4.3 out of 5

"No problem with residence. Problem with Wotif. Booked the wrong place. No information on how to get in. Eventually found agent who had not been pr ... " More

By a verified traveller on Tue 07 Nov 2017

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At Amy's House you'll be within steps of Clare Valley and Mount Horrocks Wine. Highlights at this B&B include free self parking, a spa tub and in-room kitchens.

You can enjoy free WiFi, fireplaces, and furnished balconies or patios, featured in all 3 soundproofed rooms. In-room dining is easy with kitchens that come equipped with fridges, microwaves and hobs. Nice touches to enhance your stay include free toiletries and premium bedding. Living rooms, dining areas and private yards are also available.

Enjoy access to bike rentals and a playground. Additionally, you'll find free WiFi in public areas and laundry facilities. English breakfast is available daily between 6:00 AM and noon.

Sights within a 10-minute drive of this 3.5-star Auburn B&B include Grosset Wines and Crabtree Watervale Wines.

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 6 Max
AU$128 per night

Cottage, 1 Bedroom

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Family House, 3 Bedrooms

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Romantic Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, Garden View, Garden Area

Bed Count 3 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Amy's House ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.3 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Amy's House

Everyone (31) Couples (37) Family (10)
3 out of 5
Some of the little things were a bit poor - Pepper and salt shaker on table were empty (just decoration?) - sugar bowl was nearly empty and hard on the bottom of the jar - Granulated coffee bean jar was nearly empty (was not able to use this item) - taps in kitchen were extremely hard to turn off (unfortunately one was leaking - so we had to keep trying- igniter in BBQ was very poor (we had to use the fire lighter) - property was difficult to find - went down church street and ran into a walkway - had to divert

Posted by on 14 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
Lovely area, very cosy, however the sofa and mattress needs an upgrade.

Posted by , from south australia on 16 Aug. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5

Hospitality Tainted

The blurb suggested relaxing with an open fire and only later were we told you jad to buy or bring wood This left us feeling unwelcome and disrespected. I would not recommend this accomodation

Posted by on 18 Jul. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

5 Aug. 2018 by Yev

Sorry you felt that way. There is a modest charge of $15 for a basket of wood on our budget options. I'm not too sure why this would make feel someone unwelcome and disrespected. We love all our guests regardless which package they pay for. The reason we have different price points is so that we don't exclude anyone looking for a good value.

4 out of 5

Rental House. Not Hotel.

Pros: Residence very nice and breakfast food provided.
Cons: Organisation between Wotif and agency.
Location: Wine growing area.
No problem with residence. Problem with Wotif. Booked the wrong place. No information on how to get in. Eventually found agent who had not been provided sufficient details about me. e.g.. mobile number. Nice place. Very quiet spot.

Posted by , from BOOIE. QLD on 7 Nov. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Dec. 2017 by Manager

Hi John, Thank you for your feedback. So glad you like the house. Sorry about the lack of information you were given. We're always available by phone or email .

5 out of 5

Peaceful retreat

Pros: Well appointed and clean.
Cons: A pair of scissors in the kitchen would be handy and more than one tea towel. Not much to complain about heh!
Location: House is off Main Street so traffic noise is minimal but a short walk to shops and hotel for dinner. Its an easy drive from here to sightsee each day
We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay at Amy's House. The location was great for visiting sites in the area and so peaceful. The cottage is beautifully equipped and the beds so comfortable. We have no hesitation recommending this accommodation.

Posted by , from Sydney on 14 Apr. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

3 Jun. 2017 by Yev

Thank you for you lovely feedback Meredith. Would love you, your friends or family stay with us again.

5 out of 5

Relaxing and picturesque

Pros: Pretty much everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Love history, drinking wine, peace and quiet? This place is for you. Reasonable travelling distance to historic sites and many good wineries. Tranquil
What a wonderful place to stay. The cottage was clean and comfortable and lacked for nothing. The owner was easy to deal with, in fact the whole process almost walk in walk out as thought it was your own place, yet he was contactable if needs be. I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Posted by , from Melbourne, Vic, Aus on 7 Jan. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

3 Jun. 2017 by Yev

Thank you for your feedback

4 out of 5
Pros: Log fire, spa bath
Cons: Start button on spa bath a bit awkward, and a couple more dinner plates would have been handy.
Location: We found plenty to do, Riesling Trail, maze and wineries. Food and wine is sensational
Great little spot to enjoy Clare valley its sights and activities

Posted by , from Adelaide on 8 Aug. 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

24 Aug. 2016 by Amy's House

Hi stuu. Thanks for the review. Yes the spa button is a safety air pressure switch and need some force to activate. We've added more dinner plates.

3 out of 5

Nice venue spoilt by poor customer service.

