Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"There was minimal crockery, no wines glasses. Breakfast was included and it was also very minimal. Room was musty. They had double booked the firs ... " More

By a verified traveller on Mon 24 Feb 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At North Ryde Guest House you'll be within a 20-minute walk of Macquarie Shopping Centre and 2.5 km (1.5 mi) from Macquarie University. Highlights at this guest house include in-room free WiFi and LCD TVs.

All 6 rooms feature sitting areas, digital TV, and DVD players. In-room dining is easy with amenities like refrigerators, microwaves, and room service. Pillowtop beds and premium bedding invite a comfortable night's sleep, and you'll find nice touches like soaking tubs and bathrobes. Separate bathtubs and showers, coffee/tea makers, and rice cookers are also available.

The guest house's own bar/lounge is a nice place to enjoy a drink. Additionally, you'll find free WiFi in public areas, a snack bar/deli, and coffee/tea in a common area. There's also the convenience of free valet parking.

Within a 15-minute drive of this 3-star North Ryde guest house, attractions include Royal North Shore Hospital and Mater Hospital.

Standard Double Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
AU$58* Per night/room 22 Oct. - 23 Oct.

Deluxe Double Room with Shared Bathroom

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Deluxe Twin Room

Bed Count 2 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Deluxe Double Room with Private Bathroom

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Superior Double Room with Private Bathroom

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

North Ryde Guest House ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.5 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for North Ryde Guest House

Everyone (59) Couples (7) Business (3) Family (6)
2 out of 5
I have stayed at the guesthouse now for 6 consecutive weeks. I booked and paid for as per usual a double/ queen bed room as advertised. Unfortunately, I ended up in a room with a single bed that I was too tall for and which has metal legs on a tiled floor. Every time I sat on it or rolled over the bed scooted across the tiles (suggest putting carpet underneath it). Secondly, the room faces out onto Epping Road. All night you hear the trucks rushing past. Not a restful sleep at all. I understand that bookings can be mixed up occasionally, however, after a 3 hour commute to Sydney, all I need is a quiet room with a decent bed.

Posted by , from NSW on 9 Sep. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 Sep. 2020 by Manager

We are so sorry you were unhappy. Thank you so much to letting me know about the suggestion. We do hard for your experience. We promise that it won't happen again.

5 out of 5

Posted by on 16 Aug. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5
I didn’t like anything about the property, it was very misleading on the internet and my booking was confirmed and paid for a queen bedroom but on arrival when it was too late for me to cancel and get a refund, the owner said that there had been a booking mistake in their computer and the queen room was no longer available. It was very poorly handled and as a cancer patient I was very upset with how the whole booking was handled. My husband and I had to book another accomodation and pay once again.

Posted by , from ACT on 4 Mar. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Mar. 2020 by Manager

We have a light problem in the room with a double bed (not a queen bed) which you had booked. That is why we have to changed you to a deluxe twin room which the room is bigger, comfortable and the price is $10 more than the double room but we're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

3 out of 5
There was minimal crockery, no wines glasses. Breakfast was included and it was also very minimal. Room was musty. They had double booked the first night but did not contact us prior to let us know. We were told when we arrived. They did put us up in an alternate hotel which was very ordinary. It would have been nice to have had the choice and to have been notified.

Posted by , from Brisbane on 24 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

24 Feb. 2020 by Manager

We're sorry about it - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

4 out of 5
A well maintained clean comfortable property. Well located and an excellent price. Comfortable beds in quiet rooms with breakfast provided in the common kitchen area. Easy booking, good but unobtrusive follow up communication for check in and check out.Recommended.

Posted by on 21 Nov. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Posted by on 19 Nov. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5
Not only the property being isolated from the shops/market/restarunats etc, there is not even a soucer pan provided in the kitchen. Least there could be basic utensils !! Overall a very forgetable experince. Be cautious and do your research.

Posted by on 15 Nov. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 Nov. 2019 by Manager

Hi Anonymous, We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. Remember you can always free to contact our reception if you have any issues during your stay. Our reception open from 8am to 9pm.

3 out of 5

Posted by on 7 Oct. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
I never saw the host at all. If you want a good night's sleep, stay somewhere else. Clean and tidy.

Posted by on 16 Aug. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

16 Aug. 2019 by Manager

We’re sorry you were unhappy, we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. Just letting you know you can always push the bill on the computer desk in our reception if you have any issues. Our staff work from 8am to 10pm.

4 out of 5
Lovely little guest house. Clean comfortable rooms. Centrally located to shops & public transport. Very pleasant owners.

Posted by on 13 Aug. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?

About the North Ryde Guest House

Location 22 David Avenue, North Ryde, NSW 2113

Property Features

There's a snack bar/deli on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. A computer station is on site, and both WiFi and wired Internet are free in public spaces. The business-friendly North Ryde Guest House also features a garden, coffee/tea in a common area, and complimentary newspapers in the lobby. Self parking and valet parking are free. This 3-star Sydney guesthouse is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 6 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • Bar or lounge
  • Deli
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Self-service laundry
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Garden
  • Computer for guest use
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Television in lobby
  • No smoking on site

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Parking

Free self parking , Free valet parking

Transport

  • Airport: Kingsford Smith Intl. Airport (SYD) (33 km / 20.5 mi)
  • Train station: Macquarie University Station (2.2 km / 1.3 mi)
  • Parking: Free valet parking and self parking

Room Amenities

North Ryde Guest House offers 6 air-conditioned accommodations with DVD players and complimentary bottled water. Accommodations offer separate sitting areas. Pillowtop beds feature premium bedding. LCD televisions come with premium digital channels. Guests can make use of the in-room refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee/tea makers. Bathrooms include separate bathtubs and showers with deep soaking bathtubs, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and complimentary weekday newspapers; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include rice cookers and shared/communal kitchens. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Communal kitchen access
  • Sitting area
  • Pillowtop beds
  • Deep soaking tub
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • LCD television
  • Digital channels
  • Premium channels
  • DVD player
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Dishwasher
  • Rice cooker
  • Coffee maker
  • Kitchenware
  • Luxury bedding
  • Separate shower and tub
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Weekday newspapers (free)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Bathrobes
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18
  • Check-in time ends at 11:00 PM

Special check-in instructions:

There is no front desk at this property.

This property does not have a front desk.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children 10 and younger are not allowed at this property. All guests older than 10 are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for AUD 15.00 per night.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • Debit cards not accepted

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Rollaway bed fee: AUD 15.00 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • North Ryde Guest House
  • North Ryde Guest House Guesthouse
  • Ryde Guest House Guesthouse
  • North Ryde North Ryde
  • North Ryde Guest House Guesthouse
  • North Ryde Guest House North Ryde
  • North Ryde Guest House Guesthouse North Ryde

You should know

  • Children 10 years old and younger aren't allowed at this property.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing http://www.wotif.com/Sydney-Hotels-North-Ryde-Guest-House.h7616830-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Sydney-Hotels-North-Ryde-Guest-House.h7616830-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/Sydney-Hotels-North-Ryde-Guest-House.h7616830-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.