4.1 out of 5

"The resort is very nice but the staff are not. They got our booking wrong saying we booked a king room for 3 adults but our paperwork said 2 doubles. ... " More

By a verified traveller on Sun 15 Apr 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

A romantic stay in Lahaina awaits you at Royal Lahaina Resort. Within just a 15-minute stroll, you'll find Kaanapali Beach and Black Rock. Highlights at this beachfront resort include 3 outdoor swimming pools, a restaurant and a free area shuttle.

Flat-screen TVs with cable channels are featured in all 441 rooms, and you can enjoy free WiFi, balconies or patios and coffee/tea makers. Room service, in-room massages and safes are also available.

The restaurant, Royal Ocean Terrace, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The resort's own poolside bar and bar/lounge are nice places to enjoy a drink. Spend the day at the beach where you'll find cabanas, and enjoy the 11 outdoor tennis courts and fitness centre. Other amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a spa tub and a coffee shop/café. Each morning cooked-to-order breakfast is available. There's also the convenience of valet parking.

Places within a 30-minute walk of this 3.5-star Lahaina resort include Whalers Village and Kahekili Beach.


Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
AU$360 per night

Cottage, Oceanfront

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room, Oceanfront

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Deluxe Cottage, Garden Area

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Standard Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Royal Lahaina Resort ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.1 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Royal Lahaina Resort

Everyone (11) Couples (2)
4 out of 5
Enjoyed the property being so close to the water. Pool area pretty outdated and needs updating. Had the garden Cottage which was a good size. I doubt the floor was cleaned before our arrival or whilst there though as it made our feet very dirty. Rest of unit seemed okay. We did get a few cockroaches inside to.

Posted by on 25 Feb. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

25 Feb. 2019 by Imelda

Aloha We are very sorry for your experiences. We strive to ensure everything is perfect for all our guests. We hope this does not keep you away from returning to stay with us.

4 out of 5
Close to beach, becoming a bit dated in terms of bathroom

Posted by on 10 Sep. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

10 Sep. 2018 by Brittany-Customer Care Team

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are happy that you had a good stay at our resort. We are always working to improve the resort , and we will address your concerns that you have mentioned about the bathroom. We hope you will keep us in mind if you plan to visit Maui in the future.

3 out of 5

Good resort Bad staff

The resort is very nice but the staff are not. They got our booking wrong saying we booked a king room for 3 adults but our paperwork said 2 doubles. We asked for an extra cup It took them 3 days . We was there for 5 days and never got our sheets changed. Staff was not friendly at all.

Posted by , from Australia on 15 Apr. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Apr. 2018 by Customer Care Team

Aloha Tracey, we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay at our resort. The Royal Lahaina staff is typically very responsive and this is not characteristic of them at all. We will review what can be done better. Mahalo

4 out of 5

Beautiful grounds, great beach

Pros: Beautiful grounds, friendly staff, and great beach
Cons: Do not recommend staying in a cottage room that has not been renovated. The older rooms are prone to bugs and the layout isn't great.
Location: Walk to restaurants, shopping and beaches. Great location!
Given a cottage room that was dirty and had bugs. Requested another room and hotel staff was very accommodating. New room in the Tower was excellent and overall stay was wonderful. Recommend this hotel. If staying in one of the cottage rooms, make sure to request one of the renovated cottage rooms.

Posted by on 10 Jan. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Close to the beach

We enjoyed our stay at the Royal Lahaina Resort, it had everything we needed. The staff were friendly and treated us well. Loved that it was so close to the beach.

Posted by , from Melbourne Australia on 24 Aug. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Nice resort in Lahaina

Pros: Location and beach access.
Cons: Rooms need a bit of renovating but who spends all day in their room when the beach is on your door step.
Location: Whalers village 10-15min walk 6km to Old Lahaina town
Very nice resort which is on the beach. We had a car which I would say is a must in Maui, so you can explore and also have the freedom to get out and try different restaurants in Old Lahaina town. It is walking distance to the whalers village which is a shopping mall with a couple nice restaurants. For us it had everything that we wanted in a resort. Pool, bar and gym and right on the beach. Got to see turtles every time we were at the beach which was great too. We had breakfast and lunch at the restaurant only once. Lunch was good but I think there are better options for breakfast in Old Lahaina town. Especially if you want an Espresso coffee. We stayed in a cottage room which are a little dated and some were getting renovated at the time but they are surrounded by nice gardens and we seemed to be the only ones in the complex of 5 rooms, so privacy was good. Rooms are clean and presentable.

