4.0 out of 5

"Hotel right in the middle of Wilpena. The walks in the Pound all are accessible on foot from the hotel The staff are friendly and helpful. The extra ... " More

By a verified traveller on Fri 24 Aug 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At Wilpena Pound Resort you'll be within steps of Flinders Ranges and Wilpena Pound. Highlights at this resort include a restaurant, an outdoor swimming pool and free self parking.

You can enjoy TVs, coffee/tea makers and hairdryers, featured in all 60 rooms. Fridges, phones and irons/ironing boards are also available.

The restaurant, Capt Starlight Restaurant, is open for breakfast and dinner. Poddy Dodgers Bar/Bistro is the resort's own bar, serving drinks along with lunch and dinner. Enjoy access to bike rentals and hiking/biking trails. Other amenities include a coffee shop/café and laundry facilities. Buffet breakfast is available daily. There's also the convenience of RV/bus/truck parking.

In the area of this 3.5-star Flinders Ranges resort, you'll find St Mary's Peak.

Standard Room (Aroona)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
AU$155* Per night/room 19 Aug. - 20 Aug.

Getaway Package with breakfast, Scenic Flight, Half Day 4x4 Tour and Sunset Tour

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Escape Package with breakfast, Scenic Flight and Half Day 4x4 Tour

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Adventure in style with 3 course dinner, buffet breakfast, half day 4x4 tour and scenic flight

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Room (Brachina)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Deluxe Room (Heysen)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Wilpena Pound Resort ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.0 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Wilpena Pound Resort

Everyone (128) Couples (72) Family (26)
5 out of 5
Flinders Ranges Welcome to Country Friendly Staff Birds singing

Posted by on 4 Aug. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
Beautiful setting, but that did not make up for the poor customer service, filthy accommodation, ignored phone calls, being ignored at the counter, being told the resort were too busy to make a coffee in the morning, resort staff giving vague directions to the start of the walking trails and the list goes on. For once the poor ratings truly reflect the experience. This resort has so much potential. Lift your game and both customers and staff will be happy. We won’t stay at the resort when we return.

Posted by on 19 Jul. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

24 Jul. 2019 by DOSM

Thank you for your feedback. We have shared this with our team as we strive for improvement.

2 out of 5

Posted by on 15 Jul. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

25 Jul. 2019 by DOSM

Thank you for your review of Wilpena Pound Resort.

4 out of 5

Posted by on 7 Jul. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Jul. 2019 by DOSM

Thank you for your review.

4 out of 5

Posted by on 6 Jul. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Jul. 2019 by DOSM

Thank you for your review.

3 out of 5
Location was great, close to walking and exploration on foot or vehicle. Food was disappointing with mostly average pub food - burgers and schnitzels and the inevitable chips without any healthy choices unless opting for meals in the $30+ range and that's too expensive for a "pub bistro" like experience.The steamed vegetables side dish was nice but $9 for a few carrots and greens is ridiculous. Breakfasts were great and I'd rather have had that choice at dinner. Seating was in short supply at night and the tour groups were preferenced all the time - breakfasts and dinner where normal guests missed out. This isn't a numbers problem but a timing issue and that's a management decision. The accommodation reception has no real information about the site other than a small booklet and the visitor centre only has 2 booklets and nothing else - no interpretative information.The IGA shop is large but the visitor centre is inadequate in terms of size and contents. Where was the cultural content? Both indigenous and colonial. Where was the geological explanation? A 3D model? Photos and imagery? This doesn't have to be expensive or very sophisticated, just better than what's on offer now. And it really matters as this colours every visitor experience to the park. Engagement! There are great example of how to do this in Victoria and NSW. The Halls Gap indigenous interpretative centre in Victoria at The Grampians for example is fantastic. Maybe SA Parks could be more involved?

