Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"Garden view rooms are basic but has everything you need will stay again " More

By a verified traveller on Sun 05 Jan 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

A family-friendly stay in The Keppels awaits you at Great Keppel Island Hideaway. Within a short 5-minute stroll, you'll find Great Keppel Beach and Fishermans Beach. Highlights at this beachfront hotel include a restaurant and a bar/lounge.

Spend the day at the beach where you'll find umbrellas. Other amenities include free WiFi in public areas and a coffee shop/café. Cooked-to-order breakfast is available daily between 7:30 AM and 10 AM. There's also the convenience of a beach shuttle.

Sights within a 10-minute walk of this The Keppels hotel include Putney Beach and Leekes Beach.

Basic Triple Room, 1 Bedroom, Garden Area

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max
AU$130* Per night/room 12 Oct. - 13 Oct.

Economy Quadruple Room, Multiple Beds, Patio, Courtyard Area

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Family House, 2 Bedrooms, Kitchen

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Island Cabin

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Panoramic Cabin, 1 Bedroom, Beach View

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

A Frame House

Bed Count 3 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Great Keppel Island Hideaway ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.5 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Great Keppel Island Hideaway

Everyone (15) Couples (2)
2 out of 5
The overall running if this property is very poor , facilities are dirty unkempt worse than a really bad caravan park not a resort at all The sanitation treatment is very bad bathrooms well below average standard , putride smell coming from drains , lawn watering during the evening stinks as well Don’t expect to be able to prepare much for meals as they do not supply anything but plates bowls coffee cup knife and fork Mini microwave and burnt surface electric frypan and kettle I’m guessing they want you to eat at their pricey and dirty restaurant with below average food I forgot to mention the 7:00am backpacker maintenance guys who are scraping sand and lifting cement pavers outside your cabin, and the huge farm tractor moving gigantic water tanks across the beach

Posted by on 8 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

27 Jan. 2020 by Eloise

Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback. We apologise if it wasn't made clear to you that our accommodation is definitely back to basics and we do not provide full kitchenettes but rather just the basic self-catering facilities. We try our utmost to not oversell our property as we aim to be basic beach living rather than a high end resort and often guests love the simple way of life. It is disappointing that you didn't enjoy your experience at the restaurant, as we often receive great feedback on the relaxed, beachy vibe. Sand can be a battle, as a bistro right on the beachfront but we do our best to blow it out every morning and sweep between services but we can't guarantee you won't have some sand between your toes. We do apologise that the arrival of the water tanks coincided with your stay, as with much of Australia, we are very water poor at the moment so we did need new tanks to fill with town water off the barge. We hope you can understand this is just a logistical issue with being based on an island with no mainland power or water. We are always trying to grow and improve as a business and hope you'll visit again and notice our improvements. Kind Regards,

4 out of 5
Garden view rooms are basic but has everything you need will stay again

Posted by on 5 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

27 Jan. 2020 by Eloise

Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback. We're definitely a back to basics accommodation house but comfortable beach living! Hope to welcome you back again :)

4 out of 5
The food/menu was not very good, not many choices & nothing to eat with tea/coffee for morning/arvo tea, except packets of chips on racks. Buffet was not worth the money. If going again, would take my own food

Posted by on 3 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Jan. 2020 by Denise

Thank you Jenny for your comments in regards to bistro experience. I totally understand your comments. We had a new head chef just before Christmas and to try and maintain quick turnarounds he did simplify the menu. We also do normally have snack menu up to 11.30 before lunch. Also I am aware that the one Friday night buffet was not a success. Once again this was a one off. Our normal Parilla BBQ buffets receive rave reviews. I apologise that this was not a good experience for you. We look forward to your next visit and we welcome the opportunity to have you try our bistro meals again for a better experience. Kind regards

4 out of 5
We had 4 adults and 6 kids in two family rooms. Suited us perfectly.

