Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.0 out of 5

"The location of this hotel is wonderful. It is close to many of the key attractions of London. A comfortable stay in a nice, well appointed room. " More

By a verified traveller on Sat 02 Nov 2019

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington puts you in the center of London, 1.7 km (1.1 mi) from Hyde Park and 4.1 km (2.6 mi) from Buckingham Palace. Highlights at this hotel include 2 restaurants, a bar/lounge, and a conference center.

All 833 rooms feature flat-screen TVs with satellite channels, and you can enjoy free WiFi, free wired Internet, and coffee/tea makers. In-room dining is easy with amenities like refrigerators and round-the-clock room service. Additionally, hair dryers, phones, and irons/ironing boards are available.

The restaurant, The Brasserie, serves British cuisine and is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Business travelers can take advantage of conference space and a business center. Other amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a fitness center, and a coffee shop/café. Each morning full breakfast is available. There's also the convenience of self parking.

Places within a 15-minute drive of this 4-star London City Centre hotel include Trafalgar Square and Tower of London.

Standard Room, 2 Single Beds

Bed Count 2 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 3 Max
AU$92* Per night/room 6 Oct. - 7 Oct.

Superior Room, 2 Single Beds

Bed Count 2 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Standard Double Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Family Room

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Club Room, 2 Single Beds

Bed Count 2 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Double Room, Accessible

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.0 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Everyone (11)
4 out of 5
The location of this hotel is wonderful. It is close to many of the key attractions of London. A comfortable stay in a nice, well appointed room.

Posted by on 2 Nov. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Nov. 2019 by Copthorne Tara

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

4 out of 5
I have used the Copthorne more than any other hotel. Service was excellent and I am quite happy with it. However, rooms have insufficient drawer space for an extended stay, the lifts still seem to be an issue, and I was disappointed to find two of my favourite features gone i.e. the little paper and souvenir shop and the little coffee and snack cafe inside the entrance.

Posted by on 2 Sep. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

2 Sep. 2019 by Ben

Dear Wotif Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. I appreciate your feedback regarding the souvenir shop and cafe and I am sorry for any disappointment caused. The shop was a partner of the hotel and moved out of the premises. The cafe is temporarily in another area of the hotel but will return to the lobby bigger and better in due course. Thank you for the feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Ben, General Manager

3 out of 5

Posted by on 30 Jul. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

31 Jul. 2019 by Ben

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your overall stay. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Ben, Hotel manager

4 out of 5

Posted by on 2 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

2 Jun. 2019 by Ben

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am glad that you were overall satisfied with your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon in the future. Kind regards Ben, Hotel manager

4 out of 5

Posted by on 25 Oct. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 Oct. 2018 by Nathan

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Nathan, General manager

5 out of 5

Posted by on 18 Oct. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

23 Oct. 2018 by Reservation Team

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

4 out of 5
Positives : Very nice hotel, conveniently located in Kensington, close to tube station. Easy to get to and park and drop off guests. Very pleasant and helpful staff, fabulous buffet breakfast and some very good restaurants in the hotel. Areas for improvement: Could do with an update / lift to the rooms. Though comfortable looks a bit tired. The elevator system definitely needs remedial action immediately, the waiting time for an elevator is 5to10 minutes or more during peak times, and you would be lucky if you found a space to squeeze in if you were on the lower floors as they were full. It seemed at times that out of about 5 or 6 elevators that only one was in working order.

Posted by , from Sydney, Australia on 4 Oct. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

24 Oct. 2018 by Nathan

Dear David Thank you for your review. I am glad that you were overall satisfied with your stay on this occasion. I appreciate your comments about your experience and I have shared with the team. Regarding the lifts, there are 5 guest lifts in the hotel and we are currently replacing all of them for more modern and efficient machines. Unfortunately this project takes some time per lift and although there are progress, there is still some way to go for completion. I am sorry for any inconvenience caused, but I assure you that this project will greatly improve the service we provide to our guests. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in the future. Kind regards Nathan, General manager

4 out of 5
Close to shopping and there is always a bank of taxis close to the hotel. Food in the restaurant was very good as well.

Posted by , from South Australia on 14 Sep. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 Sep. 2018 by Nathan

Dear Susan Thank you for your email. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay on this occasion. Thank you for the feedback and I hope to welcoming you back soon in the future. Kind regards Nathan, General manager

3 out of 5

Getting a bit old and needs an update

After the first night we had to move rooms,the train track was at the back of our room. This was done without any fuss. When we came back in the afternoon to our new room, the hair dryer didn’t work, the bar fridge leaked, tv remote didn’t work and at night all the lights in the room kept turning of and on. This was fixed the next day. Another room was offered but we couldn’t be bothered changing again.