Posted by , from Darwin on 6 May 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

higher expectations

Pros: 20 years ago on our honeymoon, this place was awesome. Good location.
Cons: See above. Also I suggest joining your 2 pools into a new landscaped pool. Everything needs a facelift.
Location: Black rock beach (at the Sheraton next door) was awesome, we saw plenty of fish and turtles.
The hotel is getting a bit run down. The pools are boring compared to next door. I ordered a wake up call at 1am, so we could do the sunrise bike trip down Haleakala and lucky I set my phone alarm as a backup, because the wake up call never came (it almost cost me $600). When I asked a bar tender could he please change one cocktail spirit for another, he said that I would have to pay more. We were charged $15 per day to park our car, and every day we had to park further and further from the hotel, this should have been free. We had to ask to get our bathroom door fixed, because it wouldn't lock. The bathroom needed repainting. One of your porters was very helpful with local advice, and I liked your fishtank in the foyer and tap in the room. But all in all, we would consider staying elsewhere next time.

Posted by , from Sydney Australia on 29 Apr. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Loved it

Pros: Everything was great, no complaints
Cons: Shuttles don't start early enough
Location: Too many activities to mention, loved every minute
Fabulous location, lovely rooms and friendly staff. Enjoyed the meals and amenities also

Posted by on 19 Feb. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Great views. Quiet location. Surf at your doorstep.All amenities within easy reach. Enjoyed our stay, and would stay again on next visit.

Posted by on 8 Nov. 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Cottage room, lovely except the air conditioner was noisy.

Posted by on 27 Oct. 2016

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Royal Lahaina Resort

Location 2780 Kekaa Dr, Lahaina, HI 96761

Property Features

Enjoy the cabanas (surcharge) and umbrellas for a relaxing day at the beach. Cool off in one of the 3 the outdoor swimming pools at Royal Lahaina Resort, and enjoy amenities such as the outdoor tennis courts and the hot tub. There's a restaurant on site, as well as a coffee shop/café. You can enjoy a drink at one of the bars, which include A poolside bar and A bar/lounge. A computer station is on site, and both WiFi and wired Internet are free in public spaces. This beach resort also offers a fitness centre and a garden. Parking is available for a fee. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 3.5-star Lahaina resort.

  • 441 guestrooms or units
  • Built in 1962
  • Dining venue
  • Bar by the pool
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Cabanas on the beach (surcharge)
  • Towels for the beach
  • Umbrellas for the beach
  • Cabanas by the pool (surcharge)
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Staff members are multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Garden
  • Gift shop
  • Computer for guest use
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • ATM
  • On-site shopping
  • Bellhop
  • Lift
  • Smoking in designated areas


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet


Self parking (surcharge) , Valet parking (surcharge)


  • Airport: Kahului, HI (OGG) (44.3 km / 27.5 mi)
  • Train station: Lahaina Sugar Cane Train Kaanapali Landing Station (4.2 km / 2.6 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Free area shuttle
  • Parking: Valet parking and self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Royal Lahaina Resort offers 441 forms of air-conditioned accommodation with a safe and coffee/tea makers. Rooms open to balconies or patios. 32-inch Flat-screen televisions come with cable channels and pay-per-view films. Bathrooms include a shower, complimentary toiletries and a hairdryer. Guests can surf the web using complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and telephones. Additionally, rooms include an iron/ironing board and blackout curtains. In-room massages and hypo-allergenic bedding can be requested. Housekeeping is provided on a daily basis.

  • Private balcony or patio
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Films for purchase
  • Coffee maker
  • Hypo-allergenic bedding
  • Shower
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (free)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Massage in room (surcharge)
  • Hairdryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy a cooked-to-order breakfast daily.

Royal Ocean Terrace – This restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Spa Services

  • Hot stone massage
  • Massages

Hotel Policies


  • Check-in time starts at 4:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18


  • Check-out by 11:00 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Free rollaway/extra beds!
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!


  • No pets allowed


Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • Tax ID - TA-130-995-4048-01


Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for cooked-to-order breakfast: USD 25 per person (approximately)
  • Self-parking fee: USD 15 per day (in/out privileges)
  • Valet parking fee: USD 20 per day (in/out privileges)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Royal Lahaina Resort
  • Royal Lahaina
  • Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
  • Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui
  • Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
  • Royal Lahaina Maui
  • Royal Hotel Lahaina

You should know

  • Reservations are needed for golf tee times. For reservations, contact the resort before arrival using the contact information on the booking confirmation.