Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.0 out of 5

"The property was great.. But not fully cleaned since the last client. That was a little disappointing. " More

By a verified traveller on Sat 15 Jun 2019

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Townsville Southbank Apartments puts you in the heart of Townsville, connected to the convention center and within a 20-minute stroll of Castle Hill and Magnetic Island Ferry Terminal. Highlights at this hotel include a restaurant, an outdoor swimming pool, and in-room kitchens.

All 15 rooms feature flat-screen TVs with digital channels, and you can enjoy washers/dryers, free WiFi, and 2 bathrooms. Kitchens come with refrigerators, stovetops, and dishwashers, making in-room dining convenient. Balconies or patios, coffee/tea makers, and ceiling fans are also available. Weekly housekeeping is available.

The buffet restaurant, Southbank Restaurant, is open for breakfast. Added amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a fitness center, and laundry facilities. Buffet breakfast is available on weekdays between 6:00 AM and 9:00 AM and on weekends between 7:00 AM and 10:00 AM. There's also the convenience of free self parking.

Sights within a 10-minute drive of this 4-star South Townsville hotel include Strand Park and Cluden Racecourse.

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms (One Queen and Two Singles)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
AU$114* Per night/room 23 Jul. - 24 Jul.

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms (Two Queen Beds)

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Townsville Southbank Apartments ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.0 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Townsville Southbank Apartments

Everyone (40) Couples (4) Family (53)
5 out of 5
The property was great.. But not fully cleaned since the last client. That was a little disappointing.

Posted by , from Townsville on 15 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Great unit with everything you could wish for. Spacious, plenty of family room, great balcony and pool area.

Posted by on 29 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 May 2019 by Rydges Team

Thank you so much for the great feedback! We are so delighted to hear your stay was pleasant and comfortable.

3 out of 5

Posted by on 3 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Apr. 2019 by Rydges Team

Thanks for your review, we appreciate your time.

3 out of 5

Location is excellent

Pros: Living room was spacious and kitchen well equipped. Balcony was large and inviting.
Cons: Furniture uncomfortable, wifi non existent in living room, only works in bedrooms. Would be nice to have blinds that fit in the bedrooms and lamps.
Location: Lots of restaurants on Palmer Street and grocery stores and bottle shops nearby. The Strand is an easy walk. Apartment is in a nice quiet area.
Location is excellent, apartment is quite nice and spacious. There are ants in the couch and in the bathrooms and they bite. There are no lamps in the apartment only bright overhead lights. Would be so much nicer if lamps were in the bedrooms and living room. Housekeeping takes out garbage daily and makes beds only. After 5 nights we asked to have towels replaced. We were here for 8 nights.

Posted by on 28 Mar. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Absolutely enjoyed our stay,wish I had of booked for longer .I could live there permanently. Close to everything we needed.

Posted by , from Bowen on 26 Dec. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Pros: Location
Very good Good location Clean Good layout Good parking

Posted by on 12 Nov. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

16 Nov. 2017 by Michelle Diehm - Revenue Manager

Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we greatly appreciate your time. Many Thanks,

5 out of 5

Spacious comfortable in heart of city

Spacious family sized self contained apartment with great amenities, close to shopping mall and great restaurants in the city heart.

Posted by , from Queensland on 29 Oct. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Nov. 2017 by Michelle Diehm - Revenue Manager

Thank you for your positive review. We love to hear our hotel was to your expectations! We appreciate your time. Many Thanks

2 out of 5

smells like a gym locker room

Pros: Not too much. The staff during check in and check out were very friendly.
Cons: The units needs to be renovated and refurnished
Location: The location is great as it is very handy for dining options. It is also nice and quiet.
The rooms look nothing like the pictures online. The main bedroom smelt like the inside of sweaty gym locker room. The carpet needs to be pulled up and replaced or cleaned. The furniture in the lounge room needs to be replaced as there are visible signs of wearing on the arms of all the chairs. The rooms weren't cleaned very well either as there was a dirty earbud on the floor in the lounge room near the leg of one of the armchairs. The toilet in the hallway was constantly leaking water causing the cistern to constantly call for water, so i had to get up and turn the water off at the wall for it so i could get to sleep. The tiled section of floor feels like the tiles are all about to lift up. There are also visible signs of water damage on the walls were the air conditioner heads are installed. Overall it was very disappointing as i was looking forward to a comfortable homelike stay while being away from home for work.

