Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At Karelia Alpine Lodge you'll be within just a 10-minute stroll of Falls Express and Alpine National Park. Highlights at this ski lodge include 2 restaurants, 2 bars/lounges and a spa tub.

All 16 rooms feature free WiFi, LCD TVs and DVD players. Additionally, room service, hairdryers and free toiletries are available.

Along with ski-in ski-out access, this lodge offers on-site ski passes. Added amenities include a sauna and laundry facilities. There's also the convenience of free parking nearby.

In proximity to this 4-star Falls Creek lodge you'll find Mount Hotham.

4 Share Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Winter Escape Family Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Deluxe Single room

Bed Count room.options.bedSize.TwinXLBed.Singular Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Family Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Deluxe Double Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Alpine Honeymoon Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Karelia Alpine Lodge ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.4 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Karelia Alpine Lodge

Everyone (17) Couples (3) Family (6)
5 out of 5
Cute little venue that catered for my small family during Peaks Challenge 2019. Charming atmosphere, lovely staff, and they even catered for our plant based diets.

Posted by on 12 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 Mar. 2019 by Jerry

Thank you for you lovely review

3 out of 5
Bed not long enough for 180cm male. Only bottom bed sheet and sooner provided. Staff member was helpful and rooms were clean. Very quiet. Very 80’s.

Posted by on 30 Jul. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Aug. 2018 by Jerry

Thank you for the review Matt. The budget single room is what it is - small this is why it is a lot cheaper than any other room. There was an option for you to get the deluxe single but you have picked the cheaper option. The bed is 1.8 meters long and I tried to include the size in the room description, however, Expedia did not let me do that. Thank you for staying with Karelia.

5 out of 5
Cute and quirky lodge. So close to the main lift up the mountain, can ski/board down the end of the street to make it there. The outdoor spa was perfect! The restaurant downstairs was a bit overpriced for what we got. But otherwise a great stay.

Posted by , from Melbourne on 23 Jul. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

26 Jul. 2018 by Jerry

Hello Chelsea Thank you for the review. Just so you know, our meals are not overpriced and as you know you know already we do huge serves and you can help yourself to the salad bar as much as you like. Being in a remote country area we depend on transport and this cost needs to be included in our prices.

3 out of 5

Quaint Swiss Style Chalet

Old style chalet well maintained very clean. Goulash stall out front. Bar opens at 4:30. Rooms could be from 30s Austria or Switzerland. Restaurant experience was a little disappointing on the night with the German smorgasbord.

Posted by , from Melbourne on 11 Sep. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

16 Sep. 2017 by Jerry

Thanks for the review John. I think that we are better then 3. First of all, you have booked a single room , however we have upgraded you to a double room. so you have more comfortable stay. The chalet and the rooms are very unique in Falls Creek, all my guests that have been to Austria are coming back year after year and keep saying that the minute they walk in they feel like being back in Austria. I am not sure what else you expect on our German Night, after all is is all you can eat for $48/person. Where else would you get goulash soup, schnitzels, German sausages, leberkase, smoke hogs, sauerkraut, mash , selection of 4 salads, Gypsy ham, salami and a large selection of cakes and desserts for $48/person ??? Thank you for staying with Karelia.

5 out of 5

The spirit of Tirol Alps in Australia

Pros: Stay in the Hotel transfers you in the atmosphere of Grimm Brothers fairy tales. Expectation of X Mas. Never seen so many small drawers in the room.
Cons: Take off ugly transport for tourists and there luggage (snow "tractors") running on the village roads. Use horses or so with snow sledges.
Location: Mountain skiing: end of June to mid September. No need to leave the Lodge. Sauna, spa, restaurant, music, recreational hall to read, watch TV
Very impressed with the lodge design. Feels the warmth of the wood everywhere: from stairs and walls to the restaurant and breakfast room. The warmth spreads from the hearts of the staff especially the manager. Wonder how many professions combine in one person.

Posted by , from Moscow. Russia on 23 Aug. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

31 Aug. 2017 by Management and staff

Thank you so much for the review Boris. I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in Karelia. See you next year

1 out of 5

Completely overpriced

Pros: Nice people but obviously happy to overcharge
Cons: Pretty much everything
Stayed for a long weekend. Paid over $500.00 a night thought we were getting something special with the "Honeymoon Suite". 10 sq metres total really old with poor facilities and uncomfortable bed. Would never stay here again.

