Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.1 out of 5

"Beautiful view - loved the visit from cockatoo ! Only letdown was the shower " More

By a verified traveller on Sun 07 Aug 2022

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

A luxury stay in Wollongong awaits you at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach. Within steps you'll find Stuart Park and North Wollongong Beach within a short 5-minute stroll. Highlights at this beachfront hotel include 4 bars/lounges, a restaurant, and an outdoor swimming pool.

The restaurant, Palisade Kitchen & Bar, is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The Frisky Flamingo is the hotel's own sports bar, serving drinks along with light fare. Spend the day at the beach where you'll find sun loungers. Business amenities include a conference center and a business center. Added amenities include WiFi in public areas, a snack bar/deli, and coffee/tea in a common area. Buffet breakfast is available on weekdays between 6:30 AM and 10:00 AM and on weekends between 6:30 AM and 10:00 AM. There's also the convenience of self parking.

Sights within a 10-minute walk of this 4.5-star Wollongong CBD hotel include Towradgi Beach and Brighton Beach.

Room, 2 Queen Beds, City View

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
AU$168* Per night/room 28 Aug. - 29 Aug.

Room, 1 Queen Bed, City View

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Balcony, Ocean View

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Balcony, Ocean View

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Studio Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Suite, 1 Queen Bed with Sofa bed, Beachfront

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Novotel Wollongong Northbeach ratings based on 396 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.1 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Novotel Wollongong Northbeach

Everyone (208) Couples (89) Family (73)
5 out of 5
Great..

Posted by on 12 Aug. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

12 Aug. 2022 by Guest Relations Coordinator

Dear Alisha, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a rating following you recent stay at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach. We were delighted to receive a five star rating and to know that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to welcome you back to Novotel Northbeach soon! Kind regards, Lucy

5 out of 5
Beautiful view - loved the visit from cockatoo ! Only letdown was the shower

Posted by on 7 Aug. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

8 Aug. 2022 by Guest Experience Manager

Dear lynsey, Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and for rating us 5/5. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay, in particular our beautiful views and also the visit from our regular cockatoos! Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the shower in the room you occupied. For any future stays, please do not hesitate to contact our friendly team who will be more than happy to assist with such faults. The team at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Nadine

5 out of 5
Great location

Posted by on 4 Aug. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

5 Aug. 2022 by Guest Relations Coordinator

Dear Young, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a rating following you recent stay at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach. We were delighted to receive a five star rating and to know that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to welcome you back to Novotel Northbeach in the future. Kind regards, Lucy

5 out of 5
Stayed here in May and was very happy. I had room service plus breakfast in the morning. Very convenient, food was lovely and a beautiful spot. I would love to stay again. There is however a strict no refund condition which is difficult (it appears you can't even modify your booking). This will factor into travel plans.

Posted by on 4 Aug. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

5 Aug. 2022 by Guest Relations Coordinator

Dear C, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit to Novotel Wollongong Northbeach! It is always such a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will certainly share your comments with our team as I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one! Kind regards, Lucy

4 out of 5
Novatel North Beach Wollongong has great ocean views and is very well located near the city of Wollongong. Rooms are fresh and well appointed. We have stayed before and like the Hotel and surrounds. Thanks to Novatel for our Small gift on our Wedding Day. A little dissappointed in the North Bar. On several occasions I returned other guests glasses to the bar- Perhaps this is inexperience post Covid 19, but to me staff need to keep the areas around the bar and tables clean and free of empties after patrons leave. Slow service on staff's behalf lost sales as we watched two patrons leave without ordering after long waits for being served for drinks. The breakfast included in our package is, as always great value, and freshly cooked. The dining area is clean and staff are helpful & pleasant. Our room was great, clean with sensational views. All clean and tidy. Thanks again Novatel for a great stay.

