-in time ends at 10 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Special check-in instructions:

This property doesn't offer after-hours check-in. Guests arriving late won't be able to check in until the next morning.

This property doesn't offer after-hours check-in. Guests arriving after hours will have to wait until the next morning to check in.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guest room reservation.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cots (infant beds) available

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: AUD 100.00 per stay

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

Hotel Names

  • Kooyong Hotel North Mackay
  • Kooyong Hotel
  • Kooyong North Mackay
  • Kooyong Hotel Hotel
  • Kooyong Hotel North Mackay
  • Kooyong Hotel Hotel North Mackay

You should know

  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
url importing https://www.wotif.com/Mackay-Hotels-Kooyong-Hotel.h9629602-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.