Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.5 out of 5

"The place was awesome, clean, well supplied, felt so comy, great spa, could say nothing negative about the place " More

By a verified traveller on Fri 23 Oct 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At Dunes - elegant beach villa with huge swim spa you'll be 2.4 km (1.5 mi) from Port Fairy History Centre and 2.6 km (1.6 mi) from Port Fairy Coastal Reserve. Highlights at this property include free self parking, and in-room kitchens and free WiFi.

All 4 accommodations feature LCD TVs with DVD players, and you can enjoy furnished patios, living rooms, and dining areas. In-room dining is easy with kitchens that come equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, and stovetops. Private yards, ceiling fans, and irons/ironing boards are also available.

This property has free WiFi in public areas, a terrace, and a garden. Added amenities include laundry facilities, barbecue grills, and a picnic area.

With a stay at this 4-star Port Fairy property, you'll be 2.8 km (1.7 mi) from East Beach and 3.1 km (1.9 mi) from Griffith Island.

Double Storey Cottage

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 8 Max

Dunes - elegant beach villa with huge swim spa ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.5 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Dunes - elegant beach villa with huge swim spa

Everyone (21) Couples (13) Family (17)
5 out of 5
The place was awesome, clean, well supplied, felt so comy, great spa, could say nothing negative about the place

Posted by , from Lara, vic on 23 Oct. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

23 Oct. 2020 by Belfast Cottages

Hi Julie, thank you for your excellent review. We are thrilled to hear you had a great stay with us and loved everything about your cottage.

5 out of 5

Posted by on 18 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 Apr. 2019 by Belfast Cottages

Thank you for your excellent review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

5 out of 5

The cottages seem to be out from a fairy tale

Pros: Very tastefully done interiors and facilities including espresso coffee machine in room :)
To put it simply it was great. A lot of thought put in minor details.

Posted by , from Adelaide on 15 Nov. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 Nov. 2017 by Belfast Cottages

Thank you for kind words and feedback on your stay with us. We take great pride in adding little extra touches to make your stay more enjoyable.

2 out of 5

The cottages were quaint and comfortable

The cabin was quaint, clean, comfortable and kitchen was well stocked. However... shower did not work properly and bath towels should be replaced. The self check in was fine but felt for the price per night the use of the spa should be included. (Like most other hotels!) Disappointing as this was the most expensive night of our 6 day trip.

Posted by , from Canberra on 10 Oct. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

22 Oct. 2017 by Management - Belfast Cottages

Thank you for your feedback. We note you tried to cancel you booking 2 days prior to arrival and we hope this review does not reflect your frustration that you were unable to cancel at such short notice. We have checked the shower and had it tested and were advised it worked perfectly fine. We’ve also asked guests for their feedback on several mornings after your stay and none had any comments of any problems with the shower. A towel may have been overlooked, apologies if it was (maybe from older stock) but most of our towels are now replaced new. As for our new swim spa feature, you were sent details of costs etc prior to your stay. Upon arrival we spoke to you and you advised us that everything was lovely and we mentioned to you should you need anything at all during your stay to contact us day or night. Had you spoken to us, we would happily have checked the shower for you and offered you a discount for the spa for you and your family should that have been something you really wanted to experience. Our pool and spa feature is not like other accommodation pools. It’s not open to everyone at once and you get to book it privately with many features and benefits. It is an optional extra for a fee, such as breakfast. As far as your comment to being the most expensive, we would like to point out that our rates are one of the most affordable in Port Fairy and the whole Great Ocean for the self-contained stand-alone style of accommodation we offer for a family of four.

5 out of 5
We were made to feel so welcome. The cottage was everything that we hoped for.

Posted by , from sydney on 24 Aug. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

26 Aug. 2017 by Donna

Hi Garry, we are please you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words, we appreciate your feedback.

5 out of 5
Beautiful. Quiet and comfortable. The little extras were appreciated.

Posted by on 3 Aug. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

6 Aug. 2017 by Belfast Cottages

Hi We are please you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words, we appreciate your feedback.

4 out of 5

Quiet stay in peaceful surroundings

Pros: Self contained cottage was peaceful and supplied laundry facilities free of charge
Cons: Bathroom could be updated to more modern fittings
Location: Port Fairy was a quiet place - not much time to visit attractions as we had to move on.
Lovely setting and helpful host Only had 1 night so not really enough time to relax and enjoy the surroundings

Posted by , from Perth WA on 9 May 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

Quiet, cosy and comfortable cottage.

