Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
3.9 out of 5

"Service was excellent. Room very good and bed very comfort table. One lift wasn’t working for the whole week we stayed so long waits for lift. Execu ... " More

By a verified traveller on Mon 13 Jan 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Amba Hotel Grosvenor places you in the center of London, steps from Apollo Victoria Theatre and within a short 5-minute stroll of Victoria Palace Theatre. Highlights at this Victorian hotel include 2 restaurants and 3 bars/lounges.

Smart TVs with digital channels are featured in all 345 rooms, and you can enjoy free WiFi, espresso makers, and free bottled water. Dining in is an option with 24-hour room service, and minibars provide free refreshments. Premium linens invite a comfortable night's sleep, and you'll find nice touches like rainfall showerheads and bathrobes. Safes, hair dryers, and phones are also available.

The restaurant, The Soak, serves local and international cuisine and is open for lunch and dinner. Added amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a fitness center, and laundry facilities. Buffet breakfast is available on weekdays between 6:30 AM and 10:30 AM and on weekends between 7:00 AM and 11:00 AM.

Within a 15-minute walk of this 4-star London City Centre hotel, attractions include Buckingham Palace and Green Park.

Standard Twin Room

Bed Count 2 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
AU$237* Per night/room 1 Jan. - 2 Jan.


Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Family Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Single Room

Bed Count 1 Twin Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Executive Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Amba Hotel Grosvenor ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.9 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Amba Hotel Grosvenor

Everyone (9) Couples (1) Family (3)
5 out of 5
Service was excellent. Room very good and bed very comfort table. One lift wasn’t working for the whole week we stayed so long waits for lift. Executive club was excellent.

Posted by on 13 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Jan. 2020 by the amba hotel grosvenor

Many thanks for your rating and feedback. I apologise for the issue with our lift and hope this did not inconvenience you too much. Kind regards, Natasha

5 out of 5
Loved this place. rooms were spotless. King bed was a very large comfortable bed. Room was large in London terms. Staff very helpful especially the concierge. Excellent access to the tube as the hotel is right at Victoria Station.

Posted by on 7 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

8 Jan. 2020 by Dane - Guest Relations Manager

Dear Michelle, Thank you very much for your amazing feedback on your recent stay with us, I am glad to read that you had a wonderful time here at The Amba Hotel Grosvenor and we are really looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. I wish you a lovely day ahead. Kind Regards,

4 out of 5

Posted by on 7 Aug. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
Tired .....needs drawers in room so can’t unpack !! In an Executive King suite, ridiculous! No PowerPoint in bathroom... Old furniture in room, not as per photos on website... No porter at door, have to lift suitcases up 8 entry stairs with wife without assistance Filthy windows to a beautiful view! Rude housekeeping staff.

Posted by on 3 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 Apr. 2019 by the grosvenor

Thanks for your post which I was really disappointed to receive and I regret that your stay was not as it should be. We are currently investing in improving all aspects of our hotel and should you decide to give us another try I am confident that next time you will have a better experience. Should you have a date in mind, please do let us know beforehand so we can personally look after you. Kind regard, Natasha

3 out of 5
Nice hotel, great location foyer is suburb, breakfast 1st class. Our first 2 nights were great, really would have got a 5 star rating, however when we got back from our bus trip and stayed the third night, the receptionist said we had room 414 which is a great room to get. When then asked could you please call our airport transfer company to ask them to pick us up the next day. At this she looked very unhappy when we said our tour bus and agency said you would do this for us. After the call, she said here is your key for 266, the wing section and you just carry your bag up one set off stairs. What happened is as a result of our request we were given not just the worst room with the worse train announces for our $360 or $1000 plus for the 3 nights, we also got to carry up our own bags and made to feel like it was our fault for it. So its now 2 stars!!

Posted by , from australia on 2 Aug. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Aug. 2018 by The Grosvenor

Thanks for yourcomments. I understand that our Front of House Manager, Agnija contacted you when she received your initial feedback and I would also like to extend my apologies for the disappointment caused. The original room you were allocated is smaller than room 266 and I regret you were not happy with this room. Our hotel comprises two sections, the wing and the main section and I am sorry no-one was available to assist with your luggage on this occasion. I can assure you that we do not discriminate our guests and our team go out of their way to ensure that they are made to feel valued and welcome; I am sorry you did not think this was the case based on your second stay with us. Kind regards, Toby

1 out of 5
Over- priced, shabby, poor service, grubby, technology did not work, unfriendly and generally very unpleasant

Posted by , from Sydney on 21 Jul. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

25 Jul. 2018 by The Grosvenor

I was really dismayed to read your review Maree. We would relish the chance to show you the true Grosvenor and if you have a date in mind to return to London, please do let me know directly. Kind regards, Toby

3 out of 5

Great location, room issues

Pros: Staff and location
Cons: When making a booking you get a clear picture and understanding of the room they are booking you into.
Location: Buckingham Palace, Hyde Garden, Oxford St and major shopping outlets
Hotel location is ideally suited for access to major attractions, we were unlucky enough to have issues with our original room as well as the replacement room. I would stay here again as staff were extremely helpful and always pleasant, the issues with the room may be a result of bad luck.

