4.0 out of 5

"Location is excellent, apartment is quite nice and spacious. There are ants in the couch and in the bathrooms and they bite. There are no lamps in ... " More

By a verified traveller on Wed 28 Mar 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At Townsville Southbank Apartments you'll be within just a 10-minute stroll of Maritime Museum of Townsville and Perc Tucker Regional Gallery. Highlights at this hotel include an outdoor swimming pool, and in-room kitchens and washers/dryers.

All 15 rooms feature flat-screen TVs with digital channels, and you can enjoy free WiFi, 2 multiple bathrooms and balconies or patios. In-room dining is easy with kitchens that come equipped with fridges, hobs and dishwashers. Coffee/tea makers, ceiling fans and hairdryers are also available.

This business-friendly hotel offers free WiFi in public areas and a fitness centre, and has a 24-hour front desk. Other amenities include laundry facilities, a garden and dry cleaning/laundry services. Buffet breakfast is available on weekdays between 6:00 AM and 9:00 AM and on weekends between 7:00 AM and 10:00 AM. There's also the convenience of free self parking.

With a stay at this 4-star South Townsville hotel, you'll be 1.5 km (1 mi) from Magnetic Island Ferry Terminal.

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms (Two Queen Beds)

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
AU$177 per night

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms (One Queen and Two Singles)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Townsville Southbank Apartments ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.0 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Townsville Southbank Apartments

Everyone (40) Couples (4) Family (53)
5 out of 5
The property was great.. But not fully cleaned since the last client. That was a little disappointing.

Posted by , from Townsville on 15 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Great unit with everything you could wish for. Spacious, plenty of family room, great balcony and pool area.

Posted by on 29 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 May 2019 by Rydges Team

Thank you so much for the great feedback! We are so delighted to hear your stay was pleasant and comfortable.

3 out of 5

Posted by on 3 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Apr. 2019 by Rydges Team

Thanks for your review, we appreciate your time.

3 out of 5

Location is excellent

Pros: Living room was spacious and kitchen well equipped. Balcony was large and inviting.
Cons: Furniture uncomfortable, wifi non existent in living room, only works in bedrooms. Would be nice to have blinds that fit in the bedrooms and lamps.
Location: Lots of restaurants on Palmer Street and grocery stores and bottle shops nearby. The Strand is an easy walk. Apartment is in a nice quiet area.
Location is excellent, apartment is quite nice and spacious. There are ants in the couch and in the bathrooms and they bite. There are no lamps in the apartment only bright overhead lights. Would be so much nicer if lamps were in the bedrooms and living room. Housekeeping takes out garbage daily and makes beds only. After 5 nights we asked to have towels replaced. We were here for 8 nights.

Posted by on 28 Mar. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Absolutely enjoyed our stay,wish I had of booked for longer .I could live there permanently. Close to everything we needed.

Posted by , from Bowen on 26 Dec. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Pros: Location
Very good Good location Clean Good layout Good parking

Posted by on 12 Nov. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

16 Nov. 2017 by Michelle Diehm - Revenue Manager

Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we greatly appreciate your time. Many Thanks,

5 out of 5

Spacious comfortable in heart of city

Spacious family sized self contained apartment with great amenities, close to shopping mall and great restaurants in the city heart.

Posted by , from Queensland on 29 Oct. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Nov. 2017 by Michelle Diehm - Revenue Manager

Thank you for your positive review. We love to hear our hotel was to your expectations! We appreciate your time. Many Thanks

2 out of 5

smells like a gym locker room

Pros: Not too much. The staff during check in and check out were very friendly.
Cons: The units needs to be renovated and refurnished
Location: The location is great as it is very handy for dining options. It is also nice and quiet.
The rooms look nothing like the pictures online. The main bedroom smelt like the inside of sweaty gym locker room. The carpet needs to be pulled up and replaced or cleaned. The furniture in the lounge room needs to be replaced as there are visible signs of wearing on the arms of all the chairs. The rooms weren't cleaned very well either as there was a dirty earbud on the floor in the lounge room near the leg of one of the armchairs. The toilet in the hallway was constantly leaking water causing the cistern to constantly call for water, so i had to get up and turn the water off at the wall for it so i could get to sleep. The tiled section of floor feels like the tiles are all about to lift up. There are also visible signs of water damage on the walls were the air conditioner heads are installed. Overall it was very disappointing as i was looking forward to a comfortable homelike stay while being away from home for work.

Posted by , from Brisbane on 26 Oct. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Nov. 2017 by Miche

Thanks for providing us with information pertaining to your stay. We are pleased to hear that our staff and location was to your liking. We will work hard to address some issues you have advised, and again, thanks for your time. Kind Regards,

2 out of 5
The only good customer service was the room cleaner, who was still cleaning our room when we checked in. Room still wasn't ready 2 hours after check in time.

Posted by on 23 Oct. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Nov. 2017 by Michelle Diehm - Revenue Manager

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry to hear our property was not to your expectations. We'll work hard to improve this. Kind Regards,

4 out of 5

Nice family place, close to everything.

Need lamps next to beds. Need more self cleaning improvement e.g. a broom.

Posted by , from Hervey Bay on 25 Sep. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Nov. 2017 by Michelle Diehm - Revenue Manager

Thank you for your positive feedback, we appreciate your time in providing us with information about the recent stay. Many Thanks,

About the Townsville Southbank Apartments

Location 19 Mcillwaraith Street, South Townsville, QLD 4810

Property Features

Townsville Southbank Apartments offers its guests an outdoor pool and a fitness centre. Public spaces have free WiFi. The business-friendly Townsville Southbank Apartments also features a garden, complimentary newspapers in the lobby, and laundry facilities. Free self parking is available. This 4-star South Townsville hotel is smoke free.

  • 15 guestrooms or units
  • 4 levels
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front desk safe
  • Garden
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Outdoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Kitchen
  • Laundry facilities
  • Washer/dryer
  • Full-sized refrigerator/freezer

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Townsville, QLD (TSV) (7.2 km / 4.4 mi)
  • Train station: Townsville Station (2.8 km / 1.8 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Townsville Southbank Apartments offers 15 forms of air-conditioned accommodation with washers/dryers and coffee/tea makers. Rooms open to balconies or patios. Flat-screen televisions come with premium digital channels. Accommodation at this 4-star hotel has kitchens with full-sized fridge/freezers, hobs, kitchenware and utensils and dishwashers. Bathrooms include complimentary toiletries and a hairdryer. Guests can surf the web using complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and telephones. Additionally, rooms include an iron/ironing board and a ceiling fan.

  • In-room kitchen
  • 2 bathrooms
  • Washer and dryer
  • Private balcony or patio
  • Flat-screen television
  • Digital channels
  • Premium channels
  • Fridge (full size)
  • Oven
  • Hob
  • Dishwasher
  • Coffee maker
  • Kitchenware
  • Cribs (surcharge)
  • Hairdryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ceiling fan

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy buffet breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 AM to 9:00 AM and at the weekend from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Special check-in instructions:

The check-in location differs from the property location. To check in, go to Rydges Southbank TSV

Check-in for this hotel is based at The Rydges Southbank Townsville Hotel, located at 23 Palmer Street, South Townsville, Queensland, 4810. For more details, please contact the office using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

The check-in location differs from the property location. To check in, guests will need to go to Rydges Southbank TSV

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 3 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for AUD 30.00 per stay.

Pets

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Only service animals are allowed
  • 24-hour check-in

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for buffet breakfast: AUD 24.95 for adults and AUD 12.95 for children (approximately)
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: AUD 30.00 per stay

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Townsville Southbank Apartments
  • Townsville Southbank