Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.0 out of 5

"Excellent our family enjoyed every moment " More

By a verified traveller on Thu 09 Sep 2021

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At Discovery Rottnest Island you'll be within just a 10-minute stroll of The Basin and Longreach Bay. Highlights at this beachfront holiday park include a restaurant, an outdoor swimming pool, and free breakfast (local cuisine).

All 83 accommodations feature free WiFi and ceiling fans. Weekly housekeeping is available.

The family restaurant, Pinky's Beach Club, serves local cuisine and is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. At the holiday park's own poolside bar or lounge bar, you can enjoy a drink. Spend the day at the beach and enjoy the onsite pool loungers. Additionally, you'll find free WiFi in public areas, a garden, and barbecue grills. Each morning free breakfast is served. There's also free self parking, along with the convenience of a ferry terminal shuttle.

In proximity to this Perth holiday park you'll find Cottesloe Beach.

Standard Tent

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
AU$230* Per night/room 4 Nov. - 5 Nov.

Deluxe Tent

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Superior Family Tent

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Superior Tent

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Superior Access Tent

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Deluxe Oceanside Tent

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Discovery Rottnest Island ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.0 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 0.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Discovery Rottnest Island

Everyone (7) Couples (6) Family (6)
5 out of 5
Excellent our family enjoyed every moment

Posted by on 9 Sep. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 Sep. 2021 by Discovery Rottnest Team

Hi maryann, thanks for staying with us at Discovery Rottnest Island. We’re over the moon you loved your time with us and got to explore the beauty of the island! We appreciate you taking the time to leave your kind words. We can’t wait to welcome you back! Kind Regards, the Discovery Rottnest Island team.

1 out of 5
One thing you expect from an accommodation provider is a good nights sleep. Booked 3 nights, did not sleep AT ALL night two and checked out before night 3 because we couldn’t risk another night of no sleep. Apart from that we saw a guest physically kick quokkas that this place obviously encourages to their premises for guest amusement. At no time did any staff member tell this person to stop. I reported it to a staff member but not sure they bothered to take any action. This is hardly the definition of eco tourism. It was a disgrace.

Posted by on 11 Jun. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Jun. 2021 by Discovery Rottnest Team

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are sorry to hear you had a disappointing stay with us. We certainly don't condone any kind of abuse towards our native animals. If you would like to provide some further feedback, please reach out to us.

5 out of 5

Posted by on 13 Apr. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
We liked the location to beach, pool and restaurant/bar. The only downside was there appeared to be a lingering sewerage smell.

Posted by on 22 Mar. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

23 Mar. 2021 by Discovery Rottnest Island team

Hi, thanks for staying with us at Discovery Rottnest Island and taking the time to leave your kind words. We’re so happy to read you loved your time with us and got to soak in the magic that is Rottnest Island. We can’t wait to welcome you back! Kind Regards, the Discovery Rottnest Island team.

4 out of 5

Posted by on 23 Dec. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
We had a great time accommodation and facilities terrific need to review luggage pickup arrangements. It’s not ok to have to be packed up by 8am when your check out is 10 and ferry 4.30.

Posted by , from Perth on 7 Oct. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

8 Oct. 2020 by Taylor

G’Day Jane, thanks for staying with us at Discovery Parks - Rottnest Island and taking 5 to provide your kind words. We’re stoked that your stay with us was 5-Stars and you enjoyed the great facilities on offer! We can’t wait to have you over again soon. Kind Regards, the Discovery Parks team.

3 out of 5
The room was not very clean. the towels did not give us more when we requested and the worst thing you can not leave the suitcase on slogans on the day of check out, so it prevents you from enjoying your day

Posted by on 24 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

24 Feb. 2020 by Guest Relations Manager

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review after staying with us at Discovery - Rottnest Island. We're so sorry that we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion as we strive to ensure that all of our guests have a wonderful experience. We'll be sure to share your cleanliness, towels and luggage feedback with our General Manager to address. Should you wish to discuss this further, please get in touch with us. Kind Regards, the Discovery - Rottnest Island team.

5 out of 5
Location, layout and family friendly atmosphere was superb.

Posted by on 20 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

20 Jan. 2020 by Guest Relations Manager

Thanks so much for your review - we're absolutely thrilled you had an incredible experience! We have tried very hard to preserve the natural beauty of Pinky's Beach and to create an eco-resort that balances an experience of nature and luxury and are most pleased to read there was absolutely nothing you could fault during your stay. You've made our day! We'd love you to come back and see us again. Kind Regards, the Discovery - Rottnest Island team.

4 out of 5
Great facilities - rooms clean and spacious. Kitchenette and en-suite were lovely. Buffett breakfast good however, would be nice if poached or fried eggs were on offer as well. Pinky’s beach club is good....expensive though! Would stay here again - a lovely holiday destination

Posted by on 20 Dec. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

22 Dec. 2019 by Guest Relations Manager

Thank you for taking the time to share your Rottnest experience. We're thrilled you loved our facilities and buffet breakfast! We've tried hard to create something that balances nature with a touch of luxury and, of course, you can't beat that view, can you - especially when the sunset bathes the lighthouse in a pink glow. We'll be sure to share your feedback with our team and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, the Discovery - Rottnest Island team.

