Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.6 out of 5

"The boys had a great time because the wildlife is amazing. The turtles were laying their eggs and came right up to the cabins. " More

By a verified traveller on Fri 25 Sep 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat you'll be within just a 15-minute stroll of Urangan Pier and Hervey Bay Botanic Garden. Highlights at this condo resort include an outdoor swimming pool, and in-room kitchenettes and free WiFi.

Each condo is individually decorated and features a TV with a DVD player, along with a patio, a hair dryer, and an iron/ironing board. In-room dining is easy with a kitchenette that comes equipped with a refrigerator and a microwave. Nice touches to enhance your stay include a rainfall showerhead and free toiletries. Weekly housekeeping is available.

This smoke-free condo resort offers free WiFi in public areas, a library, and a terrace. Added amenities include laundry facilities, a garden, and barbecue grills. There's also free self parking, along with the convenience of an airport shuttle.

Places within a 30-minute walk of this 3.5-star Urangan condo resort include Reefworld Aquarium and Great Sandy Straits Marina.

Standard Villa

Bed Count 1 Twin Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max
AU$110* Per night/room 6 Oct. - 7 Oct.

Family Villa

Bed Count 3 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Standard Villa 2 Pax

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.6 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat

Everyone (63) Couples (65) Family (67)
4 out of 5
The boys had a great time because the wildlife is amazing. The turtles were laying their eggs and came right up to the cabins.

Posted by , from Brisbane on 25 Sep. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
Cabins are very old. Cupboards falling apart and a musty smell. Bathroom tap leaked heavily through entire trip. Middle of winter but our reverse cycle air conditioner did not work. It was freezing and the owners said it could not be fixed during our stay. Not hugely kid friendly as outside is mostly driveways and the lake. Have to be careful with young children. Won’t be staying again.

Posted by , from Brisbane on 14 Aug. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 Aug. 2020 by Deb

Hi Elisha. Thank you for your review. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay - however - you were assigned to another room, which you insisted was not suitable for your needs (your three children required separate beds - a queen, single and trundle single were somehow not sufficient for them) and demanded to be changed to another room. You were advised the only room we had was closed because the air con system was NOT working and were given a key to inspect the room first. You CHOSE to take the room even given all this advice prior to your inspection. Not kid friendly because of the lake? You're kidding right? You booked a villa and requested a lake view - what did you expect? We hugely promote the property as exactly that so I'm not sure what you expected when you arrived here. We have 10 acres and there is plenty of room for the children to explore with a playground, an island and lots more to do. The driveway runs down one side of the property. We never saw you or your family venture through the rest of the property so you missed out on so much that the children could have explored. You never once during your entire (2 night) stay mentioned a leaking tap (thank you now though, we will get it fixed asap). Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review though.

5 out of 5
Fantastic location, the grounds are just devine, loved the turtles...check in was fantastic....highly recommend

Posted by , from Cooroy QLD on 29 Jul. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Jul. 2020 by Deb

Hi Helen - thank you so much for a lovely review. Those turtles.....what can we say lol. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again when you need a break

4 out of 5
great place to relax and unwind from the day to day grind

Posted by , from Brisbane on 26 Jul. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Jul. 2020 by Deb

Thank you Elizabeth. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you back here again soon

3 out of 5
The place itself was lovely, nice atmosphere. Clean but dated facilities. The only thing that wasn't great was our daughter was told off trying to feed a duck and it ran away from her. She was accused of chasing it. i was there and this wasn't the case. unfortunately she then felt nervous for the rest of the time there.

Posted by on 20 Jul. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

21 Jul. 2020 by Deb

Hi Sally - thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We will speak to the owner of villa 20 and see if we can have some updates done soon. We have had to put renos on a back burner for a while because of covid but we can look at restarting again. Your daughter wasn't told off - she was asked not to chase the ducks - there were no raised voices or anything like that. I'm sorry if she felt nervous afterwards but we are very open with guests with regards to respecting the wildlife as you are coming into their home. True she was not "chasing" them, but she did strike out and hit it. I have viewed video footage to confirm this after I spoke to my husband regarding your comment here. He was quite warranted in his actions. We are sorry you felt this made your stay unpleasant. We hope you will come again though as we love seeing children interacting appropriately with the animals.

