Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"Oh my, what a lovely experience for the night, rainy night in the middle of the city, very roomy room, open the windows for full exposure to the city ... " More

By a verified traveller on Sun 09 Feb 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Wynyard Hotel puts you in the heart of Sydney, within just a 10-minute stroll of popular attractions like King Street Wharf and SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium. Highlights at this hotel include free continental breakfast, a restaurant, and a bar/lounge.

All 12 rooms feature washers/dryers, free WiFi, and 4 bathrooms. Microwaves and stovetops make in-room dining convenient. Additionally, flat-screen TVs, ceiling fans, and free toiletries are available. Bathrooms are shared.

This smoke-free hotel has free WiFi in public areas and a rooftop terrace. Added amenities include a free manager's reception, coffee/tea in a common area, and laundry facilities. Each morning free breakfast is served.

Attractions within a 10-minute walk of this Sydney Central Business District hotel include Sydney Tower and Circular Quay.

Double Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
AU$86* Per night/room 5 Jun. - 6 Jun.

Family Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Twin Room

Bed Count 2 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Triple Room

Bed Count 1 Twin Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Quad Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Wynyard Hotel ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.3 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 2.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Wynyard Hotel

Everyone (146) Couples (14) Students (2) Family (27) Other (1)
5 out of 5
Oh my, what a lovely experience for the night, rainy night in the middle of the city, very roomy room, open the windows for full exposure to the city or close them and turn the fan on for a closed room of comfort. Bathroom-toilet&showers very clean. So much charm, cheapest you’ll get for the best service and rooms. Didn’t even have breakfast which is included and still super happy with our stay. Will be back

Posted by , from Western Sydney on 9 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

10 Feb. 2020 by Tom

Hi Hope, We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay so much, and we are very much looking forward to having you back in the future. Cheers.

4 out of 5

Posted by on 26 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

31 Jan. 2020 by Tom

Thanks for the review. Cheers

2 out of 5
The staff are lovely but if you stay invest in good earplugs! The street noise is terrible ALL night- there is a bus that goes by every 5 min right outside- and there is no AC so if it is hot you have a choice of a really noisy hot room with the window open or an opressively stuffy and only barely quieter room. I got maybe an hour of sleep for the night. The TV only has one channel that will tune in so hopefully you like Channel 7!

Posted by on 16 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

16 Jan. 2020 by Tom

Hi, We are sorry to hear you didn't completely enjoy your stay with us.We hope you will give us another chance in the future, and next time please come down and see us if you have any problems throughout your stay. Cheers.

4 out of 5
Super friendly staff. Really good value for money :)

Posted by on 4 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

6 Jan. 2020 by Tom

Thanks for the good review. We are glad you had a great time. See you again in the future hopefully. Cheers

1 out of 5
It was so dirty only a pig could stay there. I ended up walking out and losing my money. Had to pay for decent accommodation. Wot if was no help at all. Never again with wotif.

Posted by on 10 Dec. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

10 Dec. 2019 by Tom

We apologise that you didn't have a good experience. We hope that you may give us another chance in the future. Cheers.

4 out of 5
Perfect location in the heart of the city,i would class it as cheap and cheerful .it's above a pub after all .clean rooms ,shared bathroom and toilets ,free wifi free bfast bar,you get more than you pay for

Posted by on 9 Nov. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Nov. 2019 by Tom

Thanks for the great review. We hope to see you again in the future for another great experience. Cheers.

5 out of 5
If you need to be in town for a night or two and just want a clean & efficient stay, this hotel is PERFECT ! Not flash or fancy but definitely 100% workable. I'm a fan and would stay again for sure :)

Posted by on 7 Nov. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Nov. 2019 by Tom

Hi, Thanks for the review. We are glad we could provide exactly what you needed. See you next time. Cheers.

4 out of 5
Great location. Good pub style accommodation Good value for money.

Posted by on 29 Oct. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Oct. 2019 by Tom

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Cheers.

5 out of 5
Close to everything and gr8 for the price. Food and drinks are excellent considering your location

Posted by on 18 Oct. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

23 Oct. 2019 by Tom

Thanks for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Cheers.

4 out of 5
Loved having a nightcap before bed... but lots of stairs after a long day... floors were creaky and walls thin, but we lived our stay anyway!!

Posted by on 11 Oct. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

23 Oct. 2019 by Tom

Thanks for staying and taking full advantage of the pub. Glad you loved your stay. Come back again soon. Cheers.

Renovations + Closures

This property is closed from 24 March 2020 to 1 June 2020 (dates subject to change).

Property Features

There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Free breakfast is served daily, and guests can also enjoy a free nightly manager's reception. WiFi is free in public spaces. Wynyard Hotel also features a rooftop terrace, coffee/tea in a common area, and laundry facilities. This Sydney hotel is smoke free.

  • 12 guestrooms or units
  • Built in 1873
  • Continental breakfast (free)
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Manager's reception (free)
  • Terrace on the roof
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Self-service laundry
  • ATM
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Washer/dryer
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Transport

  • Airport: Sydney, NSW (SYD-Kingsford Smith Intl.) (17.4 km / 10.8 mi)
  • Train station: Sydney Circular Quay Station (1.1 km / 0.7 mi)
  • Metro station: Wynyard Station (0.2 km / 0.1 mi)

Room Amenities

Wynyard Hotel offers 12 accommodations with washers/dryers and shared/communal kitchens. Flat-screen televisions are featured in guestrooms. Guests have access to shared bathrooms. Bathrooms include showers and complimentary toiletries. This Sydney hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Irons/ironing boards and hair dryers can be requested.

  • Bathrooms are shared
  • Communal kitchen access
  • Washer and dryer
  • Flat-screen television
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Kitchenware
  • Shower
  • Hair dryer available
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board available
  • Ceiling fan

Food & Drink

Guests are served free continental breakfast daily from 5 AM to 5 AM. The hotel hosts a free manager's reception daily.

Onsite venue - This bistro serves lunch and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar. Happy hour is offered.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

There is no front desk at this property. The check-in location differs from the property location. To check in, go to Check in at the bar area If you are planning to arrive after midnight please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property for check-in instructions.

This property does not have a front desk. The check-in location differs from the property location. To check in, guests will need to go to Check in at the bar area
Guests arriving after midnight must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property for check-in instructions.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. No onsite parking is available. Noise-free guestrooms cannot be guaranteed.

  • Noise-free rooms not guaranteed
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cots (infant beds) available
  • No lifts

Hotel Names

  • Hotel Wynyard
  • Wynyard Hotel
  • Wynyard Hotel Sydney
  • Wynyard Sydney
  • Wynyard Hotel Hotel
  • Wynyard Hotel Sydney
  • Wynyard Hotel Hotel Sydney
url importing http://www.wotif.com/Sydney-Hotels-Wynyard-Hotel.h8011223-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Sydney-Hotels-Wynyard-Hotel.h8011223-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/Sydney-Hotels-Wynyard-Hotel.h8011223-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.