Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.0 out of 5

"Upgraded room. Plenty of space for the kids to roam and make a bit of noise. Beautiful clean room.. full amenities " More

By a verified traveller on Mon 06 Jul 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

BIG4 Strahan Holiday Retreat places you in the center of Strahan, within just a 15-minute stroll of Strahan Golf Club and Strahan Harbour. Highlights at this beach campground include free self parking, a lazy river, and in-room kitchens.

Free WiFi, balconies, and TVs are featured in all 52 individually decorated accommodations. In-room dining is easy with kitchens that come equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, and stovetops. Premium bedding and free toiletries are nice touches to enhance your stay. Coffee/tea makers and hair dryers are also available. Housekeeping is available on request.

The restaurant, Bushmans Bar and Cafe, is open for brunch, lunch, and dinner. Enjoy access to ecotours and bike rentals. Additionally, you'll find free WiFi in public areas, a coffee shop/café, and laundry facilities.

Sights within a 10-minute drive of this 3.5-star Strahan campground include Hogarth Falls and Ocean Beach.

Standard Cabin Max 6 (1x Queen & 4x Bunks)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 6 Max
AU$96* Per night/room 13 Jul. - 14 Jul.

Retreat Cottage 1 bedroom

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Retreat Cottage 2 bedroom

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Retreat Cottage Studio

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Cabin, 1 Queen Bed

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Cabin Max 4

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

BIG4 Strahan Holiday Retreat ratings based on 403 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.0 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for BIG4 Strahan Holiday Retreat

Everyone (178) Couples (130) Family (92)
5 out of 5
Upgraded room. Plenty of space for the kids to roam and make a bit of noise. Beautiful clean room.. full amenities

Posted by on 6 Jul. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Jul. 2020 by Property Manager

Thank you for your feedback. Glad that you love the free upgrade. Our two bedroom cottages are lovely. Always nice to let the kids have a wind down and the parents too. Take care and we hope to welcome you back some day.

5 out of 5
It was good at an affordable price. Very clean and comfortable

Posted by , from Hobart on 7 Jun. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Jul. 2020 by Property Manager

It's great to know that you found your accommodation very clean and comfy so thank you for your very positive feedback. Take care and we look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful property some day.

5 out of 5
People running the park were very courteous and helpful during a trying time (Covid-19 outbreak)

Posted by on 2 Apr. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
We liked the location and the platypus walk was beautiful. We had booked 4 nights earlier and could have cancelled and booked somewhere else cheaper, and even Big 4 on wotif and other sites was offering it at $50 a night cheaper. We thought the owner would do the right thing by us if we did the right thing by her. But no offer to reduce the price. The cabin was very basic, the bathroom tiny and lacking in any place to put anything, the extractor was automatic and so strong it was freezing cold to use the shower. Generally old and run down. Very poor reception for TV. We left early despite having paid upfront.

Posted by on 29 Mar. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Close to main part of town. Lovely little creek through park. Great bed.

Posted by on 10 Mar. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Mar. 2020 by Park Manager

Hi there and thank you for your feedback. So glad that you enjoyed our Platypus creek and had a comfy sleep. Happy travels.

5 out of 5
The property was great and location was aswell. Only down fall was the mozzies and some spiders. In saying that there was bug spray in the room and was the best sleep of our holiday listening to the rain on the roof

Posted by on 12 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

13 Feb. 2020 by Park Manager

Nice to hear that you had a relaxing break away. Our property certainly boast a great location. The pesky old bugs like to come out at this time of the year. Glad to hear they didn't bother you too much. Happy travels.

2 out of 5
Three adults stayed in the unit and we paid for 3 adults. The fold out bed was awful as the two horizontal support rungs meant it was only possible to sleep very diagonally in the bed. The need to assemble this bed in the living area also meant there was minimal additional room. Having known this, I would have booked elsewhere

Posted by on 16 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Jan. 2020 by Park Manager

Hi there and thank you for your valued feedback regarding your stay. We aim to ensure all of our guest have a great stay and on all sites we advertise that the rooms have a fold out sofa bed so a little bemused as to why you would not have chosen one of our large cottages to holiday in. My only wish is that you would have contacted us during your stay and we would have gladly assisted you to have a more comfortable stay.

