Enter dates to see availability

4.2 out of 5

"Had two lovely days there and will go back again! Nice unit - very comfortable. Short walk to the seaside and the Urangan Pier. My wife loved the pool ... " More

By a verified traveller on Tue 28 Aug 2018

Hotel Description

At Whalecove Resort you'll be within just a 15-minute stroll of Great Sandy Straits Marina and Reefworld Aquarium. Highlights at this property include an outdoor swimming pool, and in-room kitchens and washers/dryers.

You can enjoy an LED TV with digital channels, and each apartment features free WiFi, free wired Internet and a balcony. In-room dining is easy with a kitchen that comes equipped with a fridge, a microwave and a hob. A living room, a DVD player and a coffee/tea maker are also available. Weekly housekeeping is available.

Enjoy the spa tub and pool loungers. Business travellers can take advantage of a meeting room and limo/town car service. Additionally, you'll find free WiFi in public areas and laundry facilities. Each morning buffet breakfast is served between 7 AM and 9:30 AM. There's also the convenience of free self parking.

Sights within a 20-minute walk of this 4-star Urangan property include Hervey Bay Botanic Garden and Urangan Pier.

1 Bedroom Apartment

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

2 Bedroom Apartment

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Apartment, 3 Bedrooms

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Whalecove Resort ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.2 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Whalecove Resort

Everyone (54) Couples (6) Family (48)
5 out of 5

Posted by on 19 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 May 2019 by Whale Cove

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to rate our apartments after your recent stay with us. Kind regards Jamee Whalecove Apartments

5 out of 5
Lovely quiet location within walking distance of marin and pier.

Posted by on 16 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

16 May 2019 by Whalecove reception

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also love going for a stroll out on the Urangan pier. The marina has some wonderful restaurants and cafe's all within easy walking distance Kind regards Rhona

4 out of 5
The TV could have been slightly larger, Maybe foxtel too, The apartment was roomy and we enjoyed our stay

Posted by on 6 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 May 2019 by Whalecove

Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave a review from your stay with us. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay in our units, they are very roomy and equipped with everything you need to enjoy your holiday. We have taken on board your comments regarding the television and foxtel We look forward to welcoming you back to Whalecove resort in the near future Kind regards Rhona Whalecove reception

4 out of 5
The 3 bedroom apartment was spacious enough for 5 adults, the pool and spa were great. The only downfalls were we were left with one roll of toilet paper for two toilets and 5 adults, the dishwasher was loaded with dirty dishes, cockroaches were everywhere upstairs. The management was helpful. The beds and pillows need a good update, super uncomfortable. We did enjoy our stay

Posted by on 5 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Mar. 2019 by Whalecove Apartments

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review from your recent stay with us. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The 3 bedroom townhouses are very spacious for larger groups staying and the pool and spa are always very popular - one of the largest resort pools in Hervey Bay. We are very disappointed to hear of the issues you had during your stay and have taken your comments on board and will address them accordingly so future guests do not experience the same. The townhouses have two toilets and each toilet should have had a roll of toilet paper on the holder and a spare under the cupboard, as they are self catering apartments there are no daily top ups included but you are able to collect extras from the reception office during your stay. Our units are pest controlled at the end of each year as part of the body corporate maintenance schedule and cockroaches have never been an issue, we are surprised to hear that you found them everywhere? We had pest control go back into the unit to do an inspection as part of their warranty and they were unable to find any evidence that they were there, so we do apologise if this was the case during your stay as it very uncommon. Our housekeeping department have a very strict check list for checking the units and shinning the glass wear and crockery is one of the items for an arrival check. During your stay you did mention that there were only a few glasses left in the dishwasher, so we are a little confused to how there was a dishwasher full of dirty dishes. We will be following up with the staff member who was on duty to ensure this does not happen. We really pride ourselves on offering guests with enjoyable, memorable stay and we are very disappointed that we were unable to meet our usual standard during your stay. We do hope that you can return to stay with us again. Kind regards

5 out of 5
Nice and quite without being out of the way. Perfect for the family

Posted by on 15 Jan. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 Jan. 2019 by Rhona from Whalecove reception

Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Whalecove Resort. Our lagoon style pool is great for all the family to enjoy, surrounded by our tropical gardens

3 out of 5
Likes - Location, security, size of apartment and ammenities. Had everything we needed. Dislikes- Cleanliness was poor. Stained carpets, tiled floor in kitchen, yes tiles clean but grout lines gross. Bathtub had chipped enamel. Clothes drier is missing a mounting component which has it hanging straight on the wall (should not be used in current condition). Whole apartment needs some general maintenance, a good clean and a spruce up.

