4.2 out of 5

"Convenient quiet and comfortable even without air conditioning however having opening windows and fresh air was a plus. " More

By a verified traveller on Sun 18 Feb 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

West Plaza Hotel puts you in the heart of Wellington, within steps of Wellington Town Hall and Michael Fowler Centre. Highlights at this hotel include a restaurant and in-room LCD TVs.

You can enjoy WiFi, cable TV, and coffee/tea makers, featured in all 102 rooms. Additionally, 24-hour room service, hairdryers, and phones are available.

The restaurant, City Dining and Bar, is open for breakfast and dinner. The hotel's own bar/lounge is a nice place to enjoy a drink. Added amenities include WiFi in public areas and laundry facilities. Each morning full breakfast is served between 6:30 AM and 10 AM. There's also the convenience of self parking.

Places within a short walk of this 4-star The best-rated area in Wellington hotel include Wellington i-SITE Visitor Centre and Civic Square.

Standard Twin Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max
$131 per night

Standard Double Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Bed and Breakfast

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Triple Room

Bed Count 3 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Standard Double Room (2 Night Special)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Suite

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

West Plaza Hotel ratings based on 872 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.2 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Convenient quiet and comfortable even without air conditioning however having opening windows and fresh air was a plus.

Posted by on 18 Feb 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 Feb 2018 by Hotel Management

Thank you for your feedback we have passed this onto the team

4 out of 5

A nice hotel across the road from tour departures!

Late departure, no problem! Luggage storage - excellent! All tour departures from opposite hotel was very convenient - recommended! Very central and convenient place to stay - recommended♡♡♡

Posted by , from Sydney on 14 Feb 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Feb 2018 by Hotel Management

Hi Shirley Thank you for your feedback we hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon

4 out of 5

Nice hotel close to Government Offices

Pros: The bathroom and helpful admin staff
Cons: The bed room should be equipped with air-con, bigger TV set and minibar
Location: Apart from the fascinating beach nearby there're a lot of Offices, restaurants and tourism attractions
Comfortable though with no air-conditioner and minibar. Luckily there's a table fan that could help us survive the warm night in Wellington.

Posted by , from Canberra, Australia on 13 Feb 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

13 Feb 2018 by Hotel Management

Hi Phomma Thank you for your feedback we appreciate your comments and have passed this onto the team

4 out of 5
Pros: Handy to everything.
Across the road from I site where we were able to book our trips. Easy walk to Cable Car, Parliament, Pukeahu, Te Papa and the waterfront. Shops and cafes short walk from our door.

Posted by on 11 Feb 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Feb 2018 by Hotel Management

Thank you for your feedback we appreciate your comments

5 out of 5

Central City Hotel

Pros: Loved the decor, friendliness, cleanliness and location.
Location: The hotel is so central. Car Parking, Te Papa, Shopping, New World and Restaurants are all just a short walk away.
We needed to change rooms and this was done easily with little extra cost.

Posted by on 5 Feb 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

6 Feb 2018 by Front Office

Good Morning Heather, Thanks for your 5 star review. We look forward to welcoming you to the West Plaza Hotel in the future.

4 out of 5
Pros: Centrally placed
Location: Circa theatre
Room was too hot. I think the heat was from the building after some days of hot weather

Posted by , from Hawkes Bay on 4 Feb 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Feb 2018 by Hotel Management

Thank you for your feedback we will pass this onto our team

4 out of 5
Pros: The location, meals, bar service
Cons: Air conditioning in the rooms fan were provided but still to hot
Location: The location was great the activities were mainly on the wharf which is about 5 min walk and main entertainment zone was just around the corner
The stay was great centrally located can walk were ever you wanted to go.

Posted by , from Wellington on 4 Feb 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Feb 2018 by Hotel Management

Thank you for your feedback we will pass this onto our team

4 out of 5

Excellent central location, close to attractions

Excellent central location, close to information centre and major attractions we wanted to see including Te Papa Museum, waterfront etc, and Cuba Street cafes and restaurants. Friendly hotel staff, very accommodating. It's a pity the hotel doesn't have air conditioning as we had fans going a lot because of the summer heat. Apart from that, we recommend the hotel and would stay there again.

