Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
3.7 out of 5

"Close to everything in town " More

By a verified traveller on Sun 01 Aug 2021

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Rydges Geelong puts you in the heart of Geelong, within just a 10-minute stroll of Geelong Performing Arts Center and Kardinia Park. Highlights at this hotel include a restaurant, an outdoor swimming pool, and a bar/lounge.

Flat-screen TVs with digital channels are featured in all 138 rooms, and you can enjoy free WiFi, coffee/tea makers, and hair dryers. Refrigerators and room service make in-room dining easy, and minibars provide refreshments. Nice touches to enhance your stay include free toiletries and premium bedding. Phones, irons/ironing boards, and desks are also available.

Nautica Pool Bar/Kitchen serves local and international cuisine and is open for dinner. Enjoy the fitness center, spa tub, and kids' swimming pool. Added amenities include laundry facilities, a 24-hour front desk, and dry cleaning/laundry services. Cooked-to-order breakfast is available on weekdays between 6:30 AM and 9:30 AM and on weekends between 7:00 AM and 10:00 AM. There's also the convenience of self parking.

Places within a 15-minute walk of this 4-star Geelong hotel include Westfield Geelong and Deakin University.

Superior Twin Room

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
AU$131* Per night/room 29 Sep. - 30 Sep.

Superior Queen Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Family Room

Bed Count 2 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

One Bedroom Apartment

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Bay View King Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Bay View Twin room

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Rydges Geelong ratings based on 505 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.7 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Rydges Geelong

Everyone (323) Couples (50) Family (102)
5 out of 5
Close to everything in town

Posted by on 1 Aug. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Aug. 2021 by Robyn

Hi Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review! Regards Robyn

5 out of 5
A good experience, restaurant and staff were excellent, good bed linen, bed very comfy, our room carpet looking a bit tired with some nasty looking marks, very old television not tuned properly, some cleaning issues but overall would stay again.

Posted by on 16 Jul. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Aug. 2021 by Rydges Geelong

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your valuable and constructive comments regarding your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologise for the room issues you encountered during your stay with us. We are currently in the process of painting our rooms and putting in new carpet. We hope to see you in the near future again with some new updates and fresh changes to the hotel. Rydges Geelong

4 out of 5

Posted by on 11 Jul. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Aug. 2021 by Robyn

Hi Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review! Regards Robyn

5 out of 5
Always stay at the Rydges in Geelong because of price and location. Stay with two small children and found the room very comfortable and cosy. We loved breakfast.

Posted by on 8 Jul. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Aug. 2021 by Robyn

Dear Anonymous, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review! We are all so thrilled that you had a wonderful stay! I will pass on your kind words to the staff. Regards Robyn

3 out of 5
Very good location in the middle of everywhere. Nice friendly reception desk staff but terrible house keeping, no cleaning services.

Posted by on 7 Jul. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

10 Aug. 2021 by Rydges Geelong

Hi Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I am happy to hear your stay was good, but marred by the housekeeping service, I assure you that this will be followed up on. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Rydges Geelong

1 out of 5
Rydges hotel Geelong ..A lot Mould on ceiling in bathroom and all through the silicone , room smelt terrible, bedding smelt disgusting! rude staff! Contacted the staff at the time of stay, they done nothing not even a sorry! Emailed hotel to discuss issues before making a review with no reply from hotel at all ! I paid $279 for the night plus $20 for “secure” parking that had its gates left up all day for anyone to access! Honestly don’t waste your money, Stay else where !

Posted by on 4 Jul. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
All good for a mid range hotel,

Posted by on 2 Jul. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Aug. 2021 by Rydges Geelong

Hello Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges Geelong after your visit. We are currently in the process of painting our rooms and putting in new carpet. I do hope we will see you again next time you visit Geelong. Rydges Geelong

3 out of 5
For one night only, this hotel did the job, reasonably priced, nice bay view from the room, friendly staff. We had a choice for a bathroom with a bath or a walk in shower, decided on a bath and regretted after, it was very small and outdated, I would not put my 5 y/o in there. We struggled to find a spare power point to use a kettle and a lamp on a bed side table didn’t work. On the other side, the beds were very comfy, we had 2 queen size beds, perfect for our family. If you are planning to stay in Geelong for an extended period of time, would recommend to look for another place, especially if you are traveling with kids.

