Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"The lack of staff suited me and I felt like a free spirit, at one with the earth. " More

By a verified traveller on Fri 08 Jun 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At Wonky Stables Holiday Park you'll be within a 10-minute walk of Forrest Brewing Company and 2.2 km (1.4 mi) from Great Otway National Park.

This pet-friendly campground offers a 24-hour front desk, a terrace, and a garden. Additionally, you'll find an outdoor tennis court and laundry facilities. There's also the convenience of free self parking.

With a stay at this Forrest campground, you'll be 39.2 km (24.4 mi) from Apollo Bay Harbour.

Unpowered Grass Site

Bed Count room.options.bedSize.Futon.Singular Maximum Occupancy 7 Max
AU$37* Per night/room 26 Mar. - 27 Mar.

Family Cabin, Park View

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Powered Grass Site

Bed Count room.options.bedSize.Futon.Singular Maximum Occupancy 7 Max

Tent, Park View

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Cabin, Park View

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Mobile Home, Park View

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Wonky Stables Holiday Park ratings based on 7 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
2.3 out of 5 2.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 2.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 2.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 2.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Wonky Stables Holiday Park

Everyone (5) Family (2)
2 out of 5
No one at check in you have to use a computer set up in a shack

Posted by on 23 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

2 Apr. 2019 by Wonky Stables

We have a self check in system for our guests convenience. Most guest enjoy that system as it means they can check in whenever suits them day or night and is extremely convenient to be able to do so.

1 out of 5
not what it was advertised no ventulation poorly constructed "POD" made out of six ply wood as iam deaf i could not use my phone to ring the owner ! i supose the "POD" has not approved by the council!

Posted by on 13 Feb. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

31 Mar. 2019 by Wonky Stables

Many thanks for your feedback. We do understand that it is not possible to please every guest every time but we do take on board and appreciate all comments and strive to do our best to improve our guests experience. The Pod is accurately described on all our booking details so perhaps was not the best type of accommodation for you to select on this occasion. We have plenty of other options at different price points to accommodate all types of travellers.

2 out of 5
We booked the 2 bedroom Deluxe room. I would not say mich was 'Deluxe'. 2 lights in the bedroom. Both did not work. Someone was parked in our spot. Staff would not help us despite all regos being recorded on checkin. Could not park in our spot the second day because another car was there. Door lock so old school I locked myself out. Place just needs some tlc, paint, new towels, better vacuuming, etc.

Posted by on 10 Feb. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 Apr. 2019 by Wonky Stables

Many thanks for your feedback. We do understand that it is not possible to please every guest every time but we do take on board and appreciate all comments and strive to do our best to improve our guests experience. Your parking space is actually at the rear of the cabin that you booked so the car was actually not parked in your spot, but in the correct space for a camping site, which they had booked. The door lock on that cabin is a standard one but we were sorry to hear that you had trouble with it.

4 out of 5

Posted by on 17 Jan. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5
No Service, Cabin or park looked nothing like the photos, Noisy, Dirty, No wifi or reception, Hot water stopped working while people used the kitchen, BBQ was filthy, barely enough space to park in between cabins and not even close to value of what was charged.

Posted by on 10 Jan. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5

totally amateaur hour,

Booking email had pic of cabin, they reserved a pod for me. I havent even heard of a pod. Coulnd find the said pod and returned keys without staying. Went back to Colac and stayed at Colac motel. Colac motel friendly, clean and reasonable price. Located in middle of town.

Posted by on 30 Jul. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

2 Aug. 2018 by Wonky Stables

WE did not reserve a pod for you, YOU reserved this yourself when YOU booked it with a complete description and photo images to accompany it. Thank you for your review, however at no point did you contact us about not being able to find your accommodation. How can you expect to have booked a cabin when you paid $45 for the night? And your booking confirmation clearly said "Pod Van"? Security cameras show you actually having found your Pod Van, then using our amenities and finally driving off as you must have realised you did not book what you intended to.

5 out of 5

Delightful

The lack of staff suited me and I felt like a free spirit, at one with the earth.

Posted by on 8 Jun. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

2 Aug. 2018 by Wonky Stables

Thank you for your review. Lovely to hear your comments about our park :)

About the Wonky Stables Holiday Park

Location 1 Station Street, Forrest, VIC 3236

Property Features

As a guest of Wonky Stables Holiday Park, you'll find a terrace, tour/ticket assistance, and barbecue grills. Wonky Stables Holiday Park also features a garden, a picnic area, and laundry facilities. The front desk is open around the clock. Free self parking is available. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this Forrest campground.

  • 12 guestrooms or units
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Outdoor tennis court
  • Laundry facilities
  • Playground on site

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Wonky Stables Holiday Park offers 12 accommodations. Bathrooms include showers.

  • Shower

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18
  • Check-in time ends at midnight

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.

Pet Policy

  • Pets are welcome and stay free

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

Guests must contact this property in advance to reserve cribs/infant beds. This property accepts credit cards.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No lifts
  • Pets allowed (no fees)
  • Staffed front desk

Hotel Names

  • Wonky Stables Holiday Park Campsite Forrest
  • Wonky Stables Holiday Park Campsite
  • Wonky Stables Holiday Park Forrest
  • Wonky Stables Park Forrest
  • Wonky Stables Forrest
  • Wonky Stables Holiday Park Forrest
  • Wonky Stables Holiday Park Campsite
  • Wonky Stables Holiday Park Campsite Forrest
url importing http://www.wotif.com/Forrest-Hotels-Wonky-Stables-Holiday-Park.h23099788-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Forrest-Hotels-Wonky-Stables-Holiday-Park.h23099788-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/Forrest-Hotels-Wonky-Stables-Holiday-Park.h23099788-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.