4.2 out of 5

"This hotel is good for a one or two night stay but anything more and you might go a little stir crazy! It is right in the city which is great, close t ... " More

By a verified traveller on Fri 13 Apr 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

West Plaza Hotel puts you in the heart of Wellington, within steps of Wellington Town Hall and Michael Fowler Centre. Highlights at this hotel include a restaurant and in-room LCD TVs.

You can enjoy WiFi, cable TV, and coffee/tea makers, featured in all 102 rooms. Additionally, 24-hour room service, hairdryers, and phones are available.

The restaurant, City Dining and Bar, is open for breakfast and dinner. The hotel's own bar/lounge is a nice place to enjoy a drink. Added amenities include WiFi in public areas and laundry facilities. Each morning full breakfast is served between 6:30 AM and 10 AM. There's also the convenience of self parking.

Places within a short walk of this 4-star Wellington hotel include Civic Square and City Gallery Wellington.

West Plaza Hotel ratings based on 880 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.2 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0
4 out of 5

Basic hotel right in the city

This hotel is good for a one or two night stay but anything more and you might go a little stir crazy! It is right in the city which is great, close to TSB Bank Arena which is why we were there for a concert. The rooms are comfortable enough but the bathrooms are extremely small and not overly clean. Very basic toiletries provided and the shower curtain just blows all over the place and doesn't really do its job. The bathroom also doesn't have a working fan. There's a lot of works happening around the hotel at the moment so I wouldn't bank on getting a sleep in and one of the elevators is undergoing renovations. Overall a pleasant one night stay but very basic.

Posted by on 13 Apr 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

16 Apr 2018 by Hotel Management

Good Afternoon Thank you for your feedback we will pass your comments onto our team

5 out of 5

Central Hotel in Wellington

Easy access to central Wellington. Clean rooms, good service. Bed was a bit uncomfortable, but can't beat your own.

Posted by , from Auckland on 7 Apr 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 Apr 2018 by Hotel Management

Thank you for your feedback

5 out of 5

Nice and Close

Hotel was nice and close to the different restaurants, shopping outlets and also tourist attraction. The room they placed us in was perfect with plenty of sunshine and view of outside. Breakfast was yummy too. Thank you, will definitely be back.

Posted by on 4 Apr 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

5 Apr 2018 by Hotel management

Thank you for your feedback, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay

4 out of 5

Nice hotel. Close to Michael Fowler centre.

Pros: Centre location
Cons: Better Breakfast variety.
Location: Close to Michael Fowler centre and Cuba street. Close to restaurant and Museum. Nice little shops around it.
Really nice hotel with excellent staff. Breakfast could do with a upgrade and variety. The room was great, but bathroom could do with a extra sweep. Close to everything

Posted by on 25 Mar 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

26 Mar 2018 by Hotel Management

Thank you for your feedback

5 out of 5

Very central location

Pros: It's location. The staff were very obliging and we could leave our car there till 1.00 on Sunday after checking out at 10.00 am.
Cons: The water pressure in the shower.
Location: Very central to restaurants, cafes and shops.
We had a great weekend stay and were able to walk everywhere from this location.

Posted by , from North Island on 25 Mar 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

26 Mar 2018 by Hotel Management

Thank you for your feedback

4 out of 5

Good central position for our requirements

Pros: Friendly staff offering extra help and information
Cons: It seemed fine to us
Location: Close to bus routes, majority attraction and good shops
Because of our physical condition, we asked for a shower stool and a shower mat. These were provided wiilingly and we were offered a room upgrade to one with a walk in shower and more floor space. grateful ande impressed by this.

Posted by , from Auckland on 21 Mar 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

22 Mar 2018 by Hotel Management

Thank you for your feedback, glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay, we have passed your comments on to our team

4 out of 5
Location: Excellent
Hotel was well placed. Staff helpful. Pleasant seating in lounge Breakfast disappointing. Food cold.

Posted by on 12 Mar 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

12 Mar 2018 by Hotel Management

Thanks you for your feedback, we are dissapointed to hear about the breakfast, we have passed your comments onto our team

3 out of 5

Old hotel but clean enough

Pros: Location was good
No air conditioning? Its 2018.. Just my luck it was the only hot day of the year. For that price its not good enough. Hotel is showing its age but bed was comfortable. Won't be coming back.

Posted by , from Sydney on 6 Mar 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 Mar 2018 by Hotel Management

Thanks for your feedback. Air conditioning is something the hotel is currently looking at, but we cannot confirm that it will happen and if it does it will not be until next summer at the earliest. In the meantime, we endeavor to do everything we can to make our guests comfortable with the resources available. We appreciate your comments.

4 out of 5
Convenient quiet and comfortable even without air conditioning however having opening windows and fresh air was a plus.

Posted by on 18 Feb 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 Feb 2018 by Hotel Management

Thank you for your feedback we have passed this onto the team

4 out of 5

A nice hotel across the road from tour departures!

Late departure, no problem! Luggage storage - excellent! All tour departures from opposite hotel was very convenient - recommended! Very central and convenient place to stay - recommended♡♡♡

Posted by , from Sydney on 14 Feb 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Feb 2018 by Hotel Management

Hi Shirley Thank you for your feedback we hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon

Property Features

There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. WiFi is available in public spaces for a fee. The eco-friendly West Plaza Hotel also features on-site laundry facilities, dry cleaning/laundry services, and 24-hour room service. Limited parking is available for a fee and is offered on a first-come, first-served basis. This 4-star Wellington hotel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 102 guestrooms or units
  • 5 levels
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Front desk safe
  • Television in lobby
  • Bellhop
  • Lift
  • No smoking on site

Internet

Available in all rooms: WiFi (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: WiFi (surcharge)

Parking

Self parking (surcharge) , Parking (limited spaces)

Transport

  • Airport: Wellington (WLG-Wellington Intl.) (7.6 km / 4.7 mi)
  • Train station: Wellington Station (1.7 km / 1 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

West Plaza Hotel offers 102 forms of accommodation with coffee/tea makers and a hairdryer. LCD televisions come with cable channels. Bathrooms include a shower and complimentary toiletries. In-room wireless Internet access is available for a surcharge. Business-friendly amenities include desks and telephones. Additionally, rooms include an iron/ironing board and blackout curtains. Housekeeping is provided on a daily basis.

  • In-room dining (24 hours)
  • HD television
  • Cable channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower
  • Cribs (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hairdryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy a full breakfast daily from 6:30 AM to 10 AM.

City Dining and Bar – This restaurant serves breakfast and dinner.

24-hour room service is available.

Accessibility

If you need to make special requests for accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when booking your stay.

  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guest room reservation.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Parking height restrictions apply

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Cash deposit: NZD100 per stay

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for full breakfast: NZD28 per person (approximately)
  • Fee for in-room wireless Internet: NZD 10 per night (rates may vary)
  • Fee for wireless Internet in public areas: NZD 10 per night (rates may vary)
  • Self-parking fee: NZD25 per night
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for an additional fee
  • On-site credit card charges are subject to a surcharge

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

You should know

  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.

Awards & Affiliations

Green/Sustainable Property
This property participates in Qualmark, a programme that measures the property's impact on one or more of the following: The Environment, the community, the cultural heritage and the local economy.

National Rating

Qualmark® assigns an official star rating for accommodation in New Zealand. This Hotel property has been rated 4 stars.

Official New Zealand Rating provided by Qualmark®