Posted by on 1 Jul. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Posted by on 30 Jun. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
Disappointing, Air control was broken so the room was stuffy and uncomfortable. Tiny shower with a shower curtain and bathroom flooded when you showered. Noise from neighbouring rooms and rooms above you was annoying and made it hard to sleep. We weren’t warned to keep out key cards away from our phones so when we got up to our room they wouldn’t work. When we went back down to reception the the staff seemed annoyed that they had to fix it after failing to tell us as we had never had that problem at any other hotel. And to top it off had no other choice for parking but to be sprung with $20 parking which isn’t undercover or anything special so your car isn’t protected at all. 10/10 won’t be returning. For $180 a night we would rather had stayed at a caravan park at least there isn’t any expectations of a luxury stay.

Posted by on 29 Jun. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?

Property Features

Rydges Geelong offers its guests an outdoor pool, a children's pool, a spa tub, and a fitness center. There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. The business-friendly Rydges Geelong also features multilingual staff, laundry facilities, and dry cleaning/laundry services. Limited parking is available for a fee and is offered on a first-come, first-served basis. This 4-star Geelong hotel is smoke free.

  • 138 guestrooms or units
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Wedding services available
  • Television in lobby
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Outdoor pool
  • Children's pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Parking

Self parking (surcharge) , Parking (limited spaces)

Transport

  • Train station: South Geelong Station (1.2 km / 0.8 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Rydges Geelong offers 138 accommodations with minibars and coffee/tea makers. Beds feature premium bedding. Flat-screen televisions come with premium digital channels. Bathrooms include bathtubs or showers, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and blackout drapes/curtains. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Minibar
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Digital channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Coffee maker
  • Luxury bedding
  • Bathtub or shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available
  • Wheelchair accessible

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy cooked-to-order breakfast on weekdays from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.

Nautica Pool Bar/Kitchen - This bar specializes in local and international cuisine and serves dinner only. A children's menu is available. Happy hour is offered. Reservations are required.

Nautica Pool Bar/Kitchen - This restaurant serves breakfast and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar. Reservations are required. Open select days.

Late night fare is available from room service (during limited hours).

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18
  • Check-in time ends at 12:30 AM

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-in is 4 PM from September 17-October 2, 2021 and December 17, 2021-February 1, 2022.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for AUD 50 per night.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Diners Club, JCB International, and Eurocard. Cash is not accepted. For guests' safety, the property includes a smoke detector in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property and commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays. Social distancing measures are in place; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests; guests are provided with hand sanitizer.

  • Number of children who can stay for free – 2
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Staffed front desk
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff do not wear personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is not available for guests
  • No shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually wrapped food options are not available
  • No gap period between guests' stays
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between AUD 15 and AUD 50 for adults, AUD 1 and AUD 50 for children (approximately)
  • Self parking fee: AUD 20.00 per night (in/out privileges)
  • Late check-out is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)
  • Rollaway bed fee: AUD 50 per night
  • Credit card charges are subject to a surcharge of 1.08 percent

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Geelong Mercure Hotel
  • Mercure Geelong
  • Rydges Geelong Hotel
  • Accor Geelong
  • Mercure Geelong Hotel Geelong
  • Rydges Geelong Hotel
  • Rydges Geelong Geelong
  • Rydges Geelong Hotel Geelong

You should know

  • Pool access available from 7:00 AM to 9:00 PM.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing http://www.wotif.com/Geelong-Hotels-Rydges-Geelong.h483016-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Geelong-Hotels-Rydges-Geelong.h483016-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/Geelong-Hotels-Rydges-Geelong.h483016-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently asked questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.