Posted by on 28 Jul. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Jul. 2022 by Guest Relations Coordinator

Dear Ian, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit to Novotel Wollongong Northbeach! We are delighted to hear that you had another pleasant stay with us, our staff were friendly and helpful, you were comfortable, and you enjoyed our breakfast service! And another big congratulations on behalf of the entire team on your marriage. We are, however, disappointed to hear our standards fell short in North Bar. Please know that your valued feedback has been passed onto management to review and address. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback, we hope to welcome you back to Novotel Wollongong Northbeach again soon! Kind regards, Lucy

4 out of 5
Was clean and comfortable. The lifts were broken again.

Posted by , from Dunlop on 9 Jul. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 Jul. 2022 by Guest Relations Coordinator

Dear Kolby, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a rating following you recent stay at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach. We were delighted to receive a four star rating and to know that you enjoyed your stay! Please allow us to extend our sincere apologies for the operational issues we were facing with the lifts during your stay. As a result of the severe weather conditions we had faced, this unfortunately affected our lift operations. We greatly appreciated your patience whilst we were working to resolve this, and hope this didn’t affect your overall stay. We hope to welcome you back to Novotel Wollongong Northbeach in the future! Kind regards, Lucy

3 out of 5
Very tired facility needs renovation. Staff friendly but not helpful. No free Wifi still charging like early 2000’s. Can tell this place benefits from lack of competition.

Posted by on 8 Jun. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

10 Jun. 2022 by Guest Relations Coordinator

Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Wollongong Northbeach. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. We are extremely disappointed to hear that you did not find our staff to be helpful. We pride ourselves in delivering the highest standards of hospitality and customer service to ensure a bright and bubbly atmosphere for our guests. If you have any further comments as to what occurred, or suggestions on how we could improve our service please do not hesitate to reach out to our Guest Relations team. In regards to our Wi-Fi, we are pleased to advise that we offer Wi-Fi to our Accor members across all Accor properties. We sincerely apologise if this was not communicated to you upon arrival. For future reference, please do not hesitate to ask for assistance to sign up to our membership. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience, please be assured that your feedback has been passed onto management to review and address. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Novotel Wollongong Northbeach in order to better serve you in the near future. Kind regards, Lucy

4 out of 5
Beach at the front door and breakfast buffet were the highlights. Damp smell in room and street noise were the lowlights.

Posted by on 1 Jun. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Jun. 2022 by Guest Relations Executive

Dear Michael, Thank you for providing us with feedback following your recent stay at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our spectacular location, and also our delicious breakfast offering! Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused by the damp smell in your room, and also the street noise. We look forward to accommodating you again soon. Kind regards, Nadine

2 out of 5

Posted by on 13 May 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Posted by on 11 May 2022

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Novotel Wollongong Northbeach

Location 2-14 Cliff Road, North Wollongong, NSW 2500

Property Features

Along with a restaurant, there's a snack bar/deli on site. You can enjoy a drink at one of the bars, which include 4 bars/lounges and a poolside bar. There's an onsite business center. A computer station is on site and WiFi is available in public spaces for a fee. An outdoor pool, a rooftop terrace, and tour/ticket assistance are also featured at the luxury Novotel Wollongong Northbeach. For a fee, parking is available. This 4.5-star Wollongong hotel is smoke free.

  • 209 guestrooms or units
  • 10 levels
  • 4 bars or lounges
  • 518 sq m of conference space
  • Deli
  • Terrace on the roof
  • Beach lounge chairs
  • Conference center
  • Business facilities
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Convenience store
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • Television in lobby
  • ATM
  • Onsite shopping
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site
  • Bar by the pool
  • Dining venue

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Number of outdoor pools - 1
  • Soundproofed rooms
  • Grocery/convenience store
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: WiFi (surcharge) , Wired internet access (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: WiFi (surcharge)

Parking

Self parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Train station: North Wollongong Station (2.7 km / 1.7 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Novotel Wollongong Northbeach offers 209 air-conditioned accommodations with safes and coffee/tea makers. Pillowtop beds feature premium bedding. A pillow menu is available. Plasma televisions come with premium satellite channels and pay movies. Bathrooms include showers, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. This Wollongong hotel provides wired and wireless Internet access for a surcharge. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Housekeeping is offered daily and in-room massages can be requested.

