Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
3.9 out of 5

"View and location were fantastic. Cosy fire huge bed Quite dated could have done with a spring clean as things like fans quite dusty and villa had a ... " More

By a verified traveller on Sun 19 Jul 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

A family-friendly stay in Lovedale awaits you at Hill Top Country Guest House. You'll be 16.8 km (10.4 mi) from Hope Estate and 18.1 km (11.2 mi) from Hunter Valley Gardens. Highlights at this B&B include free in-room WiFi.

You can enjoy TVs, coffee/tea makers, and ceiling fans, featured in all 10 rooms. Pillowtop beds and premium bedding welcome you to a good night's rest.

A pampering day can include deep-tissue massages and Thai massages. Enjoy access to ecotours, a wildlife and game drive, and game viewing. Other amenities include free WiFi in public areas, coffee/tea in a common area, and refrigerator in a common area. Each morning cooked-to-order breakfast is served between 7:30 AM and 9:00 AM. There's also free self parking, along with the convenience of an airport shuttle.

Places within a 15-minute drive of this 3.5-star Lovedale B&B include Gartelmann Wines and Hungerford Hill.

Kookaburra Lodge

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Spa Suite

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Hill Top Villa

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Traditional Room, 1 King Bed, Ensuite

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Deluxe Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Hill Top Country Guest House ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.9 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Hill Top Country Guest House

Everyone (7) Couples (8)
3 out of 5
View and location were fantastic. Cosy fire huge bed Quite dated could have done with a spring clean as things like fans quite dusty and villa had a musty smell

Posted by on 19 Jul. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Lovely room with beautiful antique bed. Very peaceful with lots of wildlife.

Posted by , from Brisbane on 1 Oct. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
Location wise good, lovely view. Guest house tired. Standard room very basic and small with limited facilities. OK for overnight stay but I would not recommend for several day stay.

Posted by , from Sydney on 11 Apr. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 Apr. 2018 by ht

It was good to hear that you had a fantastic time in the valley after being disappointed that the concert was cancelled.It just goes to show that the Hunter Valley has much more to offer than just concerts.Refurbishment took place in 2017. The standard room is not an apartment, it is one of the rooms in the Guest house. When you book a standard room it includes the room you sleep in and the use of the various sitting rooms and the large verandah that the rooms open onto The rooms are all of legal size and the standard room includes a comfortable queen size bed which you can sleep in for as many nights as you like with two bedside chests of drawers and a built in wardrobe with solid timber doors. The room has a sliding door opening onto the verandah. Tea/coffee facilities are in the closest sitting room. A electric BBQ is available upon request. A large TV is in the sitting room and the billiards room.The guest house also has deluxe rooms and a suite We do have apartments if you are looking for something semi-self contained, with kitchenettes, double spa baths, private balconies and king beds, these are large enough for a family. Good comprehension is important when you are booking on line.

4 out of 5
Lovely retreat. Super friendly staff. Great location. Everything you need for a lovely getaway weekend.

Posted by on 3 Apr. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Apr. 2018 by Hilltop

Thank you so much for coming and sharing our little piece of paradise

3 out of 5

Wasn't as advertised

Booked a standard room - and never saw that it was for a joint bathroom until I read reviews (when already booked). Went back in to the booking form and still couldn't find any reverence to a shared bathroom. Facilities included air conditioning, ceiling fans and a tv. The aircon wasn't efficient or controlled by room, the ceiling fan made an awful noise at all speeds - had to have it on low to keep the air circulating on these hot days! No tv - not in the standard room or in the communal area that was adjoining the standard rooms. Was a lovely property with beautiful views, horses and kangaroos. Would be good for a large group.