The venue was lovely but we had a few issues. Firstly no one contacted us prior to coming and we didn't know which unit we were in or where to find the key. It was a cold weekend and no wood supplied for the combustion heater. We then found out we had to pay extra for wood. The fire smoked and the dryer didn't work. Very nice ample provisions left for breakfast. Just a pity we didn't feel more welcomed.

Posted by , from SA on 19 Aug. 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

3 Jun. 2017 by Yev

We're very sorry you felt unwelcome. It's certainly not the experience we want our guests to recieve. We are only a phone call away. The cottages are equiped with both a wood heater and a reverse cycle air conditioner. Wood is only supplied with our higher optioned packages. Not too sure why the fire was smoking. The dryer has also been checked and works ok. Would have loved to assist if I knew about these issues during your stay. We certainly want our guests to have a most enjoyable and relaxing stay.

4 out of 5
Pros: Close proximity to central township while still being in a quiet tranquil setting
Cons: Nothing really except for a few cobwebs around inside
Location: Just right
Facilities: Modern; Value: Affordable; Service: Friendly; Cleanliness: Pleasant; lovely park nearby / pub with great meals

Posted by , from Australia - SA - Adelaide on 25 Feb. 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Cons: Spa didn't work. no instructions and reply from the owner.
Location: Away from it all, Australia
Facilities: Spa no work.no reply no; Lovely people in the town.

Posted by , from Australia - SA - Adelaide on 19 Jan. 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 Jan. 2015 by

Hi Lisa, Sorry to hear about the Spa. We did not get any message about this problem so we're sorry about that. Spa is definitely working. The button is on top of the bath. On occasion the power point located in the laundry is turned off by some guests. This could have been the problem in your case. Once again sorry we did not get to rectify the problem whilst you were there.

Property Features

As a guest of Amy's House, you'll find a hot tub, a terrace, and a BBQ. WiFi is free in public spaces. Amy's House also features a garden, a picnic area, and laundry facilities. Free self parking is available. This 3.5-star Auburn bed & breakfast is smoke free.

  • 3 guestrooms or units
  • 3 buildings
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Self-service laundry
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Separate living room
  • Free WiFi
  • Soundproofed rooms
  • Kitchen
  • Laundry facilities
  • Playground on site
  • Separate dining area
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Adelaide, SA (ADL) (121.1 km / 75.2 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Amy's House offers 3 forms of air-conditioned accommodation with fireplaces and complimentary bottles of water. Rooms open to furnished balconies or patios. This individually decorated and furnished accommodation has separate living rooms. Beds feature Egyptian cotton sheets and premium bedding. Accommodation at this 3.5-star bed & breakfast has kitchens with fridges, hobs, microwaves and separate dining areas. Bathrooms include complimentary toiletries and a hairdryer. Guests can surf the web using complimentary wireless Internet access. Televisions come with Netflix. Additionally, rooms include coffee/tea makers and an iron/ironing board.

  • In-room kitchen
  • Fireplace
  • Private balcony or patio (furnished)
  • Dining room
  • Living room
  • Private outdoor space
  • Netflix
  • Fridge
  • Microwave
  • Hob
  • Coffee maker
  • Kitchenware
  • Egyptian cotton linens
  • Hairdryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Blackout drapes
  • Sound-insulated rooms
  • Air conditioning
  • Unique furnishings
  • Unique decor

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy a English breakfast daily from 6:00 AM to noon.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 5:30 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Special check-in instructions:

There is no front desk at this property. The check-in location differs from the property location. To check in, go to Check-in for Almond Tree cottage is at 19 Archer Street Auburn
To make arrangements for check-in, please contact the property at least 24 hours before arrival using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-in for this property is based at a different location:

  • Amy's 1: Church St and Elder St (access from Elder street)
  • Amy's 2: Church St and Elder St (access from Church street)
  • Amy's 3: 9 Bleechmore St
  • This property does not have a front desk. The check-in location differs from the property location. To check in, guests will need to go to Check-in for Almond Tree cottage is at 19 Archer Street Auburn
    To arrange for check-in, guests must contact the property at least 24 hours prior to arrival using the information on the booking confirmation.

    Check-out

    • Check-out by 10 AM

    Payment types

    Children and extra beds

    • Children are welcome.

    Pets

    • Pets are welcome and stay free
    • Maximum 2 per room
    • Restrictions apply
    • For more information, you can reach out to the property at the number on the booking confirmation

    Policies

    Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

    A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

    Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

    • Pets allowed (no fees)

    Fees

    Optional extras

    The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

    • Fee for English breakfast: AUD 10 for adults and AUD 10 for children (approximately)
    • Early check-in is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)
    • Late check-out is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)

    This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

    Hotel Names

    • Amy's House B&B Auburn
    • Amy's House B&B
    • Amy's House Auburn
    • Amy's House

    You should know

    • To make arrangements for your pet, contact the property directly using the information on your booking confirmation.

    National Rating

    This property has been awarded a star rating from the Australian star ratings agency, Star Ratings Australia.