4 out of 5
Well appointed cabin. Great location. Helpful staff. Handy to takeaway and shop. Good advice from staff re dining out.

Posted by on 12 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 Jan. 2020 by Park Manager

Hi there and thank you for your valued feedback. We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and our advice was sound. Safe travels.

2 out of 5
We were not expecting much when we booked this accommodation but were very disappointed when we arrived, it was old and in poor condition.

Posted by on 11 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Jan. 2020 by Park Manager

Hi there and thank you for the time to taken to send us your feedback from your stay. I am sorry to hear that your experience is not what you expected and would have been happy to address this whilst you were holiday at our property. Hope you have safe travels.

3 out of 5
Bit old and tired. Great location. Walking distance to everything you need

Posted by on 9 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Jan. 2020 by Park Manager

Hi there and thank you for your feedback. Yes, we are working hard on making our accommodation more modern. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our lovely little town, Strahan. Happy travels.

About the BIG4 Strahan Holiday Retreat

Location 8-10 Innes St, Strahan, TAS 7468

Property Features

There's a coffee shop/café on site. WiFi is free in public spaces. Tour/ticket assistance, barbecue grills, and an arcade/game room are also featured at BIG4 Strahan Holiday Retreat. Self parking is free. This 3.5-star Strahan campground is smoke free.

  • 52 guestrooms or units
  • Coffee shop
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Game room or arcade
  • Convenience store
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Gift shop
  • ATM
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Lazy river
  • Free WiFi
  • Kitchen
  • Grocery/convenience store
  • Laundry facilities
  • Arcade/game room
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Devonport, TAS (DPO) (231.5 km / 143.9 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

BIG4 Strahan Holiday Retreat offers 52 accommodations with coffee/tea makers and hair dryers. Rooms open to balconies. Each accommodation is individually furnished and decorated. Beds feature premium bedding. Accommodations at this 3.5-star campground have kitchens with refrigerators, stovetops, microwaves, and cookware/dishes/utensils. Bathrooms include showers and complimentary toiletries. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Housekeeping is provided on request.

  • In-room kitchen
  • Private balcony
  • Television
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Coffee maker
  • Kitchenware
  • Luxury bedding
  • Shower
  • Cribs (surcharge)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (on request)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Heating
  • Unique furnishings
  • Unique decor
  • Wheelchair accessible

Food & Drink

Bushmans Bar and Cafe - Overlooking the ocean, this restaurant serves brunch, lunch, dinner, and light fare. Guests can enjoy alfresco dining (weather permitting). A children's menu is available.

Risby Cove - Overlooking the ocean, this restaurant specializes in French cuisine and serves dinner only. Reservations are required. Open daily.

View 42 - Overlooking the ocean, this seafood restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests can enjoy alfresco dining (weather permitting). Reservations are required. Open daily.

Hamers Bar and Grill - Overlooking the ocean, this restaurant serves lunch and dinner. A children's menu is available. Open daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 10:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 8:30 AM - 6:30 PM. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 8:30 AM - 6:30 PM.
Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for AUD 20.0 per day.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for AUD 30.0 per stay.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Staffed front desk
  • No lifts

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Crib (infant bed) fee: AUD 30.0 per stay
  • Rollaway bed fee: AUD 20.0 per day

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • BIG4 Strahan Holiday Retreat Campsite
  • Strahan Holiday Park Campground
  • Strahan Holiday Retreat Campground
  • Discovery Holiday Parks Strahan Tasmania
  • Holiday Retreat Campground
  • Strahan Holiday Retreat
  • Strahan Holiday Retreat Tasmania
  • BIG4 Holiday Retreat Campsite
  • BIG4 Holiday Retreat
  • BIG4 Strahan Holiday Retreat Tasmania
  • Big4 Strahan Retreat Tasmania
  • BIG4 Strahan Holiday Retreat Strahan
  • Big4 Strahan Holiday Retreat Tasmania
  • BIG4 Strahan Holiday Retreat Campsite
  • BIG4 Strahan Holiday Retreat Campsite Strahan
url importing http://www.wotif.com/Strahan-Hotels-BIG4-Strahan-Holiday-Retreat.h7055423-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Strahan-Hotels-BIG4-Strahan-Holiday-Retreat.h7055423-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/Strahan-Hotels-BIG4-Strahan-Holiday-Retreat.h7055423-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.