Posted by , from sydney, nsw on 14 Mar. 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

25 Aug. 2016 by Manager

Thank you for your comments.We do have rooms with ensuites and all my records state that the room that you booked on line had a shared bathroom.This arrangement could have been changed to suite you had you mentioned it to me. The air condition is adjustable to suite and I have checked the fans and did not find any awful noise. Fans can be like light bulbs. There is a large TV hanging from the ceiling in the sitting room at the end of the hallway, away from the bedrooms , for the guests to watch. I am on site all the time so as if you find something not to your liking can be attended to at the time so as to make your stay enjoyable

4 out of 5
Location: Great
Facilities: Nice ; Value: Affordable; Service: Courteous; Cleanliness: Pleasant;

Posted by , from Australia - NSW - Coffs Harbour on 10 Mar. 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
Pros: It was available
Cons: Sub standard facilities not as described

Posted by , from Australia - NSW - Coffs Harbour on 10 Mar. 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Location: Tranquil
Facilities: Nice ; Value: Reasonable; Service: Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Faultless;

Posted by , from Australia - NSW - Newcastle on 18 Nov. 2014

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Pros: Location view and tranquility
Cons: Description stated room was with a bath or shower however it came with a shared bath and shower.
Location: Tranquil, Good views
Facilities: Nothing special; Value: Could be better;

Posted by , from Australia - NSW - Sydney on 8 Oct. 2014

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

8 Oct. 2014 by

Hi Ian I have checked the description of the room that you booked and it clearly states that it has a shared bathroom .Please let me know if your booking confirmation does not state this ,The other rooms do have ensuites

5 out of 5
Pros: It was quiet and tranquil, the rooms very spotless and the beds for really comfortable. We will definately recommend and be coming back outselves.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Tranquil, Good views
Facilities: Top of the line; Value: Fantastic; Service: Friendly; Cleanliness: Spotless; We loved it

Posted by , from Australia - NSW - Sydney on 12 Mar. 2014

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Hill Top Country Guest House

Location 288 Talga Road, Lovedale, NSW 2320

Property Features

Hill Top Country Guest House offers its guests tour/ticket assistance, barbecue grills, and a garden. Public spaces have free WiFi. The family-friendly Hill Top Country Guest House also features a picnic area, coffee/tea in a common area, and a fireplace in the lobby. Free self parking is available. This 3.5-star Lovedale bed & breakfast is smoke free.

  • 10 guestrooms or units
  • Built in 1985
  • Supervised kid's activities
  • Childcare (surcharge)
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Pool or billiards table
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • Television in lobby
  • Onsite shopping
  • No smoking on site
  • Refrigerator in a common area

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking , Free RV, bus, truck parking

Transport

  • Train station: Greta Station (7.8 km / 4.8 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Airport shuttle
  • Parking: Free self parking and RV/bus/truck parking

Room Amenities

Hill Top Country Guest House offers 10 air-conditioned accommodations with coffee/tea makers and irons/ironing boards. Pillowtop beds feature Egyptian cotton sheets and premium bedding. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Cribs/infant beds (surcharge) are also available.

  • Separate bedroom
  • Pillowtop beds
  • Television
  • Coffee maker
  • Egyptian cotton linens
  • Cribs (surcharge)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy cooked-to-order breakfast daily from 7:30 AM to 9:00 AM.

Spa Services

  • Massages
  • Deep tissue massage
  • Thai massage

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18
  • Check-in time ends at 10:00 AM

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM. To make arrangements for check-in please contact the property at least 24 hours before arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in instructions. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM.
To arrange for check-in, guests must contact the property at least 24 hours prior to arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in information. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for AUD 30.0 per day.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts credit cards.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No lifts
  • Service animals are allowed
  • Staffed front desk

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between AUD 12 and AUD 30 for adults, AUD 10 and AUD 15 for children (approximately)
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: AUD 30.0 per day
  • Credit card charges are subject to a surcharge

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Hill Top Country Guest House B&B Rothbury
  • Hill Top Country Lovedale
  • Hill Top Country Guest House Rothbury
  • Hill Top Country Guest House Greater Newcastle/Rothbury
  • Hill Top Country Guest House B&B Lovedale
  • Hill Top Country Guest House Lovedale
  • Hill Top Country Guest House Bed & breakfast
  • Hill Top Country Guest House Bed & breakfast Lovedale

You should know

  • Reservations are needed for massage services. For reservations, contact the bed & breakfast before arrival using the contact information on the booking confirmation.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing http://www.wotif.com/Lovedale-Hotels-Hill-Top-Country-Guest-House.h9624105-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Lovedale-Hotels-Hill-Top-Country-Guest-House.h9624105-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/Lovedale-Hotels-Hill-Top-Country-Guest-House.h9624105-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.