Posted by , from Brisbane on 26 Oct. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Nov. 2017 by Miche

Thanks for providing us with information pertaining to your stay. We are pleased to hear that our staff and location was to your liking. We will work hard to address some issues you have advised, and again, thanks for your time. Kind Regards,

2 out of 5
The only good customer service was the room cleaner, who was still cleaning our room when we checked in. Room still wasn't ready 2 hours after check in time.

Posted by on 23 Oct. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Nov. 2017 by Michelle Diehm - Revenue Manager

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry to hear our property was not to your expectations. We'll work hard to improve this. Kind Regards,

4 out of 5

Nice family place, close to everything.

Need lamps next to beds. Need more self cleaning improvement e.g. a broom.

Posted by , from Hervey Bay on 25 Sep. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Nov. 2017 by Michelle Diehm - Revenue Manager

Thank you for your positive feedback, we appreciate your time in providing us with information about the recent stay. Many Thanks,

About the Townsville Southbank Apartments

Location 19 Mcillwaraith Street, South Townsville, QLD 4810

Property Features

There's a restaurant on site. Public spaces have free WiFi. Townsville Southbank Apartments offers its guests an outdoor pool and a fitness center. The business-friendly Townsville Southbank Apartments also features a garden, complimentary newspapers in the lobby, and laundry facilities. Self parking is free. This 4-star Townsville hotel is smoke free.

  • 15 guestrooms or units
  • 4 levels
  • Dining venue
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Garden
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Outdoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Kitchen
  • Laundry facilities
  • Washer/dryer
  • Full-sized refrigerator/freezer

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Townsville, QLD (TSV) (8.2 km / 5.1 mi)
  • Train station: Townsville Station (2.8 km / 1.8 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Townsville Southbank Apartments offers 15 accommodations with washers/dryers and coffee/tea makers. Rooms open to balconies or patios. Flat-screen televisions come with premium digital channels. Accommodations at this 4-star hotel have kitchens with full-sized refrigerators/freezers, stovetops, cookware/dishes/utensils, and dishwashers. Bathrooms include complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. This Townsville hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and ceiling fans. Housekeeping is provided weekly.

  • In-room kitchen
  • 2 bathrooms
  • Washer and dryer
  • Private balcony or patio
  • Flat-screen television
  • Digital channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator (full size)
  • Oven
  • Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Coffee maker
  • Kitchenware
  • Cribs (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (weekly)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ceiling fan

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy buffet breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 AM to 9:00 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.

Southbank Restaurant - This buffet restaurant serves breakfast only.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

The check-in location differs from the property location. To check in, go to Rydges Southbank TSV Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-in for this hotel is based at The Rydges Southbank Townsville Hotel, located at 23 Palmer Street, South Townsville, Queensland, 4810.

The check-in location differs from the property location. To check in, guests will need to go to Rydges Southbank TSV
Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 3 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for AUD 30.00 per stay.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation.

  • Service animals are allowed
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Staffed front desk
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Number of children who can stay for free – 3

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for buffet breakfast: AUD 24.95 for adults and AUD 12.95 for children (approximately)
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: AUD 30.00 per stay
  • Credit card charges are subject to a surcharge of 1.18 percent

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Townsville Southbank Apartments
  • Townsville Southbank
  • Hotel Townsville Southbank Apartments South Townsville
  • South Townsville Townsville Southbank Apartments Hotel
  • Hotel Townsville Southbank Apartments
  • Townsville Southbank Apartments South Townsville
  • Southbank Apartments
  • Southbank
  • Townsville Southbank Apartments Hotel
  • Townsville Southbank Apartments South Townsville
  • Townsville Southbank Apartments Hotel South Townsville
url importing http://www.wotif.com/Townsville-Hotels-Townsville-Southbank-Apartments.h8352484-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Townsville-Hotels-Townsville-Southbank-Apartments.h8352484-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/Townsville-Hotels-Townsville-Southbank-Apartments.h8352484-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.