75.0% Based on 3255 reviews TripAdvisor Traveller Rating 3.5 out of 5

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At Generator London you'll be within just a 10-minute stroll of popular attractions like Russell Square and British Library. Highlights at this hostel include a restaurant, a nightclub and a bar/lounge.

All 214 rooms feature free WiFi.

This hostel has a 24-hour front desk, a games room and express check-out. Other amenities include laundry facilities, tour/ticket assistance and multilingual staff. Buffet breakfast is available on weekdays between 7:00 AM and 10:00 AM and on weekends between 7:00 AM and noon.

Attractions within a 20-minute walk of this London City Centre hostel include The British Museum and BT Tower.

Standard Quadruple Room

Bed Count room.options.bedSize.BunkBed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
AU$127 per night

6-bed Private Dormitory room ensuite

Bed Count room.options.bedSize.BunkBed.Singular Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

8-bed Private Dormitory room ensuite

Bed Count room.options.bedSize.BunkBed.Singular Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

1 Bed in a 6-Bed Dorm

Bed Count room.options.bedSize.BunkBed.Singular Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Shared Dormitory, Women only (10-12 Beds)

Bed Count room.options.bedSize.BunkBed.Singular Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Shared Dormitory, Women only (8-12 Beds) - shared bathroom facilities

Bed Count room.options.bedSize.BunkBed.Singular Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Generator London ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.2 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Generator London

Everyone (8) Students (1)
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed staying here. Clean and nice rooms. I stayed in a room with 10 beds in it and the people who stayed there while i did were very respectful. The shower was my favorite part because it was like being under a waterfall. Amazing. I would recommend people to come here. Central. Cheap. Awesome.

Posted by on 1 Dec. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Dec. 2018 by Johnny

Dear guest, We are happy that you had a great time at Generator. We hope we will see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Guest Relations Team

2 out of 5
The front entrance were all steps. The lift was broken for 3 days and we had to carry our heavy suitcase up 4 flights of stairs. If you were tall then the shower facilities would be a problem. Some of the shower heads were very low. Cheap accommodation for a cheap stay. Don't spend too long here.

Posted by on 29 Sep. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Sep. 2018 by Jess

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback! We are sorry to know you didn't quite enjoy your stay with us! Unfortunately this is an old building so sometimes spaces are limited. About the lift, we fixed it recently and I'm sorry you were here when it wasn't working. Regards, Reception team

4 out of 5

Friendly and attentive staff

When we arrived there were a few minor issues with our room. I emailed the staff and within minutes they responded saying they’d have someone fix them that afternoon. Service was very prompt and all issues were quickly rectified which was great!

Posted by , from Australia on 5 Dec. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Dec. 2017 by The Reception Team

Dear Mel, Thank you for your thoughts about Generator staff! We try our best!! Come back to see us! Best Wishes,

4 out of 5

Good London Hostel

Pros: Lots of activities, information and atmosphere. Great place to meet people.
This is a hostel so you can't expect a hotel, but for a hostel it is great and I'd highly recommend it.

Posted by on 16 Jul. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 Jul. 2017 by Michelle

Dear guest, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and the activities that we have going on everyday. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes

5 out of 5

Fun hostel, great location.

I've never stayed at a Generator hostel before but will definitely keep an eye out for them in the future! I couldn't believe how big this one was! The vibe was cool.. It was fun, funky, laid back. had a great stay. People on front desk could probably do with some customer service skills update though. And I had a friend come for drinks and thought the whole signing in thing was a bit odd... We were waiting around far too long for someone to sort it for us which kinda killed the buzz. But other than that- would definitely suggest to friends.

Posted by , from NZ on 5 Aug. 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 Aug. 2015 by Nate

Hey there, thanks for getting in touch after your recent stay with us, it's great to hear from you and to understand that for the most part we have been able to meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback regards to the team and I will pass these along to our Reception Manager. We sign all non guests into the building so that we know who is in house for evacuation and fire safety, but I apologize if it took a while to get you set up. We hope to see you back at Generator London again soon. Best Wishes, Nathan Roberts, Guest Relations - Generator London

5 out of 5
Pros: The facilities available

Posted by , from New Zealand - Wellington on 26 Mar. 2014

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Pros: Bars, social atmosphere
Cons: Noisy, lifts were not working
Location: Close to everything
Facilities: Modern; Value: Low-priced; Service: Outstanding; Cleanliness: Spotless; close to Russell Square

Posted by , from Australia - NSW - Sydney on 28 Oct. 2013

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
Pros: My roommates turned out to be great people
Cons: None of the staff spoke English as a first language and they were not very helpful. I was advised to go to the city tourist place for any questions.
Location: Tranquil
Facilities: Need some TLC; Value: Over-priced; Service: Unhelpful; Cleanliness: Filthy, Smelly, Grubby, Needs TLC!!!! BAD; Really needs a good make over! Generator Dublin wins by miles and miles

Posted by , from United States on 8 Jan. 2013

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Pros: Friendly atmosphere
Cons: My bed got double booked! But everything got sorted out very quickly.
Location: Perfect
Facilities: Modern; Value: Great deal; Service: Friendly; Cleanliness: Immaculate; Love the cafe!

Posted by , from Australia - NSW - Newcastle on 11 Apr. 2012

Was this review helpful to you?

Property Features

There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. A nightclub, tour or ticket assistance, and an arcade/games room are also featured at Generator London. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this London hostel.

  • 214 guestrooms or units
  • 6 levels
  • Dining venue
  • Nightclub
  • Bar or lounge
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Staff members are multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Games room or arcade
  • Gift shop
  • Television in lobby
  • ATM
  • Lift
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Arcade/game room


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi


  • Airport: London (LHR-Heathrow) (29.9 km / 18.6 mi)
  • Train station: London St. Pancras Station (0.9 km / 0.5 mi)
  • Metro station: Russell Square Underground Station (0.4 km / 0.2 mi)
  • Parking:

Room Amenities

Generator London offers 214 forms of accommodation. Guests can surf the web using complimentary wireless Internet access. Bathrooms include a shower.

  • Shower
  • Heating

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy buffet breakfast on weekdays from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM and at the weekend from 7:00 AM to noon.

On-site venue – This restaurant specialises in international cuisine and serves breakfast and dinner.

Hotel Policies


  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM

Special check-in instructions:

If you are planning to arrive after midnight, please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation.

Group Booking Policy: For bookings of 10 guests or more, this property charges a nonrefundable deposit equal to 100% of the full cost of stay. The property will contact guests within 24 hours after booking to receive payment.

The credit card used to book the reservation must be presented by the cardholder at check-in along with matching photo identification. Any other arrangements must be coordinated with the property prior to arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

Guests arriving after midnight must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation.


  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.


  • No pets allowed


Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. No on-site parking is available. Special cancellation policies or charges may apply for group reservations (more than 8 rooms for the same property/stay dates).

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cots (infant beds) available


Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Towels/sheets: GBP 4

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for buffet breakfast: GBP 7.50 per person (approximately)
  • Late check-in fee for check-in after midnight
  • Late check-out fee: GBP 10.00 (subject to availability)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Generator Hostel London
  • Generator Hostel
  • Generator London
  • Generator Hostel London England
  • Generator Hostel London Hotel London
  • Generator London Hostel