Posted by on 25 Aug. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 Aug. 2018 by Nathan

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you encountered maintenance issues in the room on this occasion. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. I have shared your feedback with the team for attention and improvement. I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon in the future. Kind regards Nathan, General manager

5 out of 5
3rd stay with Copthorne Tara (2 in London 1 in NZ.). Staff most helpfull as I have had a disability.and could not fault staff and service. Took ill in London and needed hospital attention quickly.otel Staff great. THANK YOU VERY MUCH KEVIN AND IEVA SAUNDERS

Posted by , from Austalia on 30 Jun. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

2 Jul. 2018 by Nathan

Dear Kevin Thank you for your review. I am glad that you were satisfied with your recent stay. I hope that you are feeling better and that you return to stay with us soon. Kind regards Nathan, General manager

About the Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Location Scarsdale Place, London, England W8 5SY

Property Features

There are 2 restaurants on site, as well as a coffee shop/café and a snack bar/deli. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. You'll find a business center on site. WiFi and wired Internet are free in public spaces. A fitness center, a terrace, and tour/ticket assistance are also featured at the business-friendly Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington. Parking is available for a fee. This 4-star London hotel is smoke free.

  • 833 guestrooms or units
  • 12 levels
  • 2 dining venues
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Deli
  • Conference center
  • Business facilities
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Terrace
  • Gift shop
  • Television in lobby
  • ATM
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Parking

Self parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: Heathrow Airport (LHR) (22.8 km / 14.2 mi)
  • Train station: Kensington (Olympia) Station (1.8 km / 1.1 mi)
  • Metro station: High Street Kensington Station (0.3 km / 0.2 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington offers 833 accommodations with coffee/tea makers and hair dryers. Flat-screen televisions come with satellite channels. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations and complimentary toiletries. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wired and wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Housekeeping is offered daily and hypo-allergenic bedding can be requested.

  • Separate bedroom
  • In-room dining (24 hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Satellite channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Coffee maker
  • Hypo-allergenic bedding
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available
  • Wheelchair accessible

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy full breakfast daily.

The Brasserie - This restaurant specializes in British cuisine and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Bugis Street - This restaurant specializes in Asian cuisine and serves lunch and dinner. Open daily.

Cafexpress - Onsite coffee shop. Open daily.

24-hour room service is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for GBP 35 per night.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Please note: The cost of an extra bed does not include breakfast.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. For guests' safety, the property includes a smoke detector, a security system, and window guards in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F.Social distancing measures are in place; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; guests are provided with hand sanitizer.Contactless check-out is available.Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast and dinner, and also through room service.Each guestroom is kept vacant for a minimum of 24 hours between bookings.

  • UnionPay
  • Staff temperature checks are not conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are not available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Security system
  • Staff do not wear personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is not available for guests
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Property does not follow sanitisation practices of any association
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually wrapped food options are available
  • Individually wrapped food options are available for breakfast
  • Individually wrapped food options are available for dinner
  • Individually wrapped food options are available through room service
  • Debit cards
  • gap period enforced between guest stays 24 hours
  • Online Penalty Collection

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for full breakfast: GBP 13.50 per person (approximately)
  • Self parking fee: GBP 29 per night
  • Early check-in fee: GBP 35.00 (subject to availability)
  • Late check-out fee: GBP 50.00 (subject to availability)
  • Rollaway bed fee: GBP 35 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Copthorne Hotel London Kensington
  • Copthorne Tara
  • Copthorne Tara Hotel
  • Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
  • Copthorne Tara London Kensington
  • Hotel Copthorne Tara
  • Hotel Copthorne Tara London Kensington
  • Hotel Tara London Kensington
  • Tara Copthorne
  • Tara Copthorne London Kensington
  • Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington England
  • Copthorne Tara Kensington
  • Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington Hotel
  • Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington London
  • Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington Hotel London

You should know

  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing http://www.wotif.com/London-Hotels-Copthorne-Tara-Hotel-London-Kensington.h26145-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /London-Hotels-Copthorne-Tara-Hotel-London-Kensington.h26145-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/London-Hotels-Copthorne-Tara-Hotel-London-Kensington.h26145-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.