Posted by on 17 Jan. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Feb. 2019 by Denise

Thank you for your holiday review and I apologise that we had not replied earlier. I am very pleased you had a good time and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards Denise

3 out of 5
Awesome location , beautiful island 🌴, however our room was not clean , kitchen benches and table had scum on them the toilet was not not clean or the fridge , it had dirt on the window sills which was right above our heads In the room , my daughters bed had a giant ants 🐜 nest above her bed , and the aircon had dust clumps flying out of it when I turned it on . I personally had to scrub everything the bathroom the kitchen and clean out the filters of the aircon before we could touch anything. Plus we got the early ferry over to the island and stood with our bags for half the day waiting while apparent cleaning staff were cleaning out cabin only to watch 3 of them stuff around at the cabin and do nothing but change the sheets and take out the bin. Very disappointed with this.

Posted by , from Gladstone on 12 Jan. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Feb. 2019 by Denise

Thank you Renee for your holiday review and again I apologise that we have not replied sooner. During the exceptionally busy Christmas holiday period, housekeeping are under enormous pressure to get guests into their rooms as soon as they can. Firstly I do want to apologise that the room was not clean to your satisfaction. This is certainly not our intention or our usual standard of service. Our official check in time is 2pm but we do our best to get you in earlier as everyone prefers. I understand that guests do catch the early bird ferry over as it is more economical and gives you more time on the island. We do ask guests not to wait at their rooms but to leave their luggage in the baggage shed, and once the accommodation is clean and ready we let you know. We usually suggest guests either have refreshments in the bistro, walk around the beaches or go for a swim with the family while you are waiting. It it very hard for the housekeepers to be put under pressure with guests standing around the cabin waiting for them. I do not say this to be harsh on our guests. Housekeeping may have cleaned more of the room before you arrived and maybe were doing the final touches whilst you were waiting. Once again Renee I sincerely apologise that the room was not clean for your family. This was one of the reasons that we gave you a discount on departure. We definitely welcome the opportunity to have your family back again on the island and hope that you would see improvements. Thank you again Renee. Kind regards

5 out of 5
Perfect. Perfect weather. Perfect beach. Perfect cabin. Perfect holiday

Posted by on 6 Oct. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

12 Oct. 2018 by Denise

Thank you and we are very pleased that you had a great holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful island again and we are constantly doing improvements so you can have an even better stay next time. Happy travels from the Hideaway team

2 out of 5
Beautiful location and the ferry trips were great, but unfortunately the cleanliness of our room and the restaurant meals were terrible whilst being very expensive.

Posted by on 30 Sep. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

12 Oct. 2018 by Denise

Thank you Sam for taking the time to review your holiday. I can't apologise enough that your room wasn't clean. I know it was a long weekend and very busy but the housekeeping team usually do a good job keeping the rooms clean and tidy. With the "restaurant" (our bistro) meals we do ask that guests understand that on an island meals are going to be more expensive than the mainland in we ask guests that if you are unhappy with your meals that you speak with the Head Chef/kitchen staff straight away. The Manager would expect your meals to be replaced if they were not to the standard that you expect. We have a team of chefs in the kitchen, and I know it was a busy weekend, but the standard should not be effected. I apologise again that your meals were not to your liking. We always welcome feedback and look forward to inviting you again in the future as we aim to always improve the quality of accommodation and bistro service. Kind regards

4 out of 5
Great spot next to beach. All beaches are lovely. Our room was very basic, but did the job. Hideaway needs more activities though. This is not s place you would want to stay more than one or two nights, otherwise you would get bored. Basically only one place to eat and have a beer.

Posted by , from Melbourne on 12 Sep. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

24 Sep. 2018 by Denise

Thank Rusty for taking the time to review your holiday. I am very pleased you found the beaches lovely. We have a range of accommodation with our beachfront and sea view island cabins the premium accommodation styles. But overall we are a basic 3 star. We do try to provide some live music, Friday nights, Sunday lunch and sometimes Sunday. I am aware though that there are not any night time activities during the week days. This is something that we should definitely be looking into and need to discuss with guests about what they would like us to do. Maybe trivia nights, occassionally we have karaoke or movie nights?? Thanks Rusty.

