Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.3 out of 5

"Friendly staff. Nice rooms. Easy parking. Close to shops and food options. " More

By a verified traveller on Sun 15 May 2022

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

A luxury stay in the heart of Sunshine Coast awaits you at Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters. You'll be 1 km (0.6 mi) from NightQuarter and 5.8 km (3.6 mi) from Kawana Beach. Highlights at this hotel include a restaurant, free self parking, and a bar/lounge.

All 81 soundproofed rooms feature LED TVs with satellite channels, and you can enjoy free WiFi, free newspapers, and free local calls. Refrigerators and room service make in-room dining easy, and minibars provide refreshments. You'll find nice touches like free toiletries and premium bedding to enhance your stay. Safes, hair dryers, and irons/ironing boards are also available.

This business-friendly hotel offers free WiFi in public areas, a business center, and concierge services. Additionally, you'll find a coffee shop/cafe, a snack bar/deli, and laundry facilities. Full breakfast is available on weekdays between 6:30 AM and 9:30 AM and on weekends between 7 AM and 10 AM.

Sights within a 20-minute drive of this 4.5-star Birtinya hotel include Moffat Beach and Aussie World.

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
AU$139* Per night/room 29 May - 30 May

Superior Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Room, Multiple Beds

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters ratings based on 439 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.3 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters

Everyone (294) Couples (67) Business (7) Family (62)
4 out of 5
Friendly staff. Nice rooms. Easy parking. Close to shops and food options.

Posted by on 15 May 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
I have stayed here several times. Staff are always friendly, room service is quick and food is good. The rooms are very quiet and comfortable. It is very convenient for where I work. Will continue to stay here.

Posted by on 10 May 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Convenient, good value for money

Posted by on 2 May 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Friendly staff,nice and quiet place to stay

Posted by on 29 Apr. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Cleanliness was great! Would definitely stay again

Posted by on 8 Apr. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Food (dinner and breakfast) were excellent Bed was comfortable but it would help to have just a sheet to cover oneself. The comforter/sheet combo is too heavy. Thanks

Posted by on 7 Apr. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

8 Apr. 2022 by Karen Young - Sales & Marketing Manager

Thank you for taking the time to review us Craig, and for letting our future potential guests know about us! Our beds should be triple sheeted, so a sheet should have been under the quilt; hopefully that was the case in your instance, but I will double check with housekeeping. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

1 out of 5
When I booked and paid ,I asked for a room with a balcony or and outside door. We had 2 claustrophobic people staying. No-one informed me that the room was just a box without an opening window! They could have told me that to have a balcony I would have to pay for a bigger room, which I would not have minded. Add to that insult, the air conditioning did not work and we felt like we were in a coffin. I exited the room in the very early hours of the morning because it was unbearable! I will not be returning and I will not recommend the Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters.

Posted by on 6 Apr. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

8 Apr. 2022 by Karen Young - Sales & Marketing Manager

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience with us Deb. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations and please allow me to express our sincerest apologies. I have had a look into your booking which was booked as a Standard King Hotel Room; these rooms are hotel-style and do not allow for opening windows or balconies. I can see from a subsequent message that you did request this, but this would only have been possible if you had booked one of our Suites. If you had mentioned in your message that there was a claustrophobia issue we would ensure that prior contact would have been made to reiterate this information. Please contact us to discuss this for any future bookings and we will ensure that the correct room type is booked for you. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

4 out of 5
Conveniently walking distance from a variety of restaurants. Access to a beautiful running track along the water. The accommodation was very affordable. We would have preferred to pay a little bit extra and have little extras included (such as an almond milk latte with breakfast). But this is our personal preference. You feel more special when they are not asking if you are happy to pay extra for something.

Posted by on 27 Mar. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

28 Mar. 2022 by Karen Young - Sales & Marketing Manager

Thank you for taking the time to review us Chelsea, and for letting our future potential guests know about us! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

4 out of 5
Great

Posted by on 25 Mar. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

28 Mar. 2022 by Karen Young - Sales & Marketing Manager

Thank you for taking the time to review us Karen, and for letting our future potential guests know about us! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

4 out of 5
We enjoyed our stay, beautiful and clean.

Posted by on 20 Mar. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

28 Mar. 2022 by Karen Young - Sales & Marketing Manager

Thank you for taking the time to review us Melissa, and for letting our future potential guests know about us! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

About the Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters

Location 9 Florey Boulevard, Birtinya, QLD 4575

Property Features

Along with a restaurant and a coffee shop/cafe, there's a snack bar/deli on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. There's an onsite business center. Public spaces have free WiFi. A terrace, tour/ticket assistance, and barbecue grills are also featured at the luxury Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters. Self parking is free. This 4.5-star Sunshine Coast hotel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 81 guestrooms or units
  • 4 levels
  • Built in 2015
  • Deli
  • Business facilities
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Terrace
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Dining venue

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Soundproofed rooms
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi , High-speed internet access

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi , Internet access in public areas - high speed

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters offers 81 air-conditioned accommodations with minibars and safes. Beds feature premium bedding. 50-inch LED televisions come with premium satellite channels. Bathrooms include showers, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. This Sunshine Coast hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and complimentary newspapers, as well as phones; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and blackout drapes/curtains. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Minibar
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • LED television
  • Satellite channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Luxury bedding
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Sound-insulated rooms
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wardrobe or closet

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy full breakfast on weekdays from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM and on weekends from 7 AM to 10 AM.

Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters has a restaurant on site.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18
  • Check-in time ends at anytime

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for AUD 10.0 per stay.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Diners Club, JCB International, Union Pay, debit cards, and cash.

For guests' safety, the property includes a smoke detector and a security system in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Personal protective equipment, including masks and gloves, will be available to guests. Social distancing measures are in place; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests; guests are provided with hand sanitizer. Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cots (infant beds) available
  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Number of children who can stay for free – 2
  • Debit cards
  • UnionPay
  • Staffed front desk
  • Security system
  • LGBTQIA friendly
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff do not wear personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is available for guests
  • Masks are available for guests
  • Gloves are available for guests
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually wrapped food options are not available
  • No gap period between guests' stays
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property does not follow sanitisation practices of any association

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between AUD 15 and AUD 29 for adults, AUD 5 and AUD 19 for children (approximately)
  • Early check-in is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)
  • Late check-out is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: AUD 10.0 per stay

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Best Western Plus Oceanside Kawana Hotel Birtinya
  • Best Western Plus Lake Kawana Hotel Birtinya
  • Best Western Plus Oceanside Kawana Birtinya
  • Best Western Plus Oceanside Kawana
  • Best Western Plus Lake Kawana Birtinya
  • Best Western Plus Lake Kawana
  • Best Western Plus Lake Kawana Hotel
  • Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters Hotel
  • Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters Birtinya
  • Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters Hotel Birtinya

You should know

  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
  • This property welcomes guests of all sexual orientations and gender identities (LGBTQ friendly).

National Rating

This property has been awarded a star rating from the Australian Star Ratings Agency, Star Ratings Australia.

url importing http://www.wotif.com/Sunshine-Coast-Hotels-Mercure-Sunshine-Coast-Kawana-Waters.h11702834-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Sunshine-Coast-Hotels-Mercure-Sunshine-Coast-Kawana-Waters.h11702834-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/Sunshine-Coast-Hotels-Mercure-Sunshine-Coast-Kawana-Waters.h11702834-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.