Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.5 out of 5

"Very stylish and clean! Great location. Would definitely stay again :) " More

By a verified traveller on Tue 21 Jul 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At Jag Escape Franz Alpine Retreat you'll be 4.6 km (2.9 mi) from Glacier Hot Pools and 4.7 km (2.9 mi) from Westcoast Wildlife Centre. Highlights at this property include in-room free WiFi and balconies.

All 17 cabins feature flat-screen TVs with satellite channels, and you can enjoy coffee/tea makers, portable fans, and hair dryers. In-room dining is easy with amenities like refrigerators, microwaves, and room service. You'll find nice touches like hydromassage showerheads and free toiletries to enhance your stay.

This property has free WiFi in public areas, a terrace, and a garden. Other amenities include tour/ticket assistance and a front-desk safe. Continental breakfast is available daily between 8:00 AM and 11:00 AM. There's also the convenience of free self parking.

With a stay at this 4-star Franz Josef Glacier property, you'll be 9.1 km (5.7 mi) from Franz Josef Glacier.

Unit, 1 Queen bed

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
AU$100* Per night/room 1 Dec. - 2 Dec.

Chalet, 2 Bedrooms, Garden View

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Unit, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Mountain View

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Chalet, 2 Bedrooms, Courtyard Area

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Chalet, 2 Bedrooms

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Chalet, 1 Bedroom

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Jag Escape Franz Alpine Retreat ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.5 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Jag Escape Franz Alpine Retreat

Everyone (34) Couples (36) Family (67)
4 out of 5
Very stylish and clean! Great location. Would definitely stay again :)

Posted by , from Bay Of Plenty on 21 Jul. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Our two bedroom apartment was very clean and tidy. The extra heaters left for us in the room left us cozy and warm during the cold winter night. Just out of town it was an easy 5 minute drive to get to the local restaurants. The wifi was poor with very patchy coverage.

Posted by , from Christchurch on 16 Jul. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Jul. 2020 by Cindy

Hi Anonymous, Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read that you are happy with the accommodation and facilites. With regards to the wifi, we are hard to get fast speed internet and only get ADSL due to the location itself. but we still have good mobile reception around if you need to do some urgent work online. Hope you have a good day in Franz Josef.

5 out of 5
Located a couple of kilometers out of town meant that it was very quiet, room was spacious and comfortable. Whilst the surrounding views weren't as good as we expected they were still there. Laundry facilities were available for a cost. Kitchenette facilities were adequate for preparing light breakfast and reheating take away leftovers.

Posted by on 8 Mar. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Posted by on 21 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Posted by on 13 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

20 Feb. 2020 by Cindy

Hi Anonymous, Thanks for your positive review. Hope you enjoyed your journey in New Zealand.

2 out of 5
The cabin we were provided smelled of mould. At $400 a night, not good enough, especially for someone with allergies. I also question the appropriateness of their policy to have guests clean their own used cups, plates, cutlery etc (under the threat of additiional cleaning fèes if you leave dirty plates). How can i be sure the last guests cleaned things properly?? Floor also creaked when you walked and no window coverings in the bathroom so questionable privacy.

Posted by on 3 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Feb. 2020 by Cindy

Good Afternoon Limowrecker, Thank you for sharing the review regarding your current stay. Apologies for the smell of the cabin, but I can't find your reservation under name "limowrecker" and can't figure out which room you actually stay in. We haven't received any comments about the smell before and not sure why it happen. With regards the cleaning fee, we actually never charge guests cleaning fee unless it's rediculous dirty. Everytime we will re-polish and re-check all the cutleris, plates, cups etc during the cleaning process. Hope you have a good journey in New Zealand

2 out of 5
Needed a proper clean, as much hair as a hairdressers that hasn’t been swept for a day and as much dust as a roadworks with no water truck

Posted by on 29 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Feb. 2020 by Cindy

Hi Anonymous, Thank you for sharing your recent review. Apologies for all inconvience during your stay. Since you left the comment under Anonymous, we can't find out which room you actually mentioned about. Kindly noted that we should have inspected all the rooms after clean and vaccum. I will share the comment with my housekeeping team and we will take more care about the cleaning process.

5 out of 5
Perfect cabin for a few nights away, central and with all required amenities.

Posted by on 9 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Jan. 2020 by Cindy

Hi Anonymous, Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay. We are appreciated to read that you have enjoyed your stay. Hope you enjoyed your rest of journey in New Zealand.