4 out of 5
Good location. Rooms quiet and clean. Great aspect with the birdlife on the lake. Pillows need an upgrade.

Posted by , from Brisbane on 5 Jul. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Jul. 2020 by Deb

Hi Ian Thank you - we are glad you enjoyed your stay. I will let our housekeepers know you appreciate their hard work - thank you. Two huge boxes of new pillows arrived in the office this week - we just haven't had a chance to get them out yet. We did replace them all about 6 months ago, but unfortunately sometimes guests bring one with them and take our new ones home. We are working hard to stop that happening now though.

4 out of 5
Great setting and location. Friendly turtles. Good pool.

Posted by , from Biddeston on 22 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

25 Feb. 2020 by Deb

Thank you D. We are glad you loved the location and the wildlife. It certainly has been great pool weather too.

5 out of 5
The people there were really helpful even though I was a last minute late night check in, saved me from sleeping in my car

Posted by on 8 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

8 Jan. 2020 by Deb

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad we could help. Perhaps we will see you again sometime for a not so urgent visit.

5 out of 5
Peaceful setting next to the lagoon. Large, private cabins.

Posted by on 7 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Jan. 2020 by Deb

Thank you - we are glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax.

4 out of 5
Very quiet & relaxing. Kids loved the ducks & turtles. Needs some maintenance in the cabin. Floor was damaged in a few sections causing us to roll our ankles. Cleaners take short cuts. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Posted by on 5 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

5 Jan. 2020 by Deb

Thanks for your review Ricky. We appreciate you letting us know of the floor issue. We can certainly take that up with our Body Corporate next week. We have also addressed the problem you identified with the cleaners. Again, thank you. We are glad you got to interact with the ducks and turtles, thats what we are all about. We hope to see you for a return visit.

About the Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat

Location 1 Shell Street, Urangan, QLD 4655

Property Features

As a guest of Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, you'll find an outdoor pool, a library, and a terrace. Public spaces have free WiFi. Tour/ticket assistance, barbecue grills, and a garden are also featured at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat. Self parking is free. This 3.5-star Hervey Bay condominium resort is smoke free.

  • 36 guestrooms or units
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Library
  • Convenience store
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Outdoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Kitchenette
  • Grocery/convenience store
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Free cribs/infant beds
  • DVD player

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Hervey Bay, QLD (HVB) (5.2 km / 3.2 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Airport shuttle
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat offers 36 air-conditioned accommodations with DVD players and hair dryers. Rooms open to patios. Each accommodation is individually furnished and decorated. Accommodations at this 3.5-star condominium resort have kitchenettes with refrigerators and microwaves. Bathrooms include showers with rainfall showerheads, and complimentary toiletries. This Hervey Bay condominium resort provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Housekeeping is provided weekly.

  • In-room kitchenette
  • Private patio
  • Television
  • DVD player
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Electric kettle
  • Shower
  • Rainfall showerhead
  • Cribs (free)
  • Housekeeping (weekly)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Unique furnishings
  • Unique decor

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 5:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM.
Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 3 children 17 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. Onsite parties or group events are strictly prohibited. For guests' safety, the property includes a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, and window guards in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.The property is professionally cleaned, and disinfectant is used to clean the property.Contactless check-out is available.Each guestroom is kept vacant for a minimum of 72 hours between bookings.

  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staffed front desk
  • Events/parties not allowed
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No lifts
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Debit cards
  • Number of children who can stay for free – 3
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • gap period enforced between guest stays 72 hours
  • Property uses a professional cleaning service
  • Contactless check-out is available

Hotel Names

  • Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat
  • Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat Condo
  • Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat Condo Urangan
  • Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat Urangan
  • Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
  • ctuary s Fauna Retreat Uranga
  • Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat Urangan
  • Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat Condominium resort
  • Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat Condominium resort Urangan

You should know

  • Up to 3 children 17 years old and younger stay free in the same room as the parent or guardian when using existing bedding.
  • Alcohol isn't served at Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat.
url importing http://www.wotif.com/Hervey-Bay-Hotels-Sanctuary-Lakes-Fauna-Retreat.h3158335-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Hervey-Bay-Hotels-Sanctuary-Lakes-Fauna-Retreat.h3158335-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/Hervey-Bay-Hotels-Sanctuary-Lakes-Fauna-Retreat.h3158335-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.