Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
3.9 out of 5

"Close to Roma St Station Short walk to city centre The double bed was actually two singles pushed together which made it a bit uncumfy Room was cle ... " More

By a verified traveller on Wed 03 Aug 2016

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At Base Brisbane Uptown Backpackers you'll be within just a 10-minute stroll of popular attractions like Queen Street Mall and Roma Street Parkland. Highlights at this hostel include a restaurant and in-room LCD TVs.

WiFi and safes are featured in all 49 soundproofed rooms.

For a drink, you can stop by the hostel's own lounge bar. Added amenities include WiFi in public areas, a coffee shop/café, and laundry facilities. There's also self parking, along with the convenience of an airport shuttle.

Attractions within a 15-minute walk of this Brisbane Central Business District hostel include Treasury Casino and South Bank Parklands.

6 Bed Dorm - Mixed

Bed Count room.options.bedSize.BunkBed.Singular Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

4 Bed Dorm - Mixed

Bed Count room.options.bedSize.BunkBed.Singular Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Twin Private Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Double Private Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

14 Bed Dorm - Mixed

Bed Count room.options.bedSize.BunkBed.Singular Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

10 Bed Dorm - Mixed

Bed Count room.options.bedSize.BunkBed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Base Brisbane Uptown Backpackers ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.9 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 2.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Base Brisbane Uptown Backpackers

Everyone (28) Couples (5) Family (1)
1 out of 5
Noisy pub on ground floor but windows were double glazed so not an issue. Close to the station- 2 minute walk. One other good point was that reception was open 6am to 12 midnight. Coffee and tea facilities were available in the room. I had a double room, (2 single beds) with its own bathroom but the following points were disappointing: Room didn't look as good as the picture in the ad! Blind was broken; bedside light didn't work; Bathroom smelled like there was a broken sewer pipe; bathroom door could only be closed from the inside so I couldn't close the door to stop the smell seeping into the bedroom. I asked if there was an alternative room but everything was booked. Staff apologised and said they would get their manager to look at fixing the issues. I wouldn't stay again.

Posted by on 17 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 Mar. 2019 by Base Crew

Hello, Thank you for leaving us a review! We apologize for any inconvenience you had whilst you were with us. We've investigated the issues you've listed. We hope you do come back and try us again! Base Crew <3

2 out of 5

Posted by on 16 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Great location next to Roma St station

Pros: Convenient location Clean
Close to Roma St Station Short walk to city centre The double bed was actually two singles pushed together which made it a bit uncumfy Room was clean and neat Though it was overpriced for a backpackers though

Posted by on 3 Aug. 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

Cool for shorter stays and sightseeing

Pros: If you get into a good room you will have amazing company! So the social I guess. Bed is cool enough, soft and nice.
Cons: Clean bathroom more often or just check for toiletpaper. Stop waking people up who want to sleep in with your radio broadcast. The aircon was freezing
Location: Walking distance 3 min to Roma Street station, close to Night Owl 24/7 store, Subway, Japanese food place (5/5) and 15 minutes walk to queens street
Well the room was not as clean as I expected but still decent enough. It is my first time staying at a backpacker hostel so it was quite an experience. I guess the cleanliness can be excused depending on the people staying in the room. The shared bathroom though didn't make me feel very comfortable. Only one shower worked and quite often it was out of toilet paper. The people in my room were all really nice and cool though so the entire experience became just better with the company. Despite living close to city the noise from the street was unheard of. Loved the free rice and pasta however the kitchen wasn't very clean and only some of the stoves were working. It took me really long to realise you had to get plates and tableware from the reception so I ate my food with chopsticks I got from eating sushi out. The place is full with posters with information which is easily overlooked. Was amazed by the 24 hour reception! Don't consider sleeping in the reception will not allow it, nor will the clean up team! They come in and make noise not taking any consideration toward the people sleeping. The staff was chill but when the room was freezing, no one knew how to turn off the air condition. Also a tip from my room mates if you want internet it is not worth buying the cheap slow one, because IT IS SLOW buy the expensive one week it will be worth it! Would recommend it for shorter stays and to meet other people! Not for anything more than 2-3 days.

Posted by , from Copenhagen on 31 Oct. 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5

Close to city, but interior of hotel looks rough.

Kettle in room looks like it hadn't been cleaned ever! The fan switch for the bathroom was missing, and I was concerned of getting an electric shock if I tried to turn it on.

