4.0 out of 5

"Pleasant older style hotel in walkable distance from train terminus, with car parking (at cost) available. Good breakfast available at extra cost. " More

By a verified traveller on Wed 29 Aug 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Travelodge Hotel Newcastle places you in the centre of Newcastle West, within a 30-minute stroll of Newcastle Civic Theater and Christ Church Cathedral. Highlights at this hotel include a restaurant, an outdoor swimming pool and a bar/lounge.

You can enjoy TVs with satellite channels, and all 131 rooms feature free wired Internet, coffee/tea makers and free newspapers. Fridges and room service make in-room dining convenient. Safes, hairdryers and irons/ironing boards are also available.

The restaurant, Sienna Cafe and Bar, is open for breakfast and dinner. Other amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a fitness centre and laundry facilities. Buffet breakfast is available on weekdays between 6:30 AM and 9:30 AM and on weekends between 7:00 AM and 10:00 AM. There's also the convenience of self parking.

With a stay at this 4-star Newcastle West hotel, you'll be 1.9 km (1.2 mi) from King Edward Park and 3.3 km (2.1 mi) from Merewether Ocean Baths.

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max
AU$108 per night

Suite, 2 Bedrooms

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Standard Twin Room

Bed Count 1 Twin Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Executive Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Travelodge Hotel Newcastle ratings based on 984 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.0 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Travelodge Hotel Newcastle

Everyone (553) Couples (334) Business (11) Students (1) Family (77)
5 out of 5

Posted by on 28 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Jun. 2019 by Rachel

Thank you for your great review! Kind Regards, Duty Manager

4 out of 5
Position was great for me to attend meetings and very comfortable and affordable accommodation

Posted by on 24 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

24 Jun. 2019 by Gonzague Cohoner

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review. We really appreciate you took the time to share your experience and would be delighted to welcome you for your future stay in Newcastle. Warmest regards, Gonzague Cohoner Duty Manager

4 out of 5
We enjoyed our stay. Room was pleasant. Bathroom a bit small but serviceable. Bed and pillows were comfy. Staff were pleasant.

Posted by on 24 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

24 Jun. 2019 by Gonzague Cohoner

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review. We really appreciate you took the time to share your experience and would be delighted to welcome you for your future stay in Newcastle. Warmest regards, Gonzague Cohoner Duty Manager

3 out of 5

Posted by on 23 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
Didn’t like it much at all and wouldn’t tell anyone to go there

Posted by on 18 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 Jun. 2019 by Rachel

Thank you for your honest feedback, we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. If you would like to give us some more detailed feedback please contact the hotel directly. Once again we are sorry you have not been satisfied by your stay with us Kind Regards, Duty Manager

4 out of 5
Room service and cafe boasts hotel- walking distance to shops and beach, Reasonable rates

Posted by on 13 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

13 Jun. 2019 by Rachel

Thank you for your great review! We greatly appreciate it. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon Kind Regards

1 out of 5

Posted by on 1 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

2 Jun. 2019 by Travelodge Newcastle

Hi there, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We would love to know more about what we could have done differently to make your stay more enjoyable. Unfortunately we don't have much details to go on at this stage. If you are still in-house, please feel free to come and see us at the desk so we can rectify the situation. Alternatively, please feel free to contact me directly on 02.4926.3777 to discuss your experience at the hotel. Kind regards, Camille B Assistant Hotel Manager

4 out of 5
Nice clean rooms and super comfortable beds. Just the service upon check in was really bland w head to pay for parking that was never mentioned in our booking and also there was literally one tiny car space in the entire carpark I don’t think it’s monitored as one time we just had to park on the side of the carpark against a fence which is annoying when you pay for parking then don’t even get a spot and even when we went to reception to ask about breakfast the service we got was pretty poor even the restaurant for breakfast the service was average we stood waiting for a while and ended up just going in and serving ourselves because no one would come to the desk the food was nice however. I’d go back but just hope the staff are More welcoming and resourceful.

Posted by on 31 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Jun. 2019 by Danielle S

Dear CP, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review. Oh behalf of the hotel I would like to apologise for your experience. Customer service is a largely important part of what we do, and I am disappointed to hear this was failed during your stay. I will ensure this is followed up, and I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and have another opportunity to provide the experience we are known for. Once again I thoroughly apologise, for the experience. Kind Regards, Danielle S Hotel Duty Manager

3 out of 5
Dated but clean... friendly service... only stayed on night for business

Posted by on 25 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

27 May 2019 by Rachel

Hi, Thank you for your honest review, we appreciate your feedback. Thank you for staying with us Kind Regards, Duty Manager

3 out of 5
The bed was very comfortable with great pillows. There are a few things need doing in the bathroom.

Posted by on 13 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 May 2019 by Rachel

Hi, Thank you for your great review I have passed your comments onto our team. We look forward to having you stay with us again Kind Regards, Duty Manager

Property Features

Travelodge Hotel Newcastle offers its guests an outdoor pool and a fitness centre. There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Public spaces have free WiFi. Event space at this hotel measures 1356 square feet (126 square metres) and includes conference rooms. The business-friendly Travelodge Hotel Newcastle also features concierge services, laundry facilities, and dry cleaning/laundry services. Limited parking is available for a fee and is offered on a first-come, first-served basis. This 4-star Newcastle West hotel is smoke free.

  • 131 guestrooms or units
  • 6 levels
  • 1356 sq ft of conference space
  • 126 sq. m of conference space
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Concierge
  • Lift
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Outdoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free wired Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Self parking (surcharge) , Parking (limited spaces)

Transport

  • Airport: Newcastle, NSW (NTL-Williamtown) (25.6 km / 15.9 mi)
  • Train station: Newcastle Interchange Station (0.8 km / 0.5 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Travelodge Hotel Newcastle offers 131 forms of air-conditioned accommodation with a safe and free newspapers. Fridges and coffee/tea makers are provided. Bathrooms include a combined bath/shower unit, complimentary toiletries and a hairdryer. Guests can surf the web using complimentary wired Internet access. Satellite televisions are provided. Housekeeping is provided on a daily basis.

  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Television
  • Satellite channels
  • Fridge
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (free)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Hairdryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy buffet breakfast on weekdays from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM and at the weekend from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.

Sienna Cafe and Bar – This restaurant serves breakfast and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for AUD 40 per night.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pets

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

This hotel will place a credit/debit card pre-authorization for any bookings where payment for the stay will be made on site instead of at the time of booking. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guest room reservation.

  • Only service animals are allowed

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: AUD 1.00 per stay

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for buffet breakfast: AUD 23.00 for adults and AUD 23.00 for children (approximately)
  • Self-parking fee: AUD 15.00 per night (in/out privileges)
  • Rollaway bed fee: AUD 40 per night
  • On-site credit card charges are subject to a surcharge

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Travelodge Newcastle Hotel
  • Travelodge Newcastle

You should know

  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.

National Rating

This property has been awarded a star rating from the Australian star ratings agency, Star Ratings Australia.

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.