Pros: Relaxing, peaceful location. Well set up to prepare your own meals.
Cons: Water pressure in shower, entertainment system out of date. Needs to be more modern for the price.
Location: Short (less than 5 min) drive from town, relaxed sea side atmosphere. Enjoyable and scenic coastal walking.
A lovely place to stay, very peaceful and relaxing with only a short drive into town. The kitchen is well appointed for preparing your own food and block out curtains make for a good nights sleep. Just the lack of water pressure in the shower and old sound/stereo system (who uses video tapes anymore) were dissapointing for the cost of the accomodation.

Posted by , from Coffs Harbour, Aust. on 25 Feb. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Convenient stay close to Port Fairy

Pros: Proximity to Port Fairy, room to park boat and great cottage accommodation.
Belfast Cottages are an excellent choice for anyone looking to stay in Port Fairy. A stones throw from the main street but secluded enough to get away from it all. Plenty of space for boats, trailers and caravans as well as room for kids to play in a safe enclosed environment. Highly recommend.

Posted by on 11 Dec. 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

unique housing accom.

Pros: situation as not in town.
Cons: access to beach as could see but couldn't get there without driving vehicle. not accom owners problem but would be nice nearby.
Location: playground was good if there were little ones with room for 9 if needed at a good price.
away from traffic noise, out of town centre, home away from home. great accom especially if you had family. comfortable with out being over the top.

Posted by , from mt gambier on 21 Nov. 2016

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Dunes - elegant beach villa with huge swim spa

Location 5 Thistle Place, Port Fairy, VIC 3284

Property Features

Dunes - elegant beach villa with huge swim spa offers its guests a terrace, barbecue grills, and a garden. WiFi is free in public spaces. Dunes - elegant beach villa with huge swim spa also features a picnic area and laundry facilities. Self parking is free. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 4-star Port Fairy cottage.

  • 4 guestrooms or units
  • 4 buildings
  • Self-service laundry
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Number of living rooms
  • Free WiFi
  • Kitchen
  • Laundry facilities
  • Playground on site
  • Separate dining area
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Free cribs/infant beds
  • DVD player

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Melbourne Airport (MEL) (299.5 km / 186.1 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Dunes - elegant beach villa with huge swim spa offers 4 air-conditioned accommodations with DVD players and irons/ironing boards. Rooms open to furnished patios. Accommodations offer separate living rooms. Accommodations at this 4-star cottage have kitchens with refrigerators, stovetops, microwaves, and separate dining areas. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. LCD televisions are featured in guestrooms. Additionally, rooms include complimentary toiletries and ceiling fans.

  • In-room kitchen
  • Private patio (furnished)
  • Dining room
  • Living room
  • Private outdoor space
  • LCD television
  • DVD player
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Stove
  • Electric kettle
  • Kitchenware
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Hair dryer available
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Blackout drapes
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan

Spa Services

  • Spa tub in spa

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18
  • Check-in time ends at midnight

Special check-in instructions:

There is no front desk at this property. Guests planning to arrive outside of normal check-in hours will receive an email with check-in instructions and key retrieval information. Guests can access their accommodation through a private entrance. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

This property does not have a front desk. Guests planning to arrive outside of normal check-in hours will receive an email before arrival with check-in information and key retrieval information. Guests can access their accommodation through a private entrance. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for AUD 30.0 per night.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. This property accepts credit cards, debit cards, and cash.

This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property and commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays. Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available.

  • No lifts
  • Debit cards
  • Guests will receive an email with special check-in instructions
  • Private entrance
  • Property does not use a professional cleaning service
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • No gap period between guests' stays
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Rollaway bed fee: AUD 30.0 per night
  • Facilities fee: AUD 30 per accommodation and includes use of: spa; swimming pool

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Belfast Cottages House Port Fairy
  • Belfast Cottages House
  • Belfast Cottages Port Fairy
  • Belfast Cottages
  • Belfast Cottages Port Fairy, Victoria
  • Belfast Cottages
  • Dunes Elegant With Huge Swim
  • Dunes - elegant beach villa with huge swim spa Cottage
  • Dunes - elegant beach villa with huge swim spa Port Fairy

You should know

  • Reservations are needed for spa treatments. For reservations, contact the cottage before arrival using the contact information on the booking confirmation.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.

National Rating

This property has been awarded a star rating from the Australian Star Ratings Agency, Star Ratings Australia.

url importing http://www.wotif.com/Port-Fairy-Hotels-Dunes---elegant-beach-villa-with-huge-swim-spa.h9627038-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Port-Fairy-Hotels-Dunes---elegant-beach-villa-with-huge-swim-spa.h9627038-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.com/Port-Fairy-Hotels-Dunes---elegant-beach-villa-with-huge-swim-spa.h9627038-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.