4.2 out of 5

"The Parking was great I hate getting back to where you are and no parking I am in a wheel chair So everything was easy for me Thanks again. " More

By a verified traveller on Tue 19 Jun 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

A luxury stay in East Mackay awaits you at Direct Hotels - Pacific Sands. You'll be within a 20-minute walk of Queens Park Orchid House and 2.4 km (1.5 mi) from Artspace Mackay. Highlights at this aparthotel include an outdoor swimming pool and in-room free WiFi.

You can enjoy a TV with satellite channels, and each apartment features a DVD player, a coffee/tea maker and a ceiling fan. A microwave, a hairdryer and an iron/ironing board are also available. Weekly housekeeping is available.

This aparthotel has free WiFi in public areas, barbecues and dry cleaning/laundry services. Other amenities include luggage storage, a lift and a reception hall. There's also the convenience of free self parking.

With a stay at this 4.5-star East Mackay aparthotel, you'll be 2.7 km (1.7 mi) from Mackay Enertainment and Convention Centre and 2.7 km (1.7 mi) from Jubilee Park.

King Room Studio

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
AU$95 per night

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Executive Studio

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Apartment, 3 Bedrooms

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

King Executive Room with Balcony

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Deluxe Apartment, 3 Bedrooms

Bed Count 4 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Direct Hotels - Pacific Sands ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.2 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Direct Hotels - Pacific Sands

Everyone (72) Couples (7) Business (1) Family (11)
4 out of 5
Each pod of apartments is connected to one air-conditioner. The problem is if one of the pods has the aircon in "heat" then the other apartments also have to suffer "heat". Cannot be changed to "cool". Not good.

Posted by on 16 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
The peace and quiet, spacious apartment and the fantastic views. If you are a business person there was no portals for charging electronic devices.

Posted by on 3 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

5 Jun. 2019 by Pacific Sands Team

Good morning, Thank you for your review on our Hotel. I am pleased that you found your apartment to be spacious, peaceful and quiet. We do have fantastic views from majority of our apartments. I am sorry that there were no portals for charging electronic devices in your room. I will pass this on to Management. We would love to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Pacific Sands Team

4 out of 5
Fantastic reception staff, very helpful. Did not stay long enough to judge on the surroundings.

Posted by on 17 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 May 2019 by Paige

Thank you for your positive feedback! We are glad to hear that our staff were helpful! We hope to see you at our property again soon. Kind Regards, Pacific Sands

1 out of 5
great place and good location, i stayed here around three weeks and intended to give these guys months of business until my last stay. I had contacted them to get the same room i book as always, they told me definitively there was nothing available except the "executive sweet", considerably more expensive but I liked the place previously so i bit the bullet and took it. On arrival without explanation i was given the original room i had lobbied for, not the "executive sweet" which they said was the only room available and costs much more. The front desk staff were no help, they couldn't offer any explanation or alternative stating "they must have swapped it for you as its what you asked for", I was happy and said "can I get in touch with management asap to make sure I'm not paying more for the same thing and not at all what i was promised on the phone". They couldn't even give me a timeline on when I would hear from management about this but assured me i would be re reimbursed for any mistake. I didn't hear from the manager until 3 days, when i had already left the hotel. she explained that the prices "vary" and that I stayed in the room that I had asked for. All i really wanted as a customer was for them to admit their mistake but they wouldn't by any measure, their staff i felt organized this in a way to make it difficult to arrange to STEAL more money for the same room. These people are lairs, do not give them your business, it will bite you sooner or later!!!