Posted by , from Auckland on 30 Jan 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 Jan 2018 by Hotel Management

We appreciate your feedback and have passed this onto the team

4 out of 5

Great hotel, very central.

Had nice stay. So close to the centre of Wellington it was easy walking distance to anywhere we wanted to go. Unfortunate there was some construction going on next door.

Posted by , from Auckland, NZ on 25 Jan 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

26 Jan 2018 by Hotel Management

We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed our central location. It is often hard to control the noise created by other businesses’ in CBD and we are sorry that the Wellington City Council works influenced your stay. We are trying our very best to work with WCC and the contractors to ensure hotel guests have minimum disruption. Thanks again for your comments

2 out of 5

Disappointing

Pros: No Air conditioning
Cons: Air conditioning
Location: Close to the water front, central city, Te Papa
The hotel is in a great location and on first inspection seems really clean and tidy. However, we had the worst sleep ever! The building is very old and stuffy and has absolutely no air conditioning or air flow. The only remedy to the extremely hot and stuffy rooms was a tiny fan that was very noisy all night. We were booked in for two nights but due to the uncomfortable stay checked out early and stayed at another Hotel down the road for the same price and had an amazingly comfortable stay.

Posted by on 23 Jan 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

26 Jan 2018 by Hotel Management

Thanks for your feedback. Air conditioning is something the hotel is currently looking at, but we cannot confirm that it will happen and if it does it will not be until next summer at the earliest. In the meantime, we endeavour to do everything we can to make our guests comfortable with the resources available. We appreciate your comments.

Property Features

There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. WiFi is available in public spaces for a fee. The eco-friendly West Plaza Hotel also features on-site laundry facilities, dry cleaning/laundry services, and 24-hour room service. Limited parking is available for a fee and is offered on a first-come, first-served basis. This 4-star Wellington hotel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 102 guestrooms or units
  • 5 levels
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Front desk safe
  • Television in lobby
  • Bellhop
  • Lift
  • No smoking on site

Internet

Available in all rooms: WiFi (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: WiFi (surcharge)

Parking

Self parking (surcharge) , Parking (limited spaces)

Transport

  • Airport: Wellington (WLG-Wellington Intl.) (7.6 km / 4.7 mi)
  • Train station: Wellington Station (1.7 km / 1 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

West Plaza Hotel offers 102 forms of accommodation with coffee/tea makers and a hairdryer. LCD televisions come with cable channels. Bathrooms include a shower and complimentary toiletries. In-room wireless Internet access is available for a surcharge. Business-friendly amenities include desks and telephones. Additionally, rooms include an iron/ironing board and blackout curtains. Housekeeping is provided on a daily basis.

  • In-room dining (24 hours)
  • HD television
  • Cable channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower
  • Cribs (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hairdryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy a full breakfast daily from 6:30 AM to 10 AM.

City Dining and Bar – This restaurant serves breakfast and dinner.

24-hour room service is available.

Accessibility

If you need to make special requests for accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when booking your stay.

  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guest room reservation.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Parking height restrictions apply

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Cash deposit: NZD100 per stay

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for full breakfast: NZD28 per person (approximately)
  • Fee for in-room wireless Internet: NZD 10 per night (rates may vary)
  • Fee for wireless Internet in public areas: NZD 10 per night (rates may vary)
  • Self-parking fee: NZD25 per night
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for an additional fee
  • On-site credit card charges are subject to a surcharge

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

You should know

  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.

Awards & Affiliations

Green/Sustainable Property
This property participates in Qualmark, a programme that measures the property's impact on one or more of the following: The Environment, the community, the cultural heritage and the local economy.

National Rating

Qualmark® assigns an official star rating for accommodation in New Zealand. This Hotel property has been rated 4 stars.

Official New Zealand Rating provided by Qualmark®