Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.5 out of 5

"The suburb was quiet and everyone was nice " More

By a verified traveller on Tue 15 Jun 2021

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At Portobello By The Sea you'll be within just a 15-minute stroll of Moffat Beach and Caloundra Private Clinic. Highlights at this hotel include a restaurant, an outdoor swimming pool, and in-room kitchens.

You can enjoy TVs with cable channels, and all 55 rooms feature free WiFi, balconies, and dining areas. Kitchens come with refrigerators, microwaves, and stovetops, making in-room dining convenient. Sitting areas, DVD players, and ceiling fans are also available. Weekly housekeeping is available.

This smoke-free hotel offers free WiFi in public areas, a terrace, and a garden. Additionally, you'll find laundry facilities, barbecue grills, and a picnic area. There's also the convenience of free self parking.

Places within a 30-minute walk of this 4-star Dicky Beach hotel include Shelly Beach and Currimundi Lake.

Apartment, 1 Bedroom, Balcony

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
AU$255* Per night/room 17 Sep. - 18 Sep.

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, Balcony

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Apartment, 3 Bedrooms, Balcony

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 7 Max

Portobello By The Sea ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.5 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Portobello By The Sea

Everyone (75) Couples (83) Family (71)
5 out of 5
The suburb was quiet and everyone was nice

Posted by on 15 Jun. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

Posted by on 21 May 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Great position, handy to beach and shops / cafes etc

Posted by on 13 May 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
We loved the location. The apartment was not clean to a standard i would expect, for the price we paid. Touch a window to open it and get black hands, bin in kitchen not cleaned from previous people, carpets stained and dirty. Bed was hard, pillows awful. Tv in lounge didnt work, laundry light blown. Bathrooms were cleaned. We understood its getting older but it should still be clean. Pool was nice, outside looks lovely, but inside needs a full reno.

Posted by on 6 Apr. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 Apr. 2021 by Manager

Thanks for your review. Unfortunately, all units are furnished by individual owners. If you were able to let us know which unit you stayed in, I can pass this onto the owner so we can action it.

4 out of 5
view across the Pacific ocean is excellent if you can have one of the units facing north east If you have mobility problems, the stairs to higher floors can be a problem, as no lift to them close to food outlets, coffee and the beach across the road

Posted by on 15 Mar. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 Apr. 2021 by Manager

Thanks for your feedback, yes the 2 bedroom units are walk up stairs and the 1 and 3 bedroom units are on the lift side. Unfortunately this is how it wa built. For guests with mobility issues, we do have some lower floor units

4 out of 5

Posted by on 11 Mar. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 Apr. 2021 by Manager

Thanks for you review

3 out of 5

Posted by on 26 Feb. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 Apr. 2021 by Reservations

Thanks for your stay

5 out of 5
close to everything that we needed pool area was great

Posted by on 23 Dec. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

27 Dec. 2020 by Manager

Thanks for letting us know. We are happy you enjoyed your stay.

1 out of 5
Misleading information. Says there is a lift, but there is only a lift in one part of the complex. For the rest you have to take the stairs, Not so good for the elderly. Also units are shabby, rundown and in need of repair and a proper clean. Mildew in bathrooms, broken tiles in shower held together with duct tape, torn fabric on sofa, dirty stains on bath towels and tea towels, broken venitian blinds. Only fans in bedrooms (no air-con) and fans work poorly. Key-pad to carpark often doesn't work, so have to ask staff to open the gate. Fridge freezes food, even on coolest setting. Had trouble turning off hotplate in kitchen, it was still hot 6 hous later even though it was turned off. Thick pile of dust behind dresser in bedroom (easily visable behind TV) etc, etc.

Posted by on 17 Dec. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

27 Dec. 2020 by Manager

Thank you for your feedback. All your issues have been passed onto housekeeping and maintenance to be rectified.

