Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Halswell Lodge - Motel places you steps from Wellington Central Business District and within a short 5-minute stroll of Courtenay Place. Highlights at this motel include free in-room WiFi.

Flat-screen TVs with cable channels are featured in all 18 rooms, and you can enjoy DVD players, hairdryers and irons/ironing boards. Nice touches to enhance your stay include free toiletries and premium bedding.

This smoke-free motel offers free WiFi in public areas, a garden and luggage storage. Plus you'll find laundry facilities. Each morning continental breakfast is served between 7:30 AM and 9 AM. There's also the convenience of self parking.

Attractions within a short walk walk of this 3-star Te Aro motel include Wellington Waterfront and Oriental Parade.

Double Room Budget

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
AU$67* Per night/room 24 Sep. - 25 Sep.


Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Queen Standard

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Queen Spa Unit

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

King Standard

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

King Spa Unit

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Halswell Lodge - Motel ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.0 out of 5 3.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 2.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Halswell Lodge - Motel

Everyone (50) Couples (5) Family (7)
1 out of 5
Nothing good to say. Rude staff, fifthy, no hot water or clean towels, fire hazard with no smoke alarm. extra charges added on credit cards. Staff refuse refunds or To address complaints. Refused to call manager.

Posted by on 2 Sep. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
I had fond memories of staying in this same room many years ago, and had booked it with that in mind, especially looking forward to the spa bath. I checked in fine, got to my room and went to fill the bath (with a few hairs still in it) only to find only one towel (for a room with 2 beds that sleep 3?), tried to ring for more but reception didn't answer, so left a note for the cleaners to drop off more the next day. Up early to go to a conference the next morning I try to take a shower, but am greeted with no hot water. I settle for a sponge down thinking I'll clean up in a bath once I got back 15 hours later. Nope, nearly 16 hours later no hot water is coming in the bath, and still not able to contact reception. I check the information book to see what time reception opened in the morning to be able to give this feedback, and set my alarm to give me time to get back to conference, check out and have adequate time to discuss my disappointment. However, the next morning I get to reception and find it didn't open for another 2 hours. It wasn't the only information in the information folder that was out of date. There was broken glass on the floor in the room, and cleaning wasn't to great standard in the bathroom (more hair in the shower that wasn't mine) either.

Posted by on 1 Sep. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
no care taken on room maintenance or cleanliness so not helpful almost rude

Posted by on 1 Sep. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Quite dated. Needs some TLC . Still for the price was grest value.

Posted by on 12 Aug. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Position is great however the rooms are tired and need some TLC like cracked basins rusty toilet seat covers old carpets

Posted by on 31 Jul. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
Great location, price of carpark on par with others. Very tired and worn room( but tidy)- ripped wallpaper, rusted stove top, flickering lights, plug in bath had black spots, vaniety and paint peeling. Light shades full of dust, rust? marks on sheets, towels stained and makeup wash cloth had a bleach mark. Price was on the cheaper side compared to other places.

Posted by on 17 Jul. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
The position is great for Restaursnts and cafes and the movies. Also easy access to roads in and out of Wellington Easy access to the docks and Oriental Bay

Posted by on 8 Jul. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
Staff were friendly and the room was clean enough, however, it was hugely noisy from outside as well as from the hallway and neighbouring rooms. I could hear the conversations (and more) and this made our stay very unpleasant.

Posted by on 23 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Handy to centre of city. Value for money. A bit cold but not unbearable.

Posted by on 17 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5
I cancelled the booking by email 9 March. You have charged my Visa $101.90 for a stay which did not occur. Please refund this amount . thanks Alan Baddiley

Posted by on 5 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 Jun. 2019 by Guri (Manager)

Thanks for your time to contact us. Unfortunately, your booking wasn't cancelled for 3 nights. We charged 1 night No- Show penalty. I would like to suggest you to contact Expedia service, as per our records your booking wasn't cancelled at all. Guri (Manager)

About the Halswell Lodge - Motel

Location 21 Kent Terrace, Wellington, 6011

Property Features

As a guest of Halswell Lodge - Motel, you'll find a garden and laundry facilities. WiFi is free in public spaces. Parking is available for a fee. This 3-star Wellington motel is smoke free.

  • 18 guestrooms or units
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Garden
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • DVD player


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi


Self parking (surcharge)


  • Train station: Wellington Station (2.3 km / 1.4 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Halswell Lodge - Motel offers 18 forms of accommodation with DVD players and a hairdryer. Beds feature premium bedding. Flat-screen televisions come with premium cable channels. Bathrooms include a shower and complimentary toiletries. This Wellington motel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Housekeeping is provided on a daily basis.

  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • DVD player
  • Luxury bedding
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hairdryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Heating
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy a continental breakfast daily from 7:30 AM to 9 AM.

Hotel Policies


  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 9 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 9 AM - 9 PM.
If you are planning to arrive after 9 PM, please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 9 AM - 9 PM.
Guests arriving after 9 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation.


  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.


  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome


Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. Guests must contact this property in advance to reserve cots/infant beds.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Only service animals are allowed


Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for continental breakfast: NZD 19 per person (approximately)
  • Self-parking fee: NZD 15 per day
  • Credit card charges are subject to a surcharge of 2 per cent

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Halswell Lodge Motel Wellington
  • Halswell Lodge Motel
  • Halswell Wellington
  • Halswell Lodge - Motel Motel
  • Halswell Lodge - Motel Wellington
  • Halswell Lodge - Motel Motel Wellington
url importing
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.