  • Pillowtop beds
  • In-room dining (24 hours)
  • Plasma television
  • Satellite channels
  • Premium channels
  • Movies for purchase
  • Refrigerator
  • Coffee maker
  • Luxury bedding
  • Pillow options
  • Shower
  • Cribs (free)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Massage in room (surcharge)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Bathrobes
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Sound-insulated rooms
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available
  • Wheelchair accessible

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy buffet breakfast on weekdays from 6:30 AM to 10:00 AM and on weekends from 6:30 AM to 10:00 AM.

Palisade Kitchen & Bar - This beachfront restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, and light fare. Guests can order drinks at the bar and enjoy alfresco dining (weather permitting). A children's menu is available.

The Frisky Flamingo - Overlooking the ocean, this sports bar serves light fare only. Open daily.

Adrift Pool Bar - This poolside bar serves light fare only. Open select days.

Pepe's on the Beach - This beachfront bar serves breakfast, brunch, lunch, and dinner. Guests can enjoy alfresco dining (weather permitting). Open daily.

North Bar - This bar serves lunch, dinner, and light fare. Open daily.

24-hour room service is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18
  • Check-in time ends at anytime

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Diners Club, and JCB International. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Personal protective equipment, including masks and gloves, will be available to guests. Social distancing measures are in place; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests; guests are provided with hand sanitizer. Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available. Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and also through room service. This property affirms that it follows the cleaning and disinfection practices of ALLSAFE (Accor Hotels).

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Children stay free
  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Number of children who can stay for free – 2
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Staffed front desk
  • LGBTQIA friendly
  • Children stay free: Maximum age 16
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff do not wear personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is available for guests
  • Masks are available for guests
  • Gloves are available for guests
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • Property follows a brand or regulatory agency's sanitisation guidelines ALLSAFE (Accor Hotels)
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually wrapped food options are available
  • Individually wrapped food options are available for breakfast
  • Individually wrapped food options are available for lunch
  • Individually wrapped food options are available for dinner
  • Individually wrapped food options are available through room service
  • No gap period between guests' stays
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property does not follow sanitisation practices of any association
  • Guests must provide health documentation

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between AUD 8 and AUD 35 per person (approximately)
  • Fee for in-room wireless Internet: AUD 24.95 per 24-hour period (rates may vary)
  • Fee for in-room wired Internet: AUD 24.95 per 24-hour period (rates may vary)
  • Fee for wireless Internet in public areas: AUD 24.95 per 24-hour period (rates may vary)
  • Covered self parking fee: AUD 20 per night (in/out privileges)
  • Late check-out is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)
  • Credit card charges are subject to a surcharge

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Northbeach Novotel
  • Northbeach Wollongong
  • Novotel Northbeach
  • Novotel Northbeach Hotel
  • Novotel Northbeach Hotel Wollongong
  • Novotel Northbeach Wollongong
  • Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
  • Wollongong Northbeach
  • Wollongong Novotel
  • Wollongong Novotel Northbeach
  • Accor Wollongong Northbeach
  • Novotel Wollongong Northbeach Hotel Wollongong
  • Novotel Wollongong Northbeach Hotel
  • Novotel Wollongong Northbeach Hotel
  • Novotel Wollongong Northbeach North Wollongong
  • Novotel Wollongong Northbeach Hotel North Wollongong

You should know

  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
  • This property welcomes guests of all sexual orientations and gender identities (LGBTQ friendly).

Awards & Affiliations

  • UNESCO Sustainable Tourism Pledge
url importing http://www.wotif.com/Wollongong-Hotels-Novotel-Wollongong-Northbeach.h13368-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Wollongong-Hotels-Novotel-Wollongong-Northbeach.h13368-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/Wollongong-Hotels-Novotel-Wollongong-Northbeach.h13368-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.