Posted by on 9 Jan. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Jan. 2019 by Whalecove reception

Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased that you were happy with our location, we like that we are within walking distance to the Marina, the Marina has some fantastic restaurants. We would appreciate it if you would contact us and let us know which unit you were staying in so we can address the issues you experienced Kind regards Rhona Whalecove reception

5 out of 5
Nice large living space in apartment and nice gardens

Posted by on 9 Dec. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 Dec. 2018 by Whalecove Apartments

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a glowing review from your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the unit to be nice and spacious. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Jamee Whalecove Apartments

2 out of 5
It was extremely unclean. Light fittings hanging from ceiling. My crawling twins were black in half an hour.

Posted by on 2 Dec. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

5 Dec. 2018 by Jamee

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that your found the unit to be "extremely unclean". As we have not had any feedback from guests in regards to the things you mentioned in your review, we can only assume you did not contact or mention anything to the staff during your stay. It would have been useful to have had this brought to our attention at the time of your stay so we could have inspected the unit and taken the appropriate action at the time. Our housekeeping staff are very thorough with their cleaning and we are finding this Anonymous review extremely shocking. However, we do take all feedback seriously and we would like to discuss the review further with you. If you could please contact our office so we can have this followed up appropriately. Kind regards Jamee Whalecove Apartments

5 out of 5
Cleanliness and style of the room was at top quality. Very spacious and comfortable environment of the room and the staff were more than accommodating. Will definitely return

Posted by , from Brisbane on 14 Nov. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Nov. 2018 by Whalecove

Hi Tony Thank you for leaving such a glowing review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Whalecove Resort in the future Kind regards Rhona Whalecove Reception

5 out of 5
Fantastic apartment, lots of space. A great place to stay with two young children. Pool and garden area were lovely.

Posted by on 12 Nov. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

12 Nov. 2018 by Jamee

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review from your recent stay with us. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The grounds are gorgeous and the pool is always very popular this time of the year, especially with children. We hope to see you again int he near Future. Kind regards Jamee Whalecove Apartments

Property Features

Whalecove Resort offers its guests an outdoor pool and a spa tub. WiFi is free in public spaces. A limo/town car service and a meeting room are available. A terrace, tour or ticket assistance, and a BBQ are also featured at the business-friendly Whalecove Resort. Self parking is free. This 4-star Urangan apartment is smoke free.

  • 20 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • 2 buildings
  • Built in 2007
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • 1 conference room
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Self-service laundry
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Front desk safe
  • Car service
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Television in lobby
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Outdoor pool
  • Separate living room
  • Free WiFi
  • Kitchen
  • Laundry facilities
  • Washer/dryer
  • Full-sized refrigerator/freezer
  • Microwave
  • DVD player

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Hervey Bay, QLD (HVB) (5.4 km / 3.3 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Whalecove Resort offers 20 forms of air-conditioned accommodation with washers/dryers and DVD players. Rooms open to balconies. This accommodation offers separate living rooms. LED televisions come with digital channels. Accommodation at this 4-star apartment has kitchens with full-sized fridge/freezers, hobs, microwaves and kitchenware and utensils. Bathrooms include a combined bath/shower unit, complimentary toiletries and a hairdryer. This Urangan apartment provides complimentary wired and wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and complimentary newspapers. Additionally, rooms include coffee/tea makers and an iron/ironing board. Housekeeping is provided on a weekly basis.

  • In-room kitchen
  • Washer and dryer
  • Private balcony
  • Living room
  • HD television
  • Digital channels
  • DVD player
  • Fridge (full size)
  • Microwave
  • Hob
  • Dishwasher
  • Coffee maker
  • Kitchenware
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Housekeeping (weekly)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Hairdryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy a buffet breakfast daily from 7 AM to 9:30 AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 5 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open during the following times:

  • Monday-Friday: 8 AM-5 PM
  • Saturday-Sunday: 8 AM-10 AM
If you are planning to arrive after 5 PM, please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation.

This property's front desk is open during the following times:

  • Monday - Friday: 8 AM - 5 PM
  • Saturday - Sunday: 8 AM - 10 AM
Guests arriving after 5 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. Minimum Spring Break check-in age is 18 years old.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Only service animals are allowed
  • No lifts

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for buffet breakfast: AUD 18 for adults and AUD 13 for children (approximately)
  • Late check-out fee: AUD 47 (subject to availability)
  • Weekly housekeeping provided; fees apply for additional cleaning
  • On-site credit card charges are subject to a surcharge

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Whalecove Resort Urangan
  • Whalecove Resort
  • Whalecove Urangan