Posted by on 13 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

21 May 2019 by Karen

Thank You for your feedback about your stay. I’m sorry that you feel you were somehow mis-lead or cheated. I can confirm that the booking you made was for a two-bedroom apartment and the rate you were charged was for a two-bedroom apartment and not an executive. At the time of your stay, we had no executive rooms available due to the length of your stay. Had you booked an executive room, it would have cost you an additional $25 per night. I was not on duty at the hotel at the time when you enquired about corporate rates. Our hotel is open 7 days per week, so on occasion, I might be on my days off. On those occasions it can take a couple of days for me to get in touch with you. I did contact you on my return to the office and did try to discuss your request with you. However, you had already made up your mind about the situation, so you hung up on me. We have hundreds of repeat guests here at our hotel every week who come back because they know we will always look after them and give them the cheapest rate available. I’m sorry that you were not open to talk through the situation, so you could see that we would look after you as well. Regards, Karen Cobb Manager, Pacific Sands

5 out of 5

Posted by on 25 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Apr. 2019 by Karen

Thank You for your review. We are glad we met all your expectations. We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon. Kind Regards, Pacific Sands Team

5 out of 5
If you are in Mackay it’s new it’s in a great place awesome to say the least

Posted by on 18 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

23 Apr. 2019 by Alanna

Hi, Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Pacific Sands. We are glad you found our property great and we hope to have you stay again in the near future. Kind Regards

5 out of 5
Staff lovely location quiet a little out of town but fine room very clean very happy nice pool

Posted by on 8 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 Apr. 2019 by Pacific Sands Team

Good morning, We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here and we loved having you. We hope you have a safe and great Easter ! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Pacific Sands Team

5 out of 5

Posted by on 6 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

6 Apr. 2019 by Pacific Sands Team

Good morning, Thank you for taking time out to do our review. Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Pacific Sands Team

5 out of 5

Posted by on 31 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

2 Apr. 2019 by Pacific Sands Team

Thank you for your feedback. I hope you have had a great stay with us and look forward to you staying with us again in the near future.

3 out of 5
They advertised parking on site then block off half the car parks for watever reason, didn’t bother to explain to guests.

Posted by on 16 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

20 Mar. 2019 by pacific sands team

Good morning, Thank you for your recent review on your stay at Pacific Sands. I am sorry that you were not told on check in and found our parking not to be to your standard. We blocked it off due to work being done on the side of the building and we blocked it off for the safety of our guests and vehicles while the builders we working. We hope to have you stay again in the future. Kind Regards, Pacific Sands Team

About the Direct Hotels - Pacific Sands

Location 3 Kirribilli Avenue, East Mackay, QLD 4740

Property Features

Direct Hotels - Pacific Sands offers its guests an outdoor pool, a BBQ, and dry cleaning/laundry services. WiFi is free in public spaces. Free self parking is available. You'll have access to the outdoor pool and health club at a partner property. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 4.5-star East Mackay aparthotel.

  • 80 guestrooms or units
  • 8 levels
  • Built in 2015
  • Towels for the beach
  • Dry cleaning
  • Storage area for luggage
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Lift
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Microwave
  • DVD player

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Mackay, QLD (MKY) (7.4 km / 4.6 mi)
  • Train station: Mackay Station (7.1 km / 4.4 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Direct Hotels - Pacific Sands offers 80 forms of air-conditioned accommodation with DVD players and coffee/tea makers. Televisions come with satellite channels. Bathrooms include a shower, complimentary toiletries and a hairdryer. This East Mackay aparthotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Additionally, rooms include an iron/ironing board and a ceiling fan. Housekeeping is provided on a weekly basis.

  • Television
  • Satellite channels
  • DVD player
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (weekly)
  • Hairdryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan
  • Ensuite bathroom

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 5 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open during the following times:

  • Monday-Thursday: 7 AM-7 PM
  • Saturday-Sunday: 9 AM-5 PM
If you are planning to arrive after 5 PM, please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation.

This property's front desk is open during the following times:

  • Monday - Thursday: 7 AM - 7 PM
  • Saturday - Sunday: 9 AM - 5 PM
Guests arriving after 5 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. On-site parties or group events are strictly prohibited.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cots (infant beds) available
  • Events/parties not allowed

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: AUD 150.00 per stay

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • On-site credit card charges are subject to a surcharge

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Direct Hotels Pacific Sands East Mackay
  • Direct Hotels Pacific Sands
  • Direct Pacific Sands East Mackay
  • Direct Pacific Sands

You should know

  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.