2 out of 5
Will not stay again and would not recommend. Secure underground parking and lift to unit.Unit was tidy but not clean.(Was expecting a professionally cleaned unit during a global pandemic.) Balcony was not usable whilst aircon was on, toilet/bathroom had no exhaust fan and one window which opened onto resort walkway. Ceiling fans, doors, air conditioner, fridge, toilet and shower all worked fine. Did not test all windows, tv, Foxtel, phone, dishwasher, washing machine, dryer, cook top, kettle, toaster, swimming pool, or restaurant. Small container of milk, sugar satchels, soaps, shampoo, conditioner, bin bags, toilet paper, dish liquid, and washing liquid were provided in handy sample sizes - no tea, coffee, salt or pepper satchels. Internet was limited and very slow. Over priced for the quality/age of furnishing and appliances, the lack of cleanliness,lack of screens on windows and door, and poor design choices and placements in regards to the lack of bathroom exhaust fan and the air-conditioner pumping hot air onto the balcony. Location is excellent - being walking distance to Dicky beach and a small selection of essential and handy shops including takeaways, cafes, pharmacy, liquor store, hair dresser, butcher, cafes, onsite restaurant, and small IGA.

Posted by , from QLD on 30 Nov. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

2 Dec. 2020 by Manager

Thank you for your thorough assessment of the unit.

Property Features

There's a restaurant on site. WiFi is free in public spaces. An outdoor pool, a terrace, and tour/ticket assistance are also featured at Portobello By The Sea. Self parking is free. This 4-star Sunshine Coast hotel is smoke free.

  • 55 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • 3 buildings
  • Dining venue
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Self-service laundry
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Convenience store
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Gift shop
  • Onsite shopping
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Outdoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Kitchen
  • Grocery/convenience store
  • Laundry facilities
  • Separate dining area
  • Full-sized refrigerator/freezer
  • Microwave
  • DVD player

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Portobello By The Sea offers 55 air-conditioned accommodations with DVD players and hair dryers. Rooms open to balconies. Accommodations offer separate sitting areas. Accommodations at this 4-star hotel have kitchens with full-sized refrigerators/freezers, stovetops, microwaves, and separate dining areas. Bathrooms include showers and complimentary toiletries. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Cable television is provided. Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and ceiling fans. Housekeeping is provided weekly.

  • In-room kitchen
  • Private balcony
  • Dining room
  • Sitting area
  • Television
  • Cable channels
  • DVD player
  • Refrigerator (full size)
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Electric kettle
  • Kitchenware
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (weekly)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Portobello By The Sea has a restaurant on site.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18
  • Check-in time ends at 5 PM

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open during the following times:

  • Monday - Friday: 8:30 AM - 5 PM
  • Saturday - Sunday: 9 AM - 2 PM
Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Reception hours are 9 AM - 2:30 PM on public holidays.

This property's front desk is open during the following times:

  • Monday - Friday: 8:30 AM - 5 PM
  • Saturday - Sunday: 9 AM - 2 PM
Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for AUD 35 per night.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for AUD 15.0 per night.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts major credit cards, Visa, Mastercard, and debit cards. Cash is not accepted. For guests' safety, the property includes a smoke detector in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. The property is professionally cleaned and disinfectant is used to clean the property. Contactless check-out is available. Each guestroom is kept vacant for a minimum of 24 hours between bookings.

  • Debit cards
  • Staffed front desk
  • Property uses a professional cleaning service
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • gap period enforced between guest stays 24 hours
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Late check-out is available for a fee (subject to availability)
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: AUD 15.0 per night
  • Rollaway bed fee: AUD 35 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Portobello Sea
  • Portobello Sea Apartment
  • Portobello Sea Apartment Dicky Beach
  • Portobello Sea Dicky Beach
  • Portobello By The Sea Hotel
  • Portobello By The Sea Dicky Beach
  • Portobello By The Sea Hotel Dicky Beach

You should know

  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.

National Rating

This property has been awarded a star rating from the Australian Star Ratings Agency, Star Ratings Australia.

url importing http://www.wotif.com/Sunshine-Coast-Hotels-Portobello-By-The-Sea.h4441087-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Sunshine-Coast-Hotels-Portobello-By-The-Sea.h4441087-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/Sunshine-Coast-Hotels-Portobello-By-The-Sea.h4441087-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently asked questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.