Posted by on 19 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Jul. 2019 by DOSM

Thank you for your review. It's a shame that you did not download our FREE Ikara Wilpena app which has extensive interpretation information along with scenic drives, walking trails, Aboriginal cultural information and so much more. There are posters at both reception and in the Visitors Centre promoting the app, if it wasn't specifically mentioned by the on site team. IF you'd taken the opportunity to join one of our Aboriginal guided 4X4 tours, you would have enjoyed loads of geologial and historical information also. Maybe next time?

3 out of 5
I thought a toilet pan full of urine and paper was a nice lived in touch

Posted by , from Adelaide on 16 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Jul. 2019 by DOSM

Thank you for your review. We have passed on your comments to the housekeeping team for improvement.

3 out of 5
Disappointing room service and disappointing restaurant menu

Posted by on 7 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Jul. 2019 by DOSM

Thank you for your review. We have passed on yoru comments to our department heads for review.

3 out of 5
The Heysen rooms were spacious and comfortable. Unfortunately tap water, shower water and toilet water was chocolate brown. We were told the tanks were being filled up and the problem would be resolved in a couple of hours. We continued to have brown water for our entire stay. Had to buy bottled water to brush teeth and washing hair was impossible. Towels were clean but frayed. There was no wifi available in the rooms unless you were with Telstra and no land line to call reception. The dining area was large, dimly lit, no atmosphere and felt like a function room rather than a restaurant. Fire was not lit even tbough the outside remperature was 2 degrees celcius. Overall the pound is in a beautiful setting but is slightly run down and staff don't appear to care. I wouldn't call it a resort.

Posted by on 1 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Jul. 2019 by DOSM

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you experienced water issues during your stay. We would have provided bottled water should you have asked our front office team.

2 out of 5
The room we were in leaked when it rained. The compound was so well lit up, the room was never dark even when the curtains were closed, never slept while we were there. Light could not be turned off outside of the room. Maybe better curtains or allow lights to be turned off.

Posted by on 28 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Jul. 2019 by DOSM

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we don't know which guest you were so we are unable to dig further into which room you stayed in to look into the possible leak and curtains. Feel free to contact us directly via our website so we can address your concerns.

Property Features

There's a restaurant on site, as well as a coffee shop/café. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. An outdoor pool, tour or ticket assistance, and a BBQ are also featured at Wilpena Pound Resort. The resort can provide concierge services and wedding services. Free self parking is available. This 3.5-star Flinders Ranges resort is smoke free.

  • 60 guestrooms or units
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • 1 conference room
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Staff members are multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Corner/local shop
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Gift shop
  • ATM
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Outdoor pool
  • Grocery/convenience store
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator

Parking

Free self parking , RV, bus, truck parking

Transport

  • Airport: Adelaide, SA (ADL) (457.2 km / 284.1 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Wilpena Pound Resort offers 60 forms of air-conditioned accommodation with a hairdryer and an iron/ironing board. Guests can make use of the in-room fridges and coffee/tea makers.

  • Television
  • Fridge
  • Coffee maker
  • Hairdryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Air conditioning
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy a buffet breakfast daily.

Capt Starlight Restaurant – This restaurant serves breakfast and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar. Reservations are required.

Poddy Dodgers Bar/Bistro – This bar serves lunch, dinner and light fare. Guests can enjoy al fresco dining (weather permitting). A children's menu is available. Happy hour is offered.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time ends at 7 PM
  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM.

If arriving after hours, guests are asked to go to the bar area. Call Wilpena Pound Resort for more information using the number provided on the booking confirmation.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! One child stays free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No lifts

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for buffet breakfast: AUD 25 per person (approximately)
  • On-site credit card charges are subject to a surcharge

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Wilpena Pound Hawker
  • Wilpena Pound Resort Hawker
  • Wilpena Pound Hotel
  • Wilpena Pound Resort Flinders Ranges
  • Wilpena Pound Flinders Ranges
  • Wilpena Pound

You should know

  • Pool access available from 8 AM to 8 PM
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.