Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
3.5 out of 5

"I didnt like that the toilets didnt have duel flush " More

By a verified traveller on Thu 05 Mar 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At Rydges North Sydney you'll be 0.9 km (0.6 mi) from Mater Hospital and 1.9 km (1.2 mi) from Luna Park. Highlights at this hotel include free in-room WiFi.

You can enjoy TVs with cable channels, and all 167 soundproofed rooms feature hair dryers, phones, and irons/ironing boards. Down comforters and free toiletries are nice touches to enhance your stay. Refrigerators, desks, and wardrobes or closets are also available.

This business-friendly hotel offers free WiFi in public areas, a 24-hour front desk, and express check-out. Added amenities include laundry facilities, dry cleaning/laundry services, and multilingual staff. There's also the convenience of self parking.

With a stay at this 4-star North Sydney hotel, you'll be 2.5 km (1.5 mi) from Royal North Shore Hospital and 3.9 km (2.4 mi) from Sydney Opera House.

Deluxe Twin

Bed Count 2 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 3 Max
AU$147* Per night/room 19 Jun. - 20 Jun.

One Bedroom Suite

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Suite, 2 Bedrooms

Bed Count 2 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Suite, 1 Bedroom, Harbour View

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Deluxe Queen

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Executive Queen Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Rydges North Sydney ratings based on 396 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.5 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Rydges North Sydney

Everyone (296) Couples (30) Business (11) Family (49)
1 out of 5
I received a call from Rydges manager the day before my booking to be advised that Rydges North Sydney had been closed for many months during COVID and was still closed . I had to make urgent alternate arrangements and would like a refund of my funds please .

Posted by on 16 May 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 May 2022 by Alexander

We apologize for the inconvenience caused but due to the effects of Covid and the other various issues related to that we have faced unprecedented issues and difficulties. Please contact Wotif regarding your refund as we do not have your money.

3 out of 5

Posted by on 27 Mar. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Mar. 2020 by RNS

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again int he near future and please stay safe during this difficult time. Kind regards, Rydges North Sydney Management

5 out of 5

Posted by on 26 Mar. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

27 Mar. 2020 by RNS

Hi there, Thank you for taking the 5 star review! We look forward to welcoming you back again! Kind regards, Rydges North Sydney Management

4 out of 5
I didnt like that the toilets didnt have duel flush

Posted by on 5 Mar. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 Mar. 2020 by RNS

Hi Guest Thank you for your feedback. We are very close to full refurbishment and this will change our hotel rooms drastically. We look forward to welcoming you back again! Kind regards, Rydges North Sydney Management

4 out of 5
Got this room at a great price. The building itself is a bit tired but perfectly functional. The bed was comfortable and room spacious. The bathroom was very tired but everything worked fine. Included buffet breakfast was delicious. Would stay again.

Posted by on 24 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

25 Feb. 2020 by Hotel Managemement

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable bed and enjoyed the breakfast . Whilst I understand your disappointment about hotel aging, we are very close to our full hotel refurbishment which is scheduled in for next year. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Rydges North Sydney for a much more memorable stay. Kind Regards, Rydges North Sydney Management

3 out of 5
Whilst the beds were comfy and the linen clean, the hotel is showing it’s age with worn bathrooms, old restaurant and generally looking tired. Breakfast wasn’t up to much - no glasses, plates, crockery or decent mugs available mid-way through service. Staff grumpy and pushing a clearing trolley around the restaurant whilst guests still eating. Felt more like a canteen.

Posted by on 21 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

25 Feb. 2020 by Hotel Management

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable bed. I'm that you weren't satisfied with the breakfast service in the restaurant. Our Food and Beverage Manager has been made aware about your experience to ensure this doesn't happen again. Whilst I understand your disappointment about hotel aging, we are very close to our full hotel refurbishment which is scheduled in for next year. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Rydges North Sydney for a much more memorable stay. Kind Regards, Rydges North Sydney Management

4 out of 5
Neat and tidy and value for money. Handy location as well.

Posted by on 19 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 Feb. 2020 by RNS

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. We hope we will have a pleasure to welcoming you back again. Thank you. Kind regards, Rydges North Sydney Management

2 out of 5
Air conditioning didn't work and there was a portable unit in the kitchen with a hose out the window. a couple of fans were provided both were noisy and not effective. ok for the first couple of days when it was cloudy but the afternoon sun makes this room terrible. Paint, carpet bathroom would have been ok 10 years ago. My advice , don't stay there.

