4.7 out of 5

"very pleasant staff, very close to great facilities, movies, restaurants, train station and supermarket, missed out on a parking spot though, there ar ... " More

By a verified traveller on Sun 19 Aug 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

A luxury stay in South Yarra awaits you at Art Series - The Olsen. You'll be 2.5 km (1.6 mi) from Royal Botanic Gardens and 2.9 km (1.8 mi) from Rod Laver Arena. Highlights at this boutique aparthotel include 2 restaurants, and in-room kitchenettes and LCD TVs.

Each apartment is soundproofed and features an iPod dock, a living room, and a dining area. A kitchenette comes with a fridge, a microwave, and a hob, making in-room dining convenient, and the minibar provides refreshments. Nice touches to enhance your stay include a rainfall showerhead and bathrobes, while a pillowtop bed and a pillow menu invite a good night's rest. 24-hour room service, WiFi, and cable TV are also available.

A day of pampering can include deep-tissue massages, hot stone massages, and detox wraps along with aromatherapy and hydrotherapy. The restaurant, Spoonbill Restauarant, serves local cuisine and is open for breakfast, brunch, lunch, and dinner. At the aparthotel's own bar/lounge, you can stop for a drink. Enjoy the indoor swimming pool, health club, and pool loungers as well as access to bike rentals. 40 square feet (4 square metres) of event facilities include conference rooms, and other business amenities include a business centre and limo/town car service. Added amenities include free WiFi in public areas and laundry facilities. Cooked-to-order breakfast is available on weekdays between 6:30 AM and 11 AM and on weekends between 7 AM and 11:30 AM. There's also valet parking, along with the convenience of a free area shuttle.

Within a 30-minute walk of this 5-star South Yarra aparthotel, attractions include Alfred Hospital and St Kilda Road.

Studio Suite, 1 Queen Bed

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
AU$160 per night

Deluxe Studio Suite, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Studio Suite, Balcony

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Lake Eyre Penthouse

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Deluxe Two Bedroom Balcony Suite

Bed Count 2 King Beds Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

John Olsen Penthouse

Bed Count 2 King Beds Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Art Series - The Olsen ratings based on 1,038 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.7 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Art Series - The Olsen

Everyone (500) Couples (441) Business (4) Family (95) Other (2)
4 out of 5
I always stay here on my Melbourne visits. I always enjoy it

Posted by on 15 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Posted by on 13 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
I had not come across this group of hotels before. This first experience was enough to want me to seek out the group for future accommodation needs. The room was good (bathroom was a little musty...). The reception staff were great. The 'Spoonbill' restaurant was fabulous, staff and food.

Posted by on 13 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Apr. 2019 by Nick Gouin - GM

Thank you for the five stars. We are glad that your first experience was a memorable one and we hope that you will not be a stranger to Art Series Hotels. Thank you for making mention of the team, we will be sure to share this review with all of our staff.

5 out of 5

Posted by on 6 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Apr. 2019 by Nick Gouin - GM

Thank you for the 5 stars! We hope to see you again soon.

4 out of 5
The bedding is so comfortable No power point on my side of the bed - meaning l couldnt charge my phone (l listen to music when l sleep so need phone close by

Posted by on 29 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

3 Apr. 2019 by Nick Gouin - GM

Thank you for staying with us. As a fellow listener of music at bed time, I certainly appreciate where you are coming from. I will investigate this and take action where possible. I hope we can welcome you again soon.

5 out of 5

Posted by on 22 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

3 Apr. 2019 by Nick Gouin - GM

Thank you for the five stars

4 out of 5
Room and facilities were great. Only point we noted was that the edges around the pool were looking a bit tired /worn and our kids ended up with a few scratches from getting in and out of the water. Other than that we were very happy with our stay

Posted by on 11 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Mar. 2019 by Nick Gouin - GM

Thank for the positive score and constructive feedback about the pool. We hope to welcome you back soon.

2 out of 5
The room was very small. The bathroom is behind the bed so if using the bathroom, you wake up the person if they are sleeping. The tv is on an angle. The roomset up is really poor. No thought went in to it. Windows look in to everyone else's room.

Posted by on 10 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

16 Mar. 2019 by Nick Gouin - GM

Thank you for your feedback regarding the layout of the room you had. We have a variety of different suites, all with varying layouts and views. Our team are on hand 24 hours a day and we always recommend speaking with a team member if you have any questions or concerns. We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you in the future.

4 out of 5
Loved the pool on level 1 overlooking Chapel St. The shower in the room was awesome too.

Posted by on 8 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

8 Mar. 2019 by Nick Gouin - GM

Thank you for staying with us, it is nice to know you had an enjoyable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

3 out of 5
We have stayed at the Olsen a number of times and have always been happy there. However, we were underwhelmed this stay. We arrived with a hire car and our 6 week old. There was no offer to help with our bags from the car or to our room. So we juggled the baby and all of the luggage that comes with a baby. Parking options were not explained so we said to valet our car, because we were hot and bothered by this stage. Made it to our room and it was very hot. It was a hit weekend (38 degrees) but we booked a good hotel purposefully because we wanted to be comfortable travelling with the baby. Called maintenance who said the aircon was working fine, it was just struggling in the heat. We had a room thermometer because we always like to have the room around 20 degrees for our babies and it was sitting at 28 degrees. The next day we called about the heat again, the next person to come said it was in fact too hot in the room and offered to move us. But in the haste of going to a wedding we didn’t have time to pack everything up. We asked for the car to be brought around, it took almost 20 minutes because the front desk was understaffed. Instead of being apologetic, the staff member was bordering on rude when I asked how long it would be. The gym was dirty and there was a bit of chewing gum in the cup holder of the treadmill. There was also a conference in the room next to the gym with only partly frosted glass separating the two. Positives are location, room size, amenities.