4 out of 5
Be mindful of meal times, or be hungry! No cigarettes or papers sold on the island. Lovely staff at Rainbow Hut

Posted by on 28 May 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

5 Jun. 2018 by Denise

Thank you for taking the time to review Great Keppel Island. The Rainbow hut did sell cigarettes for many years but have recently stopped and yes eventually some one else will have to take up that opportunity. We do share with our guests the meal times at check in but understand sometimes you are out on the beach until later. Weekends we run the bistro for much longer hours and if our chefs are in the kitchen doing prep they will always make up some meal for you. I hope you didn't go hungry. Your review is valuable to us and hopefully next time your visit there will be opportunities to purchase cigarettes.

5 out of 5

Excellent location

Great staff and great location along with and conditioning and a clean room added to a fantastic getaway.

Posted by , from Perth on 30 Jan. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

20 Jul. 2018 by Eloise

Hey Matt, Thank you for taking the time to review us! Glad you had a great time, hope to welcome you back again soon!

About the Great Keppel Island Hideaway

Location The Esplanade, The Keppels, QLD 4700

Property Features

Along with a restaurant, there's a coffee shop/café on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. WiFi is free in public spaces. A terrace, tour/ticket assistance, and barbecue grills are also featured at the family-friendly Great Keppel Island Hideaway. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this The Keppels hotel.

  • 48 guestrooms or units
  • Built in 1970
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Supervised kid's activities
  • Towels for the beach
  • Umbrellas for the beach
  • 1 conference room
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • ATM
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Miniature golf on site

Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Transport

  • Airport: Rockhampton, QLD (ROK)
  • Property shuttles: Ferry terminal shuttle and beach shuttle

Room Amenities

Great Keppel Island Hideaway offers 48 accommodations. A pillow menu is available. Housekeeping is offered on a limited basis and irons/ironing boards can be requested. Cribs/infant beds (surcharge) are also available.

  • Pillow options
  • Cribs (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (limited)
  • Iron and ironing board available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy cooked-to-order breakfast daily from 7:30 AM to 10 AM.

Onsite venue - Overlooking the ocean, this bistro serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Spa Services

  • Massages on beach

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 5 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 8:00 AM - 5 PM. To make arrangements for check-in please contact the property ahead of time using the information on the booking confirmation. If you are planning to arrive after 5:00 PM please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in instructions. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 8:00 AM - 5 PM.
To arrange for check-in, guests must contact the property in advance of arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests arriving after 5:00 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in information. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children 12 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for AUD 30.0 per night.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for AUD 20.0 per stay.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. No onsite parking is available. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.Disinfectant is used to clean the property, and commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays.Social distancing measures are in place and guests are provided with hand sanitizer.

  • Contactless check-out is not available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • No lifts
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Temperature checks are not available to guests
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Debit cards
  • Number of children who can stay for free – 2
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: AUD 10.00 per stay

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between AUD 9 and AUD 23 for adults, AUD 9 and AUD 13 for children (approximately)
  • Late check-out fee: AUD 50.00 (subject to availability)
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: AUD 20.0 per stay
  • Rollaway bed fee: AUD 30.0 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Great Keppel Island Hideaway Hotel
  • Great Keppel Island Hideaway
  • Great Keppel Island Hideaway Hotel
  • Great Keppel Island Hideaway The Keppels
  • Great Keppel Island Hideaway Hotel The Keppels

You should know

  • Up to 2 children 12 years old and younger stay free in the same room as the parent or guardian when using existing bedding.
url importing http://www.wotif.com/The-Keppels-Hotels-Great-Keppel-Island-Hideaway.h11975520-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /The-Keppels-Hotels-Great-Keppel-Island-Hideaway.h11975520-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/The-Keppels-Hotels-Great-Keppel-Island-Hideaway.h11975520-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.