Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"I was on a budget when I booked this hotel and was worried that the room would be awful turns out my fears were not warranted as my family and I had a ... " More

By a verified traveller on Fri 22 Jan 2021

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Lake Central places you in the center of Cairns, within just a 15-minute stroll of popular places like Cairns Esplanade and Cairns Central Shopping Centre. Highlights at this motel include an outdoor swimming pool, and in-room kitchenettes and LCD TVs.

You can enjoy sitting areas, coffee/tea makers, and ceiling fans, featured in all 29 rooms. Kitchenettes come with refrigerators and microwaves, making in-room dining convenient. Rainfall showerheads and wardrobes or closets are also available. Housekeeping is not available.

This smoke-free motel offers free WiFi in public areas, tour/ticket assistance, and multilingual staff. Added amenities include laundry facilities and luggage storage. There's also the convenience of airport drop-off service.

Within a 15-minute walk of this 3-star Cairns Central Business District motel, attractions include Cairns Marlin Marina and Reef Fleet Terminal.

Basic Apartment

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max
AU$72* Per night/room 10 Mar. - 11 Mar.

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Family Apartment, 2 Bedrooms

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 7 Max

Apartment, 1 Bedroom

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Studio

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Lake Central ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
2.7 out of 5 2.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 2.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Lake Central

Everyone (21) Students (1) Family (3)
5 out of 5
I was on a budget when I booked this hotel and was worried that the room would be awful turns out my fears were not warranted as my family and I had a wonderful time staying here, kids loved the pool which is where we spent most of our time even in the pouring rain, the rooms themselves were nice but basic as you would expect in a budget hotel my only issues were the ceiling fan in the lounge room which was useless (could be fixed by adding a pedestal fan to the room) and the lack of power points to plug phones etc in to charge, there was only 1 spare outlet in the lounge room and none in the bedroom, the complex was very secure and although there was a threat of Cyclone we felt very safe, I would definitely recommend staying here for a budget traveller

Posted by on 22 Jan. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

23 Jan. 2021 by Lake Central Cairns Hotel

We're glad you had a great time staying with us, your review is very much appreciated! thank you!

5 out of 5
My family and i were made to feel so welcome from the first moment we arrived. We loved our stay and will stay again next time we visit Cairns.

Posted by on 9 Nov. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 Nov. 2019 by maria

Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write a review. So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon. Maria

1 out of 5
I liked the location. I did not like the condition of the room. Beds poor. Fridge needed de frosting, curtains poor, lack of power points, no cooking facilities, laundry dirty, poor access after hours, on third floor with person in wheel chair, no privacy in room. The only positive was the kind person on reception. Loud and obnoxious guests partying till very late in the next morning.

Posted by on 5 Aug. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5
Policies that were unspecified in terms and conditions which left us with nowhere to stay for the night. The money was also non-refundable, meaning with lost money.

Posted by on 30 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5
False advertising with the wifi. The condition of the room and the cost. I paid $180 for a room that I didn’t even sleep in because I was so disappointed of the quality and condition of the room. I paid an extra $20 more at Redges because I needed the wifi for my work and the quality of the room was clean and did not smell. I will never go back to this hotel.

Posted by on 4 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

8 Mar. 2019 by Front Office

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to write a review. We do offer free Wifi but I am sorry that it did not meet your needs for your work. I apologise that you wern't happy with the quality of your room, our front office staff would have been more than happy to address your concerns and assist you had you made us aware you were unhappy. I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Kind regards

3 out of 5
The lady at the check in counter was friendly and helpful.The room was clean ,the beds were surprisingly comfortable,the price was good.My only two real negatives are that the a/c was only in the lounge/kitchenette and better cooling measures should be considered for a comfortable nights sleep and the internet available doesn't really warrant the free wifi selling point..

Posted by on 11 Jan. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

31 Jan. 2019 by Lake Central

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. Our Reception staff always strive to help our guests in any way they can. I will pass on your kind words. I'm pleased you found the beds comfortable and were happy with the price. I appreciate your feedback regarding the air-cons, we are currently in the process of upgrading our units. We are also looking at expanding the reach of our wifi. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards

4 out of 5
Clean in general except for a recent stain the curtain that looked like choc milk. Always friendly n tidy.

Posted by , from Cairns on 22 Oct. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Lovely room for the night. However, the bathroom sink was broken on the bottom. Holes in walls. There was stains on some of our bed linen. Also stains on 2 of our towels. Other than that we had a comfy stay.

Posted by , from Mareeba on 16 Oct. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5
Room was in need of repair and general maintenance. Room was unclean and staff were argumentative when asked to rectify the issue. Dirty floors and soap left in shower from previous occupants. Not enough seating in room. Curtains falling apart. Bunk beds had no railing on top which was unsafe and against Australian Regulations. Staff did reluctantly replace bunk bed from another room and cleaned room but still did not clean shower of old soap.

Posted by , from Victoria on 12 Oct. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Great location, short walking distance to Esplanade and all that I required whilst in Cairns

Posted by , from Gold Coast on 11 Sep. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?

Property Features

As a guest of Lake Central, you'll find an outdoor pool, tour/ticket assistance, and multilingual staff. Public spaces have free WiFi. A shuttle from the hotel to the airport (available 24 hours) is available for a fee. This 3-star Cairns motel is smoke free.

  • 29 guestrooms or units
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Tour and ticket information
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Kitchenette
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Transport

  • Train station: Cairns Station (1.4 km / 0.9 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Airport drop-off

Room Amenities

Lake Central offers 29 air-conditioned accommodations with coffee/tea makers and ceiling fans. Accommodations offer separate sitting areas. Accommodations at this 3-star motel have kitchenettes with refrigerators and microwaves. Bathrooms include showers with rainfall showerheads. LCD televisions are featured in guestrooms.

  • In-room kitchenette
  • Sitting area
  • LCD television
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower
  • Rainfall showerhead
  • Hair dryer available
  • Blackout drapes
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Wardrobe or closet

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the motel include an outdoor pool.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18
  • Check-in time ends at 6:00 PM

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 8 AM - 6:00 PM. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 8 AM - 6:00 PM.
Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

No onsite parking is available. This property accepts credit cards. For guests' safety, the property includes a fire extinguisher and a smoke detector in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; guests are provided with hand sanitizer. Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cots (infant beds) available
  • No lifts
  • Staffed front desk
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wear personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is not available for guests
  • No shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually wrapped food options are not available
  • No gap period between guests' stays
  • Staff temperature checks are not conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are not available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property does not follow sanitisation practices of any association

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Airport shuttle fee: AUD 15 per person

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Lake Central Motel Cairns North
  • Lake Central Cairns North
  • Lake Central Motel Cairns
  • Lake Central Cairns
  • Lake Central Motel
  • Lake Central Cairns
  • Lake Central Motel Cairns

You should know

  • Please note that this property can refuse certain bookings for the purpose of group events or parties, which include pre-wedding stag/bachelor and hen/bachelorette parties.
  • Lake Central offers transfers from the airport (fees may apply). Please contact the property at the number on the booking confirmation with your arrival details prior to travel.
  • Alcohol isn't served at Lake Central.
url importing http://www.wotif.com/Cairns-Hotels-Lake-Central.h12941182-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Cairns-Hotels-Lake-Central.h12941182-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/Cairns-Hotels-Lake-Central.h12941182-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.