Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
3.9 out of 5

"Really nice place. Excellent service to be able to arrive late. Lovely staff. Cleanliness was good, but detail could have been better We enjoyed ou ... " More

By a verified traveller on Mon 20 Sep 2021

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At Wilpena Pound Resort you'll be within steps of Wilpena Pound and Ikara-Flinders Ranges National Park. Highlights at this resort include a restaurant, an outdoor swimming pool, and free self parking.

You can enjoy TVs, coffee/tea makers, and hair dryers, featured in all 60 rooms. Refrigerators, irons/ironing boards, and free toiletries are also available.

The restaurant, Capt Starlight Restaurant, is open for breakfast and dinner. Poddy Dodgers Bar/Bistro is the resort's own bar, serving drinks along with lunch and dinner. Enjoy access to bike rentals and hiking/biking trails. Other amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a coffee shop/café, and laundry facilities. Each morning full breakfast is served between 7:00 AM and 9:00 AM. There's also the convenience of RV/bus/truck parking.

Sights within a 10-minute drive of this 3.5-star Flinders Ranges resort include Mallonga Falls Hike Trailhead and Outside Trail Trailhead.

Standard Room (Brachina)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
AU$194* Per night/room 10 Oct. - 11 Oct.

Getaway Package with breakfast, Scenic Flight, Half Day 4x4 Tour and Sunset Tour

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Escape Package with breakfast, Scenic Flight and Half Day 4x4 Tour

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Adventure in style with 3 course dinner, full breakfast, half day 4x4 tour and scenic flight

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Deluxe Room (Heysen)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Family Tent (Safari)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Wilpena Pound Resort ratings based on 317 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.9 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Wilpena Pound Resort

Everyone (157) Couples (107) Family (42)
4 out of 5
Really nice place. Excellent service to be able to arrive late. Lovely staff. Cleanliness was good, but detail could have been better We enjoyed our stay.

Posted by on 20 Sep. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
The shared facilities were maintained well (pool, hikes, restaurant) but our room was dirty. They didn't give us a quilt cover and the quilt had stains all over it, the bathroom had mold, the toilet was about to fall apart and there was no ventilation for the bathroom, so I had to leave the door open all day to vent it out. Looks like the room hasn't been updated in over 20 years.

Posted by on 12 Sep. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Beautiful place. Room was nice, spacious and clean. So much to do and see. I wish I had stayed longer. Can’t wait to get back!

Posted by on 21 Aug. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

21 Aug. 2021 by Alistair

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to submit your 5 star feedback following your stay with us at Wilpena Pound Resort. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed staying in the heart of the spectacular Ikara-Flinders Ranges, and had the opportunity to get out and explore. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes, Alistair Rasmussen, Deputy General Manager.

4 out of 5
Location is great. Room preparation is lacking. First morning shower did not work, seemingly no water. Bath water ran ok next morning shower worked ok suggesting that running the water should be part of room preparation. Checking the number of tissues in the box should be included too. Food was basic and missing the final touches.

Posted by on 13 Aug. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Aug. 2021 by Alistair

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to submit your review following your stay with us at Wilpena Pound Resort, in the heart of the beautiful Ikara-Flinders Ranges. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will share your comments with out wider team, and use this feedback to address the issues you have raised. I trust you had the opportunity to explore the wider Ikara-Flinders Ranges area, and catch one of the stunning sunsets we experience in this part of the world. Best regards, Alistair Rasmussen, Deputy General Manager.

2 out of 5
The expensive apartments are spotted throughout the property giving individual views so if you are luck you may get one with bush views . Our room had comfy heating/cooling and a reasonable amount of room to move. However. What lets the room down is having the fridge inside a 2 door cupboard that requires both doors to be opened to access the fridge and it only has a small freezer section. The carpeted rooms is an old style carpet that has obviously been wet . While there was no odour it was loose and rolled up in spots. The bathroom tiles had a large area showing signs that the room may have been subject to flooding from outside. And that would explain the carpet also. They need replacing.

Posted by on 11 Aug. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Sep. 2021 by Alistair

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback following your stay with us at Wilpena Pound Resort. I am glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us in the heart of the stunning Ikara-Flinders Ranges. I am sorry to hear that we have not met all your expectations on this occasion, please accept my apologies. I will pass on your feedback to our team for review. I trust you got the opportunity to get out and explore the area - many of the great walks leave from nearby to our resort rooms. Safe travels, Alistair Rasmussen, Deputy General Manager.

3 out of 5

Posted by on 9 Aug. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Aug. 2021 by Alistair

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to review Wilpena Pound Resort following your stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to place a review. I trust that the remainder of your trip within the Ikara-Flinders Ranges was enjoyable. Best regards, Alistair Rasmussen, Deputy General Manager.

