Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"Great location, great value. " More

By a verified traveller on Tue 31 Aug 2021

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Lake Central puts you in the heart of Cairns, within steps of Jute Theatre and Center of Contemporary Arts. Highlights at this motel include a restaurant, an outdoor swimming pool, and in-room kitchenettes.

You can enjoy LCD TVs, coffee/tea makers, and ceiling fans, featured in all 29 rooms. Kitchenettes come with refrigerators and microwaves, making in-room dining convenient. Rainfall showerheads and wardrobes or closets are also available. Housekeeping is not available.

The motel's own lounge bar is a nice place to enjoy a drink. Additionally, you'll find free WiFi in public areas and laundry facilities.

Places within a 5-minute walk of this 3-star Cairns Central Business District motel include The Cultural Place and Cairns Performing Arts Centre.

Standard Apartment

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max
AU$112* Per night/room 22 Oct. - 23 Oct.

Family Apartment, 1 Bedroom

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Family Apartment, 2 Bedrooms

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 7 Max

Apartment, 1 Bedroom

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Studio

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Lake Central ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
2.8 out of 5 3.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Lake Central

Everyone (22) Couples (1) Students (1) Family (5)
4 out of 5
Great location, great value.

Posted by on 31 Aug. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Affordable accommodation for our large family, conveniently close to town center.

Posted by on 25 Aug. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5

Posted by on 17 Jun. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
The size of the rooms were excellent with 2 large spaces to relax. The rooms were every clean and quiet. The pool operating hour could be extented at night please just for 1 more hour to have a swim after dinner in your excellent new par and restaurant. A small curtain on top of the air-conditioning unit would be good as you can't shut the curtain all the way and the security light came in on the bottom floor but not to big of a deal. We loved owe stay and will come again thanks louise

Posted by on 28 Mar. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
I was on a budget when I booked this hotel and was worried that the room would be awful turns out my fears were not warranted as my family and I had a wonderful time staying here, kids loved the pool which is where we spent most of our time even in the pouring rain, the rooms themselves were nice but basic as you would expect in a budget hotel my only issues were the ceiling fan in the lounge room which was useless (could be fixed by adding a pedestal fan to the room) and the lack of power points to plug phones etc in to charge, there was only 1 spare outlet in the lounge room and none in the bedroom, the complex was very secure and although there was a threat of Cyclone we felt very safe, I would definitely recommend staying here for a budget traveller

Posted by on 22 Jan. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

23 Jan. 2021 by Lake Central Cairns Hotel

We're glad you had a great time staying with us, your review is very much appreciated! thank you!

5 out of 5
My family and i were made to feel so welcome from the first moment we arrived. We loved our stay and will stay again next time we visit Cairns.

Posted by on 9 Nov. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 Nov. 2019 by maria

Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write a review. So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon. Maria

1 out of 5
I liked the location. I did not like the condition of the room. Beds poor. Fridge needed de frosting, curtains poor, lack of power points, no cooking facilities, laundry dirty, poor access after hours, on third floor with person in wheel chair, no privacy in room. The only positive was the kind person on reception. Loud and obnoxious guests partying till very late in the next morning.

Posted by on 5 Aug. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5
Policies that were unspecified in terms and conditions which left us with nowhere to stay for the night. The money was also non-refundable, meaning with lost money.

Posted by on 30 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5
False advertising with the wifi. The condition of the room and the cost. I paid $180 for a room that I didn’t even sleep in because I was so disappointed of the quality and condition of the room. I paid an extra $20 more at Redges because I needed the wifi for my work and the quality of the room was clean and did not smell. I will never go back to this hotel.

Posted by on 4 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

8 Mar. 2019 by Front Office

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to write a review. We do offer free Wifi but I am sorry that it did not meet your needs for your work. I apologise that you wern't happy with the quality of your room, our front office staff would have been more than happy to address your concerns and assist you had you made us aware you were unhappy. I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Kind regards

3 out of 5
The lady at the check in counter was friendly and helpful.The room was clean ,the beds were surprisingly comfortable,the price was good.My only two real negatives are that the a/c was only in the lounge/kitchenette and better cooling measures should be considered for a comfortable nights sleep and the internet available doesn't really warrant the free wifi selling point..

Posted by on 11 Jan. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

31 Jan. 2019 by Lake Central

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. Our Reception staff always strive to help our guests in any way they can. I will pass on your kind words. I'm pleased you found the beds comfortable and were happy with the price. I appreciate your feedback regarding the air-cons, we are currently in the process of upgrading our units. We are also looking at expanding the reach of our wifi. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards

Property Features

There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Public spaces have free WiFi. An outdoor pool, tour/ticket assistance, and laundry facilities are also featured at Lake Central. This 3-star Cairns motel is smoke free.

  • 29 guestrooms or units
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Tour and ticket information
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Kitchenette
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Transport

  • Train station: Cairns Station (1.4 km / 0.9 mi)

Room Amenities

Lake Central offers 29 air-conditioned accommodations with coffee/tea makers and ceiling fans. Accommodations at this 3-star motel have kitchenettes with refrigerators and microwaves. Bathrooms include showers with rainfall showerheads. LCD televisions are featured in guestrooms.

  • In-room kitchenette
  • LCD television
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower
  • Rainfall showerhead
  • Hair dryer available
  • Blackout drapes
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Wardrobe or closet

Food & Drink

Roo Bar Australia - Onsite restaurant. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the motel include an outdoor pool.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18
  • Check-in time ends at 5:00 PM

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM. If you are planning to arrive after 4:00 PM please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM.
Guests arriving after 4:00 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests will receive lockbox information.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • Pets and service animals are not allowed at Lake Central

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts Visa and Mastercard. Cash is not accepted. For guests' safety, the property includes a fire extinguisher and a smoke detector in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; guests are provided with hand sanitizer. Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cots (infant beds) available
  • No lifts
  • Service animals not allowed
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Staffed front desk
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wear personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is not available for guests
  • No shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually wrapped food options are not available
  • No gap period between guests' stays
  • Staff temperature checks are not conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are not available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property does not follow sanitisation practices of any association

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Nearby parking fee: AUD 10 per day (656 ft away)
  • A late check-out fee will be charged

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Lake Central Motel Cairns North
  • Lake Central Cairns North
  • Lake Central Motel Cairns
  • Lake Central Cairns
  • Lake Central Motel
  • Lake Central Cairns
  • Lake Central Motel Cairns

You should know

  • Please note that this property can refuse certain bookings for the purpose of group events or parties, which include pre-wedding stag/bachelor and hen/bachelorette parties.
  • Pets and service animals are not allowed on site.
  • Alcohol isn't served at Lake Central.
url importing http://www.wotif.com/Cairns-Hotels-Lake-Central.h12941182-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Cairns-Hotels-Lake-Central.h12941182-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/Cairns-Hotels-Lake-Central.h12941182-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently asked questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.