Posted by , from Brisbane on 8 Jul. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Jul. 2018 by Emma

Dear Stephen Many Thanks for your feedback, I am glad that the team looked after you well during your recent visit. I am sorry to hear that you had some challenges with the room on your recent stay. I do hope to welcome you back again in the near future. With Thanks Emma

5 out of 5
Good Hotel with very friendly staff and good meals. Close to a lot of attractions. Bar is a great place to sit and have a quiet drink as you watch the world hustle by at Victoria station

Posted by on 15 Jun. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 Jun. 2018 by The Grosvenor

Thanks for your five star rating. Kind regards, Toby

5 out of 5

Beautiful hotel

Pros: The ambience of the whole place and the friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing I could see.
Location: Location was perfect right beside Victoria station and you could access Victoria station from the hotel without going outside. Very handy.
This hotel was a real surprise. A beautiful old girl. The foyer is fabulous with the big beautiful chandelier. The breakfast was lovely and the staff were very friendly and couldn't help enough especially the Irishman at reception. A lovely friendly informative man which is what you want when you're so far from home. Rooms were lovely and cosy and welcoming.

Posted by on 13 May 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 May 2018 by The Grosvenor

Thanks for your rating and feedback. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and we hope to see you back at The Grosvenor for more of the same very soon. Kind regards, Toby

4 out of 5

Great location - lovely staff

Fabulous stay, the staff were amazing, beautiful bathrooms and nicely appointed rooms. Very handy for tourists sites and the Tube. Would def stay again.

Posted by , from NZ on 19 Feb. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

21 Feb. 2018 by Emma

Dear Julia Many Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us, I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future. With Thanks Emma

Property Features

There are 2 restaurants on site. You can unwind with a drink at one of the 3 bars/lounges. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. There are 9 meeting rooms available. A fitness center, tour/ticket assistance, and concierge services are also featured at the business-friendly Amba Hotel Grosvenor. This 4-star London hotel is smoke free.

  • 345 guestrooms or units
  • 7 levels
  • 2 dining venues
  • 3 bars or lounges
  • Built in 1862
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Computer for guest use
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi


Offsite parking discounted rates available


  • Train station: London Victoria Rail Station (1.4 km / 0.9 mi)
  • Metro station: Victoria Underground Station (0.2 km / 0.1 mi)

Room Amenities

Amba Hotel Grosvenor offers 345 air-conditioned accommodations with free minibar items and laptop-compatible safes. Beds feature premium bedding. 42-inch Smart televisions come with digital channels. Bathrooms include bathtubs or showers with rainfall showerheads, bathrobes, slippers, and complimentary toiletries. This London hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include espresso makers and complimentary bottled water. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Stocked minibar (free)
  • In-room dining (24 hours)
  • Smart television
  • Digital channels
  • Espresso maker
  • Coffee maker
  • Luxury bedding
  • Bathtub or shower
  • Rainfall showerhead
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Laptop safe
  • Bathrobes
  • Slippers
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (heating)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy buffet breakfast on weekdays from 6:30 AM to 10:30 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to 11:00 AM.

The Soak - This restaurant specializes in local and international cuisine and serves lunch, dinner, and light fare. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

The Grosvenor Arms - This restaurant specializes in British cuisine and serves breakfast only. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar. Open daily.

The Tea lounge - This brasserie serves light fare only. Open select days.

24-hour room service is available.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include a fitness center.

Hotel Policies


  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18
  • Check-in time ends at 6:00 AM

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.


  • Check-out by 11:00 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome


Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. This property accepts credit cards and debit cards. Cash is not accepted. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.Disinfectant is used to clean the property.Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; guests are provided with hand sanitizer.Each guestroom is kept vacant for a minimum of 24 hours between bookings.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Debit cards
  • Staffed front desk
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wear personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is not available for guests
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually wrapped food options are not available
  • gap period enforced between guest stays 24 hours
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures


Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for buffet breakfast: GBP 15.00 per person (approximately)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Grosvenor Hotel
  • Grosvenor Hotel London
  • Grosvenor London
  • The Grosvenor Hotel London, England
  • The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
  • Thistle Victoria
  • Grosvenor
  • The Grosvenor Hotel
  • Amba Hotel Grosvenor Hotel
  • Amba Hotel Grosvenor London
  • Amba Hotel Grosvenor Hotel London

You should know

  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing
There was an error importing /London-Hotels-Amba-Hotel-Grosvenor.h10939-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.