Posted by , from melbourne on 9 Apr. 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff rude and unhelpful. Bed uncomfortable in private room
Facilities: Nothing special; Service: Rude; Cleanliness: Clean; Reception can be heard over speakers swearing. Go somewhere else

Posted by , from Australia - NSW - Sydney on 21 Feb. 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Pros: Great staff
Cons: Can't think of one
The're is a great pub downstairs with many evening events

Posted by on 17 Oct. 2014

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Pros: Close to Roma St station
Cons: TV remote did not work and TV high on wall/toilet roll holder did not dispense paper easily
Location: Great proximity to Roma s
Facilities: Tired; Value: Economical; Service: Helpful; Ok for the price...

Posted by , from Australia - QLD - Regional QLD on 11 Oct. 2014

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Pros: Friendly reception
Cons: Elevators broken
Location: Perfect
Facilities: Nothing special; Value: Economical; Service: Basic; Cleanliness: Hygienic ; I didnt receive my shampoo, conditioning and bath soap

Posted by , from Brazil on 7 Sep. 2014

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Pros: Close to transport
Cons: Peeling paint on hallway, door plus room could do with a coat of paint
Location: Close to everything
Facilities: Basic; Value: Affordable; Service: Outstanding; Cleanliness: Pleasant;

Posted by , from Australia - QLD - Regional QLD on 28 Aug. 2014

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Base Brisbane Uptown Backpackers

Location 466 George Street, 466, Brisbane, QLD 4000

Property Features

Along with a restaurant, there's a coffee shop/café on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. WiFi is available in public spaces for a fee. Base Brisbane Uptown Backpackers also features tour/ticket assistance, laundry facilities, and dry cleaning/laundry services. For a fee, parking is available. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this Brisbane hostel.

  • 49 guestrooms or units
  • 4 levels
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Television in lobby
  • ATM
  • Elevator
  • Smoking in designated areas
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Dining venue


Available in all rooms: WiFi (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: WiFi (surcharge)


Self parking (surcharge)


  • Train station: Brisbane Roma Street Station (1 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Airport shuttle
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Base Brisbane Uptown Backpackers offers 49 air-conditioned accommodations with safes. LCD televisions are featured in guestrooms. Bathrooms include showers. This Brisbane hostel provides wireless Internet access for a surcharge. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • LCD television
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Safe
  • Sound-insulated rooms
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Base Brisbane Uptown Backpackers has a restaurant on site.

Hotel Policies


  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18
  • Check-in time ends at midnight

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.


  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children younger than 18 are not allowed at this adults-only property. All guests 18 and older are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed


Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, and American Express. Cash is not accepted. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Personal protective equipment, including masks and gloves, will be available to guests. Social distancing measures are in place; guests are provided with hand sanitizer; cashless payment methods are available for all transactions. Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cots (infant beds) available
  • Minimum guest age is 18
  • Caters to adults only
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Staffed front desk
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff do not wear personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is available for guests
  • Masks are available for guests
  • Gloves are available for guests
  • No shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually wrapped food options are not available
  • No gap period between guests' stays
  • Staff temperature checks are not conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are not available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property does not follow sanitisation practices of any association
  • Guest accommodation is not sealed after cleaning
  • Electrostatic spray is not used for disinfection
  • Cashless transactions are available
  • Masks are not compulsory at the property
  • Contactless food service / room service is not available
  • Reservation is not required for facilities on site
  • Mobile key entry is not available
  • Food service not has not been amended for enhanced safety


Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: AUD 20 per stay

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for in-room wireless Internet: AUD 4 (rates may vary)
  • Fee for wireless Internet in public areas: AUD 4 (rates may vary)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Base Brisbane Tinbilly
  • Base Brisbane Uptown
  • Base Backpackers Brisbane Uptown Hostel
  • Base Brisbane Uptown Tinbilly Backpacker
  • Base Uptown Tinbilly Backpacker
  • Base Uptown Tinbilly Backpacker Hostel
  • Base Uptown Tinbilly Backpacker Hostel Brisbane
  • Brisbane Base Uptown
  • Brisbane Tinbilly
  • Tinbilly Brisbane
  • Base Backpackers Uptown Hostel
  • Base Backpackers Brisbane Uptown
  • Base Backpackers Uptown
  • Base Brisbane Uptown (Tinbilly) Hostel
  • Base Brisbane Uptown (Tinbilly) Backpacker
  • Base Backpackers Uptown Hoste
  • Base Backpackers Brisbane Uptown Hostel
  • Base Brisbane Uptown Backpackers Brisbane
  • Base Brisbane Uptown Backpackers Hostel/Backpacker accommodation

You should know

  • This is an adults-only property and guests under 18 years old aren't allowed.
  • Certain facilities might have restricted access. For details, you can contact the property at the number on the booking confirmation.
  • Alcohol isn't allowed at Base Brisbane Uptown Backpackers.
url importing
There was an error importing /Brisbane-Hotels-Base-Brisbane-Uptown-Backpackers.h5947534-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301

Frequently asked questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.