3 out of 5
No cleaning of rooms, poor WiFi, weed filled gardens, had to wash plates in bathroom sink, no space for toiletries. Not good enough!

Posted by on 12 Nov. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 Nov. 2019 by Cindy

Good Afternoon Anonymous, Thank you for sharing your review. Since you left the comment by Anonymous, it's bit hard to find out which room you have been stayed before. However, we provide daily room service to each in-house guest. With regards to our room service, we will top up the tea/coffee section, change the rubbish bag and change the towel if they were left on the floor. Apologies for the WIFI issue. But we are based on the rural location and have been through the bad weather. I will share your review with our team and put all in consideration for any future improvement. We hope you have a good journey in New Zealand.

4 out of 5

Posted by on 30 Aug. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

31 Aug. 2019 by Cindy

Hi Anonymous, Thank you for your review.

About the Jag Escape Franz Alpine Retreat

Location 2 Donovan Drive, Sh 6, Franz Josef Glacier, 7886

Property Features

Jag Escape Franz Alpine Retreat offers its guests a terrace, tour/ticket assistance, and a garden. WiFi is free in public spaces. Self parking is free. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 4-star Franz Josef Glacier cabin.

  • 17 guestrooms or units
  • Built in 2008
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Hokitika (HKK) (131.4 km / 81.6 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Jag Escape Franz Alpine Retreat offers 17 accommodations with coffee/tea makers and hair dryers. Rooms open to balconies or patios. Refrigerators and microwaves are provided. Bathrooms include showers with hydromassage showerheads, and complimentary toiletries. This Franz Josef Glacier cabin provides complimentary wireless Internet access. 21-inch flat-screen televisions come with satellite channels. Housekeeping is offered daily and irons/ironing boards can be requested.

  • Private balcony or patio
  • In-room dining
  • Flat-screen television
  • Satellite channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower
  • Hydromassage showerhead
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board available
  • Heating
  • Portable fan

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy continental breakfast daily from 8:00 AM to 11:00 AM.

Room service is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18
  • Check-in time ends at 8:00 PM

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM. To make arrangements for check-in please contact the property at least 24 hours before arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. If you are planning to arrive after 8:00 PM please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests planning to arrive outside of normal check-in hours will receive an email with check-in instructions and key retrieval information. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM.
To arrange for check-in, guests must contact the property at least 24 hours prior to arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests arriving after 8:00 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests planning to arrive outside of normal check-in hours must contact the property in advance for check-in information and key retrieval information. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for NZD 45.0 per night.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit or credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. This property accepts credit cards, debit cards, and cash. For guests' safety, the property includes a smoke detector in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F.Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available.Each guestroom is kept vacant for a minimum of 24 hours between bookings.

  • No lifts
  • Cash or credit card deposit required
  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Debit cards
  • Guests will receive an email with special check-in instructions
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Staffed front desk
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • gap period enforced between guest stays 24 hours
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: NZD 50 per day
  • Breakage deposit: NZD 50 per day

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for continental breakfast: NZD 14 for adults and NZD 14 for children (approximately)
  • Rollaway bed fee: NZD 45.0 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Franz Alpine Retreat Cabin
  • Franz Alpine Retreat Cabin Franz Josef Glacier
  • Franz Alpine Retreat Franz Josef Glacier
  • Jag Escape Franz Alpine Retreat Cabin Franz Josef Glacier
  • Jag Escape Franz Alpine Retreat Cabin
  • Jag Escape Franz Alpine Retreat Franz Josef Glacier
  • Jag Escape Franz Alpine Retreat
  • Jag Escape Franz Alpine Retreat Cabin
  • Jag Escape Franz Alpine Retreat Franz Josef Glacier
  • Jag Escape Franz Alpine Retreat Cabin Franz Josef Glacier

You should know

  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
  • Guests may experience noise disturbance due to nearby construction work.

National Rating

This property does not have a Qualmark® rating. For the benefit of our customers, we have provided a rating based on our rating system.

url importing http://www.wotif.com/Franz-Josef-Glacier-Hotels-Jag-Escape-Franz-Alpine-Retreat.h3190239-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Franz-Josef-Glacier-Hotels-Jag-Escape-Franz-Alpine-Retreat.h3190239-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/Franz-Josef-Glacier-Hotels-Jag-Escape-Franz-Alpine-Retreat.h3190239-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.