Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.0 out of 5

"Great location. Good view of the Marina and Bay from our balcony on the second floor. " More

By a verified traveller on Mon 29 Nov 2021

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At Marina Resort you'll be within a 20-minute stroll of d'Albora Marinas Nelson Bay and Tomaree National Park. Highlights at this motel include a restaurant, an outdoor swimming pool, and free self parking.

All 43 rooms feature free WiFi, balconies, and flat-screen TVs. Refrigerators, microwaves, and room service make in-room dining convenient. Separate bathtubs and showers, safes, and hair dryers are also available.

At the motel's own lounge bar, you can stop for a drink. Other amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a sauna, and a conference center. Buffet breakfast is available daily between 7:30 AM and 9:30 AM. There's also the convenience of free RV/bus/truck parking.

Places within a 30-minute walk of this 4-star Nelson Bay motel include Dutchmans Beach and Nelson Head Lighthouse.

Queen and Single

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max
AU$190* Per night/room 5 Dec. - 6 Dec.

Suite, 1 Bedroom

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Family Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Twin Room

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard King

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Queen Accessible

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Marina Resort ratings based on 568 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.0 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Marina Resort

Everyone (234) Couples (230) Business (2) Family (103)
5 out of 5
Great location. Good view of the Marina and Bay from our balcony on the second floor.

Posted by on 29 Nov. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Nov. 2021 by Manager

Thank you for taking the time to review the property. Marina Resort☺

4 out of 5
Good location, can walk to everything.

Posted by on 28 Nov. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Nov. 2021 by Manager

Thank you for taking the time to review the property. Marina Resort☺

5 out of 5
Excellent location. Rooms are clean and tidy, bed super comfy.

Posted by on 31 Oct. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Nov. 2021 by Manager

Thank you Julie, We appreciate your kind words as our Staff work hard to try to deliver the best we can. Best Regards Martine

4 out of 5

Posted by on 26 Aug. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
The view was good. Reception was fine, quick service and fast attention re dodgy a/c. The term Resort is very misleading. This is an average hotel which is dated but slightly overpriced. Skimping on biscuits for your tea/coffee and not providing a pergola for onsite parking during rainy days does not go unnoticed. Smart TV offering Netflix & Youtube are plus's. A coffee table with a crippled leg, elevator with handwritten digits and staff not in uniform plus fresh paint on old bathroom tiles and vanity are negatives. Summary $160 paid for a a $100 premises. I doubt we'll return..

Posted by on 30 May 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

31 May 2021 by Reception - Marina Resort

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments. Please let me respond to your individual points. * All the air-cons are less than 2 years old. Unfortunately the a/c remote settings on your room 107 had locked up and it needed to be switched off and on again to reset it. We hope the air-con worked fine for you after this had been done. We're sorry if the issue led you to conclude the a/c here is "dodgy". * The term Resort is a legacy of our early years when we were deemed such. We are a medium sized motel. * Biscuits are placed out on offer at our reception for those who would like them * It is true we do not have under cover parking here, but the parking is free and plenty, unlike many city hotels. * I will have maintenance fix the 'crippled' coffee table leg. Thank you for reporting the issue so a bit of care for the disabled may be implemented. * We have tried multiple times to get new buttons for the elevator, but the lift maintenance company tell us they are no longer produced and impossible to source. * Our staff are honest and professional. Our apologies for not being in uniform. * Maintenance has recently retouched some of the scratched bathroom tiles and vanities. They are mid job and yet to be properly resprayed this week. I'll let them know you feel it was not a good look. * Pricing is dynamic and always determined by supply and demand in any area. Our pricing is very reasonable and fair when compared to other similar properties in the area. In summary, thank you for staying with us, we will take your criticisms on board and address them.

3 out of 5
View from Balcony of the marina was quite spectacular.

Posted by on 27 May 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

28 May 2021 by Reception - Marina Resort

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a comment. Thank you for staying. We are very privileged to have the wonderful views we have out over the Nelson Bay waters.

5 out of 5
Beautiful view,close to everything,beautiful buffet breakfast at a great price,lovely clean rooms

Posted by on 30 Apr. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 May 2021 by Reception - Marina Resort

Thanks so much for your lovely feedback. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

4 out of 5
Great location, Excellent service. Close to Marina Beach and shops, walking distance. Spectacular view.

Posted by on 21 Apr. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

21 Apr. 2021 by Tim

Thank you so much for your positive comments

4 out of 5
Liked large off street parking area. May bring my boat next time

Posted by on 31 Mar. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

31 Mar. 2021 by Reception - Marina Resort

Thank you for your feedback. We are lucky to have our large, private outdoor car park around the back of the hotel. Car spaces are not allocated according to room, but with plenty of parking there is usually enough spots for guests with 2 cars or additional boats or trailers. As you know, there is no underpass, so no height restrictions. Parking is free for guests of the hotel and it is not necessary to pre-book a parking space. Kind regards, Reception/Reservations

4 out of 5

Posted by on 7 Mar. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

20 Mar. 2021 by Tim.

Thank you!

Property Features

Marina Resort offers its guests an outdoor pool and a sauna. There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. WiFi is free in public spaces. Marina Resort also features tour/ticket assistance, a garden, and laundry facilities. Self parking is free. This 4-star Nelson Bay motel is smoke free.

  • 43 guestrooms or units
  • 5 levels
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Conference center
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Garden
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site
  • Bar or lounge
  • Dining venue

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Number of outdoor pools - 1
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking , Free RV, bus, truck parking

Transport

  • Parking: Free self parking and RV/bus/truck parking

Room Amenities

Marina Resort offers 43 air-conditioned accommodations with safes and hair dryers. Rooms open to balconies. Refrigerators and microwaves are provided. Bathrooms include separate bathtubs and showers and complimentary toiletries. This Nelson Bay motel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Flat-screen televisions are featured in guestrooms. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Private balcony
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Electric kettle
  • Separate shower and tub
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available
  • Free tea bags/instant coffee

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy buffet breakfast daily from 7:30 AM to 9:30 AM.

Marina Resort has a restaurant on site.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 7:30 PM

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 7:30 AM - 7:30 PM.
Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for AUD 20.0 per night.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for AUD 25.0 per night.

Pet Policy

  • Pets and service animals are not allowed at Marina Resort

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Diners Club, JCB International, debit cards, and cash. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Social distancing measures are in place; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests; guests are provided with hand sanitizer.

  • Service animals not allowed
  • Debit cards
  • Staffed front desk
  • LGBTQIA friendly
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff do not wear personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is not available for guests
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • No gap period between guests' stays
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Property does not follow sanitisation practices of any association

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for buffet breakfast: AUD 16 for adults and AUD 8 for children (approximately)
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: AUD 25.0 per night
  • Rollaway bed fee: AUD 20.0 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Marina Nelson Bay
  • Marina Resort Nelson Bay
  • Marina Resort Motel
  • Marina Resort Nelson Bay
  • Marina Resort Motel Nelson Bay

You should know

  • Pool access available from 7:30 AM to 7:30 PM.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
  • Pets and service animals are not allowed on site.
  • This property welcomes guests of all sexual orientations and gender identities (LGBTQ friendly).

National Rating

This property has been awarded a star rating from the Australian Star Ratings Agency, Star Ratings Australia.

url importing http://www.wotif.com/Nelson-Bay-Hotels-Marina-Resort.h2652994-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Nelson-Bay-Hotels-Marina-Resort.h2652994-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/Nelson-Bay-Hotels-Marina-Resort.h2652994-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently asked questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.