Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.5 out of 5

"We stayed in Devon, it was slightly overpriced for the condition. The sliding door lock needs repair, cupboard door in front of the fridge is starting ... " More

By a verified traveller on Sun 01 Mar 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Select your room to view prices

Family House, 3 Bedrooms

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 8 Max

Standard Cabin, 1 Bedroom, Jetted Tub, Hill View

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Two Bedroom Cabin

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Standard Cabin, Hill View

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Luxury Suite, 1 King Bed, Jetted Tub, Hill View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Hotel Description

At Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat, you'll be 31.4 km (19.5 mi) from Cradle Mountain Visitor Centre and 37.3 km (23.2 mi) from Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park. Highlights at this motel include free daily breakfast, a restaurant, and free self parking.

Fireplaces, balconies or patios, and coffee/tea makers are featured in all 24 rooms. Refrigerators, fans, and safes are also available.

The restaurant, Whispering Woods, serves local cuisine and is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. For a drink, you can stop by the motel's own bar/lounge. Enjoy access to free bike rentals, mountain biking, and hiking/biking trails. A conference center and a business center are among the business amenities offered. Added amenities include free WiFi in public areas and laundry facilities. Each morning free English breakfast is offered between 8:00 AM and 9:30 AM.

Places within a 30-minute drive of this 4-star Moina motel include Dove River Conservation Area and Staverton Regional Reserve.

Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.5 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat

Everyone (117) Couples (149) Family (67)
3 out of 5
We stayed in Devon, it was slightly overpriced for the condition. The sliding door lock needs repair, cupboard door in front of the fridge is starting to come off it hinges, curtains were in poor condition and we killed several spiders inside the room. On a brighter side the surroundings and scenery was just amazing from the deck and spa.

Posted by on 1 Mar. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Beautiful place! Quiet, tranquil. Great food in the restaurant. Comfy bed and large room. Spa bath looking over the bush was amazing

Posted by on 2 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
The property was different, however, it is too far into the forest, especially if a bushfire occurred.

Posted by on 25 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Beautiful bird calls, great walks, extra friendly helpful staff. Good food. Pademelons to see. All good

Posted by on 4 Dec. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Wifi could have been better but overall the stay was great

Posted by on 4 Dec. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Loved it how we walked in and the heater was already on. ( was a tad bit cold outside so this was a lovely touch!) Very comfortable couch and beds had the most enjoyable stay, very relaxing.

Posted by on 5 Nov. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
The setting is beautiful and the cabins are a great size and really clean however the bathrooms are very outdated. We had the birth of our grandchild sooner than expected so had to return home and asked if we could have a refund for our second night stay but this was declined in a very negative manner. The way in which the situation was dealt with has left a very negative impression. We will never return to this property again and would not recommend it. What a shame their customer service let it down.

Posted by on 12 Oct. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 Oct. 2019 by Management

Thank you for your feedback, We would love to point out that we could not give a refund because you were within our cancellation policy when you phoned to tell us about your daughter having her child. However, we were happy enough to offer you a different date/ alter your stay but unfortunately that you didn’t want to change. We have very clear cancellation policy on our booking web page when booking your stay and we are very sorry if this was unclear. We respect your dilemma, but we could not make any changes further your booking due to the policy. Regards, Management,

5 out of 5
The cabins are cosy, warm and inviting. The staff are super friendly and helpful. A charming place to stay although care must be taken on the 8km gravel road drive into the resort. The road is narrow and windy.

Posted by , from Townsville on 4 Oct. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
A real retreat in the forest. Traditional lodge style; lovely and warm and comfortable.

Posted by on 8 Sep. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Posted by on 1 Sep. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?

Property Features

There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Free breakfast is served daily. Public spaces have free WiFi. You'll find a business center on site. A library, a terrace, and barbecue grills are also featured at the business-friendly Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat. Self parking is free. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 4-star Moina motel.

  • 24 guestrooms or units
  • Built in 1990
  • English breakfast (free)
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Conference center
  • Business facilities
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Wedding services available
  • Library
  • Terrace
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Gift shop
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator

Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Devonport, TAS (DPO) (69.5 km / 43.2 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat offers 24 accommodations with fireplaces and safes. Rooms open to balconies or patios. Guests can make use of the in-room refrigerators and coffee/tea makers. Bathrooms include complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and fans. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Fireplace
  • Private balcony or patio
  • Refrigerator
  • Coffee maker
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Heating
  • Fan
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Guests are served free English breakfast daily from 8:00 AM to 9:30 AM.

Whispering Woods - This restaurant specializes in local cuisine and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar. A children's menu is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 6:00 PM

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM. If you are planning to arrive after 6:00 PM please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM.
Guests arriving after 6:00 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10:00 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation.

  • Service animals are allowed
  • Staffed front desk
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No lifts
  • Debit cards

Hotel Names

  • Lemonthyme Lodge
  • Lemonthyme Lodge Moina
  • Lemonthyme Moina
  • Lemonthyme Hotel Moina
  • Lemonthyme Lodge Tasmania/Moina
  • Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat Motel Moina
  • Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat Motel
  • Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat Moina
  • Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat
  • Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat Motel
  • Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat Moina
  • Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat Motel Moina

National Rating

This property has been awarded a star rating from the Australian Star Ratings Agency, Star Ratings Australia.

url importing http://www.wotif.com/Moina-Hotels-Lemonthyme-Wilderness-Retreat.h4578120-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Moina-Hotels-Lemonthyme-Wilderness-Retreat.h4578120-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/Moina-Hotels-Lemonthyme-Wilderness-Retreat.h4578120-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.