Posted by on 7 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

23 Mar. 2019 by Nick Gouin - GM

Thank you for your feedback. I'm very sorry, but my initial response to this review was rejected because I had placed my email address for you to reach me. This experience is certainly not good enough and I would encourage you to contact me at the hotel so we can discuss in more detail.

Property Features

Art Series - The Olsen offers its guests an indoor pool and a health club. There are 2 restaurants on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. A business centre, a limo/town car service, and a meeting room are available. Event space at this aparthotel measures 40 square feet (4 square metres) and includes conference rooms. Spa services, a library, and tour or ticket assistance are also featured at the luxury Art Series - The Olsen. A free area shuttle within 5 km is available. For a fee, parking is available. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 5-star South Yarra aparthotel.

  • 1 building
  • 222 guestrooms or units
  • 16 levels
  • 2 dining venues
  • 40 sq ft of conference space
  • 4 sq. m of conference space
  • Built in 2010
  • Bar or lounge
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Business facilities
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Staff members are multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Car service
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Library
  • Beauty salon
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Bellhop
  • Lift
  • Smoking in designated areas

Internet

Available in all rooms: WiFi (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Self parking (surcharge) , Valet parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: Melbourne, VIC (MEL-Tullamarine) (33.9 km / 21.1 mi)
  • Train station: Flinders Street Station (4.1 km / 2.5 mi)
  • Metro station: South Yarra Station (0.5 km / 0.3 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Free area shuttle within 5 km
  • Parking: Valet parking and self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Art Series - The Olsen offers 222 forms of air-conditioned accommodation with iPod docking stations and minibars. This accommodation offers separate living rooms. Beds feature pillowtop mattresses. A pillow menu is available. 42-inch LCD televisions come with premium cable channels and pay-per-view films. Accommodation at this 5-star aparthotel has kitchenettes with fridges, hobs, microwaves and separate dining areas. Bathrooms include a shower with a rainfall showerhead, a complimentary bathrobe, complimentary slippers and designer toiletries. In-room wireless Internet access is available for a surcharge. Business-friendly amenities include desks, complimentary newspapers and telephones. Additionally, rooms include espresso makers and a safe. In-room massages and hypo-allergenic bedding can be requested. Housekeeping is provided on a daily basis.

  • In-room kitchenette
  • Dining room
  • Living room
  • Pillowtop beds
  • Minibar
  • iPod dock
  • In-room dining (24 hours)
  • HD television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Films for purchase
  • Fridge
  • Microwave
  • Hob
  • Dishwasher
  • Espresso maker
  • Kitchenware
  • Hypo-allergenic bedding
  • Pillow options
  • Shower
  • Rainfall showerhead
  • Cribs (surcharge)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Massage in room (surcharge)
  • Hairdryer
  • Safe
  • Bathrobes
  • Slippers
  • Designer toiletries
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Sound-insulated rooms
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy cooked-to-order breakfast on weekdays from 6:30 AM to 11 AM and at the weekend from 7 AM to 11:30 AM.

Spoonbill Restauarant – This restaurant specialises in local cuisine and serves breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner. Guests can order drinks at the bar and enjoy al fresco dining (weather permitting). Happy hour is offered.

Steer Bar and Grill – This restaurant specialises in local cuisine and serves lunch and dinner. Guests can order drinks at the bar and enjoy al fresco dining (weather permitting). Happy hour is offered.

Late-night fare is available from 24-hour room service.

Spa Services

  • Couples treatment rooms
  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Body wraps
  • Body treatments
  • Body scrubs
  • Facial treatments
  • Aromatherapy treatments
  • Hydrotherapy treatments
  • Hot stone massage
  • Deep tissue massage
  • Thai massage
  • Sports massage
  • Detoxification wrap
  • Massages

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for AUD 70.0 per night.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for AUD 10.0 per night.

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Additional policies and fees may apply when booking 10 or more rooms. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. Special cancellation policies or charges may apply for group reservations (more than 8 rooms for the same property/stay dates).

  • Parking height restrictions apply

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between AUD 8 and AUD 32 per person (approximately)
  • Fee for in-room wireless Internet: AUD 0 per night (rates may vary)
  • Self-parking fee: AUD 32.00 per night (in/out privileges)
  • Valet parking fee: AUD 40.00 per night (in/out privileges)
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: AUD 10.0 per night
  • Rollaway bed fee: AUD 70.0 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Art Series Olsen Apartment South Yarra
  • Art Series Olsen Apartment
  • Art Series Olsen South Yarra
  • Art Series Olsen
  • Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne
  • Art Series Olsen Aparthotel South Yarra
  • Art Series Olsen Aparthotel
  • Art Series The Olsen

You should know

  • Please note that this property can refuse certain bookings for the purpose of group events or parties, which include pre-wedding stag/bachelor and hen/bachelorette parties.
  • Reservations are needed for massage services and spa treatments. For reservations, contact the aparthotel before arrival using the contact information on the booking confirmation.