Posted by , from Armidale on 16 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Feb. 2020 by RNS

Hi Graham, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm disappointed you did not enjoy your experience, please accept my apologies for failing to meet your expectations. We strive to ensure our guests are beyond satisfied with their stay and it appears in this case we fell short. While I can understand your disappointment I do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future to make amends and improve your Rydges experience. Kind regards, Rydges North Sydney Management

3 out of 5

Posted by on 2 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

3 Feb. 2020 by RNS

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We hope we will have a pleasure to welcoming you back to Rydges North Sydney in near future. Kind regards, Rydges North Sydney Managemetn

1 out of 5
bathroom is terrible room..... service took over 1hr and 3 phone calls asking what has happened to our order .each time .when they answered all they said was that room service was busy tonight , why did they not tell us when we placed the order . the food was luke warm when we eventually got it ..service nil then i should have known you only get what you pay for and what we got was a one Star hotel it needs a massive upgrade or knock down and rebuild as the location is wonderful ..but not much else

Posted by on 29 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

31 Jan. 2020 by RNS

Hi Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am very sorry for the less that satisfactory experience you encountered with your Room Service meal. Your feedback has been passed onto our Food & Beverage Manager to further follow up. We strive to ensure our guests are beyond satisfied with their stay and it appears in this case we fell short. We hope we will have a pleasure to welcoming you back in the future to make amends and improve your Rydges experience. Kind regards, Rydges North Sydney

Property Features

As a guest of Rydges North Sydney, you'll find multilingual staff, laundry facilities, and dry cleaning/laundry services. WiFi is free in public spaces. The business-friendly Rydges North Sydney also features express check-out, a front desk safe, and an elevator. For a fee, parking is available. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 4-star Sydney hotel.

  • 167 guestrooms or units
  • 12 levels
  • Built in 1973
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Elevator
  • Smoking in designated areas
  • Water dispenser

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Soundproofed rooms
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Self parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Train station: Sydney North Sydney Station (0.8 km / 0.5 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Rydges North Sydney offers 167 air-conditioned accommodations with hair dryers and irons/ironing boards. Beds feature down comforters. Televisions come with cable channels. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations and complimentary toiletries. This Sydney hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks, desk chairs, and phones. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Television
  • Cable channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Electric kettle
  • Down blanket
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (free)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Sound-insulated rooms
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Free tea bags/instant coffee
  • Wardrobe or closet
  • Desk chair

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18
  • Check-in time ends at anytime

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for AUD 40 per night.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pet Policy

  • Pets and service animals are not allowed at Rydges North Sydney

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Diners Club, JCB International, debit cards, and cash.

For guests' safety, the property includes a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, and a first aid kit in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests; guests are provided with hand sanitizer. Contactless check-out is available.

  • Parking height restrictions apply
  • Service animals not allowed
  • Number of children who can stay for free – 2
  • Debit cards
  • Staffed front desk
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wear personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is not available for guests
  • No shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually wrapped food options are not available
  • No gap period between guests' stays
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property does not follow sanitisation practices of any association

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: AUD 200 per night

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Covered self parking fee: AUD 38 per night (in/out privileges)
  • Early check-in is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)
  • Late check-out is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)
  • Rollaway bed fee: AUD 40 per night
  • Credit card charges are subject to a surcharge of 1.08 percent

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • North Sydney Rydges
  • Rydges Hotel North Sydney
  • Rydges North Sydney
  • Rydges North Hotel Sydney
  • Rydges North Sydney Hotel North Sydney
  • Rydges North Sydney Hotel
  • Sydney Rydges North Hotel
  • Rydges North Sydney Hotel
  • Rydges North Sydney North Sydney
  • Rydges North Sydney Hotel North Sydney

You should know

  • Pets and service animals are not allowed on site.
url importing http://www.wotif.com/Sydney-Hotels-Rydges-North-Sydney.h456807-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Sydney-Hotels-Rydges-North-Sydney.h456807-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/Sydney-Hotels-Rydges-North-Sydney.h456807-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.