3 out of 5
Unable to canc

Posted by on 22 Jul. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

24 Jul. 2021 by Alistair

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of Wilpena Pound Resort. Please reach out to our reservations team in regards to your booking so that we can further investigate the situation. We hope that we will be able to welcome you to Wilpena Pound Resort in the future. Best wishes, Alistair Rasmussen Deputy General Manager

5 out of 5
Good clean motel unit no eating facilities Beds we’re comfy air conditioner was on high to keep warm so not too eco friendly still would stay again

Posted by on 20 Jul. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

24 Jul. 2021 by Alistair Rasmussen

Good morning, Thank you for sharing your 5 star review of Wilpena Pound Resort. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to Wilpena and the Ikara-Flinders Ranges in the future. Best wishes, Alistair Rasmussen, Deputy General Manager.

4 out of 5

Posted by on 16 Jul. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Jul. 2021 by Alistair

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to submit your 4 star review of Wilpena Pound Resort. I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us. Did you get the opportunity to take part in our Sunset Spectacular tour? This is a great opportunity to learn more about the Ikara-Flinders Ranges, whilst enjoying a marvelous sunset accompanied by wine and a tasting platter. Best wishes for the remainder of 2021, Alistair Rasmussen, Deputy General Manager.

4 out of 5

Posted by on 14 Jul. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

20 Aug. 2021 by Alistair

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to submit your 4 star review following your stay with us at Wilpena Pound Resort. We love to receive feedback, and are grateful you have taken the time to rate us as 4 stars. Best regards, Alistair Rasmussen, Deputy General Manager

Property Features

Along with a restaurant, there's a coffee shop/café on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Public spaces have free WiFi. An outdoor pool, a terrace, and tour/ticket assistance are also featured at Wilpena Pound Resort. The resort can provide concierge services and wedding services. Self parking is free. This 3.5-star Flinders Ranges resort is smoke free.

  • 60 guestrooms or units
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • 1 conference room
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Convenience store
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Gift shop
  • ATM
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Outdoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Grocery/convenience store
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator

Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking , RV, bus, truck parking

Transport

  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Wilpena Pound Resort offers 60 air-conditioned accommodations with hair dryers and irons/ironing boards. Guests can make use of the in-room refrigerators and coffee/tea makers. Additionally, rooms include complimentary toiletries and blackout drapes/curtains. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Television
  • Refrigerator
  • Coffee maker
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Blackout drapes
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy full breakfast daily from 7:00 AM to 9:00 AM.

Capt Starlight Restaurant - This restaurant serves breakfast and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar. Reservations are required.

Poddy Dodgers Bar/Bistro - This bar serves lunch, dinner, and light fare. Guests can enjoy alfresco dining (weather permitting). A children's menu is available. Happy hour is offered.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18
  • Check-in time ends at 7:30 PM

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 7:00 AM - 7:30 PM. If you arrive at the property after hours, you'll need to check in at an alternate location: Late Arrival box located outside ReceptionFront desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 7:00 AM - 7:30 PM.
Guests arriving after hours will need to go to the following location to check in: Late Arrival box located outside Reception
Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! One child stays free when using existing bedding.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, debit cards, and cash. For guests' safety, the property includes a fire extinguisher and a smoke detector in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Social distancing measures are in place; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests; guests are provided with hand sanitizer; cashless payment methods are available for all transactions. Enhanced food service safety measures are in place. Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast and lunch.

  • No lifts
  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • One child stays free
  • Debit cards
  • Staffed front desk
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff do not wear personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is not available for guests
  • No shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually wrapped food options are available
  • Individually wrapped food options are available for breakfast
  • Individually wrapped food options are available for lunch
  • No gap period between guests' stays
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is not available
  • Property does not follow sanitisation practices of any association
  • Guest accommodation is not sealed after cleaning
  • Electrostatic spray is not used for disinfection
  • Cashless transactions are available
  • Masks are not compulsory at the property
  • Contactless food service / room service is not available
  • Reservation is not required for facilities on site
  • Mobile key entry is not available
  • Food service has been amended for enhanced safety

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for full breakfast: AUD 25 for adults and AUD 12.5 for children (approximately)
  • Credit card charges are subject to a surcharge of 1.5 percent

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Wilpena Pound Hawker
  • Wilpena Pound Resort Hawker
  • Wilpena Pound Hotel
  • Wilpena Pound Resort Flinders Ranges
  • Wilpena Pound Flinders Ranges
  • Wilpena Pound
  • Wilpena Pound Resort Resort
  • Wilpena Pound Resort Flinders Ranges
  • Wilpena Pound Resort Resort Flinders Ranges

You should know

  • Pool access available from 8 AM to 8 PM.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing http://www.wotif.com/Flinders-Ranges-Hotels-Wilpena-Pound-Resort.h2738844-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Flinders-Ranges-Hotels-Wilpena-Pound-Resort.h2738844-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/Flinders-Ranges-Hotels-Wilpena-Pound-Resort.h2738844-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently asked questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.