5 out of 5
Tents were fabulous along with the pool and bar. We would have eaten at the bar/cafe more often if they had a larger menu, perhaps including pizza. On our first night we had terrible neighbours who were drinking and extremely loud well past midnight. They woke our kids up and stopped us from getting any sleep. On checkin it would be appreciated if we were given contact details for security so we they could have helped us and shut their party down. Our attempts to do this on our own failed.

Posted by on 8 Dec. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

8 Dec. 2019 by Guest Relations Manager

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay with us. We're thrilled to read that you loved our eco-tents and that you had a great stay! We're however sorry to read that noise from other guests impacted your stay. We know there is some excitement about the property and some guests can celebrate a little too enthusiastically. We certainly don't want that to compromise the experience of others though and staff are available on the phone 24/7 to manage issues such as noise and we will do more to let people know about this. We’ll ensure that our General Manager is aware of the situation. We hope you'll stay with us again down the track, we are working on some great deals, so keep your eyes open for those or perhaps you would like to try one of the other properties in our network - we have more than 280 parks in the Discovery Parks and Top Parks network, in some of the nation's loveliest locations. Kind Regards, the Discovery - Rottnest Island team.

About the Discovery Rottnest Island

Location Strue Road, Rottnest Island, WA 6161

Property Features

There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at one of the bars, which include a poolside bar and a bar/lounge. Free breakfast is available daily. WiFi is free in public spaces. An outdoor pool, tour/ticket assistance, and barbecue grills are also featured at Discovery Rottnest Island. Self parking is free. This Perth holiday park is smoke free.

  • 83 guestrooms or units
  • Local cuisine breakfast (free)
  • Breakfast available (free)
  • Dining venue
  • Bar by the pool
  • Bar or lounge
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Express check-out
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Outdoor pool
  • Free WiFi

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Train station: Settlement Station (1 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Ferry terminal shuttle
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Discovery Rottnest Island offers 83 accommodations with complimentary toiletries and ceiling fans. This Perth holiday park provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Bathrooms include showers. Housekeeping is offered weekly and hair dryers can be requested. Housekeeping is provided on a limited basis.

  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (weekly)
  • Hair dryer available
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Ceiling fan

Food & Drink

Guests are served free local cuisine breakfast daily from 7:00 AM to 10:30 AM.

Pinky's Beach Club - Overlooking the ocean, this family restaurant specializes in local cuisine and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the holiday park include an outdoor pool.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18
  • Check-in time ends at 10:00 PM

Special check-in instructions:

To make arrangements for check-in please contact the property at least 72 hours before arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in instructions. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. At check-in, guests must provide either a negative COVID-19 test result or a record of full COVID-19 vaccination. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Guests must transfer via ferry (surcharge) from Hillarys Boat Harbour, Barrack Street Jetty or Fremantle Long Jetty to the property. Guests can check-in their luggage at the ferry terminal for transportation to the resort.

To arrange for check-in, guests must contact the property at least 72 hours prior to arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in information. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10:00 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

Guests must contact this property in advance to reserve cribs/infant beds, rollaway/extra beds, and onsite parking. This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Diners Club, Union Pay, debit cards, and cash. For guests' safety, the property includes a smoke detector in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Social distancing measures are in place and guests are provided with hand sanitizer. Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available. At check-in, guests must provide either a negative COVID-19 test result or a record of full COVID-19 vaccination.

  • No cots (infant beds) available
  • No lifts
  • Debit cards
  • UnionPay
  • Staffed front desk
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff do not wear personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is not available for guests
  • No shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually wrapped food options are not available
  • No gap period between guests' stays
  • Staff temperature checks are not conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are not available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property does not follow sanitisation practices of any association
  • Guests must provide a negative COVID-19 test result
  • Guests must provide proof of COVID-19 vaccination
  • Property does not offer on-site COVID-19 testing

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Credit card charges are subject to a surcharge of 0.9 percent

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Discovery Rottnest Island Hotel
  • Discovery Rottnest Hotel
  • Discovery Rottnest Rottnest
  • Discovery Rottnest Island Holiday Park
  • Discovery Rottnest Island Rottnest Island
  • Discovery Rottnest Island Holiday Park Rottnest Island

You should know

  • Discovery Rottnest Island offers transfers from the ferry terminal (fees may apply). Please contact the property at the number on the booking confirmation with your arrival details prior to travel.
url importing http://www.wotif.com/Rottnest-Island-Hotels-Discovery-Rottnest-Island.h32105071-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Rottnest-Island-Hotels-Discovery-Rottnest-Island.h32105071-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/Rottnest-Island-Hotels-Discovery-Rottnest-Island.h32105071-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently asked questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.