Posted by , from Adelaide on 18 Mar. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

20 Apr. 2017 by Management and staff

Julian I don’t usually respond to whiners, because they are very unhappy people no matter where they stay. My suggestion is - stay at home. There is no merit in your review. Karelia is not an ordinary Aussie shack that you are custom to stay in, but a unique Austrian Chalet in the Aussie’s Alps. There is no merit in giving you the time of a day, however I like to answer your review in a polite manner. You were the only person out of 35 guests that was whining about everything every 5 minutes. We do not offer a room service, however we have provided room service to your wife when she requested a drink to be brought up to her room and you even didn’t pay for it. Isn’t that always the case ??? The accommodation cost is very reasonable considering that we are paying $50K /year in rates. Our guests service is well behind imagination – on the day of the 3 peaks race we have served breakfast at 5am and kept it going till 10am for the late risers. You have paid for continental breakfast, however we served hot breakfast as well (no extra charge) . The lodge is a very special and authentic Austrian-Swiss chalet and we enjoy many returned guests even for the 3 Peaks. The lodge and room facilities (incl. the room size) are specified on the Wotif webpage – are you illiterate ??? I think that you should be more concern about your very expensive cycling apparel that you are selling in your Cycle Closet shop in Adelaide. All overpriced and most of the stuff is available elsewhere for a half of your price. Guests like you will not be happy anywhere !!!!!

4 out of 5
Family run, Friendly, basic (towels/soap?) and small rooms, quaint Czech chalet atmosphere with wood everything and eclectic stuff decorating all parts of all walls. Best hot chocolate on planet earth from kiosk. Nice owner. Great drying room, good hot breakfast.

Posted by , from perth on 31 Jul. 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

by Jerry

Hi Don Thank you for the review. I am glad to hear that you have had a wonderfull time while staying in Karelia lodge. I am trying to offer unforgatable snow holiday experience in Falls Creek. Right away we serve the best hot chocolate and gluhwine in Falls Creek not to mention the goulash soup and of course the goulash pies. Once again - Thank you . Regards Management and Staff

5 out of 5

Nice place, good view, good service, comfy & save

Pros: I loved the architecture & design, the entire walls were made from wood & filled with wooden interior too. It's unique and different from the others
Location: This place provide many activities that related to the snow (Ski, Snowboard, Snow Mobile & others).
Best experience ever, even though it was 6 hours traveled on the bus. It was my first solo trip & first activities in the snow, which really awesome. I built my own snowman, went for snow mobile tour, went to ski & other. All I can say is worth it ..

Posted by , from Gold Coast, QLD on 26 Jul. 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

by Jerry

Hello Ivana, Thank you for the lovely review. I am very happy that you have had wonderfull time in Falls Creek while staying in Karelia lodge.I can also see that you have lived to the fullest while in falls Creek. Good on you . Thank you for staying in our Lodge. Regards Management and Staff

5 out of 5

Nice Place, good view, good service, comfy & save.

Pros: I Loved their architecture and design, entire walls were build from wood, & filled with wooden interior aswell. It's unique & different from others
Location: This place provide many activities that related to the snow (Ski, Snowboard, Snow mobile & others)
Best experienced ever, it was my first solo trip, & first activities in the snow. Jerry (owner of the place that I stayed) and the staff were really nice, & give a good service (food & cleaning).Other people are friendly too :)

Posted by , from Gold Coast, QLD on 26 Jul. 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 Aug. 2016 by Jerry

Hello Ivana, Thank you for the lovely review. I am very happy that you have had wonderfull time in Falls Creek while staying in Karelia lodge.I can also see that you have lived to the fullest while in falls Creek. Good on you . Thank you for staying in our Lodge. Regards Management and Staff

4 out of 5

Great Ski In / Out Lodge in Falls Creek

Pros: Jerry and the staff were great.
Very friendly, homely and comfortable lodge. Great variety of food over 4 nights.

Posted by , from Sydney on 17 Jul. 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

by Management and staff

Thank you for the review. Good to hear that you had a great stay in Karelia. Thank you .

Property Features

Relax in the hot tub after a day on the slopes or enjoy the use of a sauna. When the sun goes down, sip après-ski drinks in one of the lodge's 2 bars/lounges. There are 2 restaurants on site. This 4-star Falls Creek lodge is smoke free.

  • 16 guestrooms or units
  • 2 dining venues
  • 2 bars or lounges
  • Ski lift tickets
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • DVD player

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Parking

Free parking nearby

Transport

  • Airport: Melbourne, VIC (MEL-Tullamarine) (366.2 km / 227.5 mi)
  • Parking:

Room Amenities

Karelia Alpine Lodge offers 16 forms of accommodation with DVD players and a hairdryer. LCD televisions are featured in guestrooms. Bathrooms include a bath and shower and complimentary toiletries. This Falls Creek lodge provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Housekeeping is provided on a daily basis.

  • In-room dining
  • LCD television
  • DVD player
  • Bathtub or shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hairdryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

Karelia Alpine Lodge has 2 restaurants on site.

Room service is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 4 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 8 PM

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 8 AM - 8 PM.
If you are planning to arrive after 8 PM, please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 8 AM - 8 PM.
Guests arriving after 8 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available

Hotel Names

  • Karelia Alpine Lodge Falls Creek
  • Karelia Alpine Lodge
  • Karelia Alpine Falls Creek
  • Karelia Alpine
  • Karelia Alpine Lodge Lodge
  • Karelia Alpine Lodge Falls Creek
  • Karelia Alpine Lodge Lodge Falls Creek

You should know

  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing https://www.wotif.com/Falls-Creek-Hotels-Karelia-Alpine-Lodge.h64030-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.