Ratings based on 254 Verified Reviews

Real reviews from guests who’ve stayed
4.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Wotif Verified Reviews
Real reviews from guests who’ve stayed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from NEWCASTLE

NICE RESTAURANT

Posted 10/01/2018
Cons: SHADE AROUND THE POOL.
LOVELY PLACE TO STAY. VERY CLEAN. FRIENDLY STAFF, ESPECIALLY THE BAR MAN. VERY NICE RESTAURANT, FOOD WAS LOVELY. DIDNT SWIM IN THE POOL, WASNT ENOUGH SHADE AROUND THE POOL.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Melbourne

Not as expected for price

Posted 29/12/2017
The hotel staff were all lovely. I ordered restaurant food in my room for dinner, it was delicious. Unfortunately, the room while large in size, is extremely dated and minimally decked out. My “king” bed was two singles pushed together. No blockout curtains!!! So privacy was an issue, and unfortunately... the rooms are not soundproof at all. The gardens and winery surrounding the property are lovely, but that shouldn’t be what pushes up the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
03/01/2018 by GRomein, Hotel Management
Dear N My apologies that we did not meet your expectations, they king bed is actually a zipper king which allows us to have transform the room into a twin. Only a few of our rooms have this function and most have a solid king bed. We are installing blockout blinds in each room at the moment by the end on January we would have installed most of them. Thank for your comments and constructive criticism, this is what makes us better at what we do. Kind regards GRomein General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Melbourne

Disappointing for the brand

Posted 03/12/2017
Pros: Staff were excellent as was the restaurant and breakfast
Cons: Rooms, room cleanliness and amenities
Location: Central to everything in the small village All "tourist centres" within a brisk walk
Having stayed at the sister hotel in Red Hill we were expecting similar standards and condition. All looks great from the outside and through the reception area but the room was disappointing Sparse and uninviting with the squashed insects on the underside of the blinds a real kill joy along with the shower which at full pressure resembled a dripping hose.
Comment from Hotel Management
13/12/2017 by GRomein, Hotel Management
Dear Wayne Thank you for your kind comments on our staff, we all work extremely hard to ensure guests enjoy their stay. Red Hill has just had a multi-million dollar refurb and is looking fantastic, in saying this we are a little behind where they currently are. However, cleanliness in your room should be spot on, i will personally look into this. Thank you again and we will welcome you back when you visit the north east in the future. Regards GRomein General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Melbourne

Comfortable Hotel set in a beautiful garden

Posted 29/10/2017
The hotel is like a large private home and is a great spot for a weekend getaway. We enjoyed some quiet time , just reading in the garden .
Comment from Hotel Management
23/11/2017 by GRomein, Hotel Management
Dear Jules Thank you for the 4/5 rating, it looks as if you have really enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again and see you on your next visit to the region Regards GRomein General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from South East Melbourne

Perfect

Posted 15/10/2017 on Lastminute
Located just around the corner from Brown Brothers winery amidst grape vines, this hotel has great views, very clean and comfortable. The restaurant serves great food and has great views. Expecially for a sunset dinner. there's also an excellent courtyard. A must stay for the region.
Comment from Hotel Management
24/10/2017 by GRomein, Hotel Management
Dear Ricardo Thank you very much for the 5/5 rating, we certainly appreciate it! It reads as if your thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and we will see you again in the future Many thanks GRomein General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Geelong

Posted 04/09/2017
Great views but these explain the price of what I consider an average room for the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
21/09/2017 by GRomein, Hotel Management
Dear Mark Thank you taking the time to complete a review, Im please to read you enjoyed the hotel and views. Kind regards GRomein General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 25/08/2017
Cons: Garden rooms could have doormats to wipe your boots. WiFi service could be set to not "timeout" if it isn't used for a few minutes.
This is a pleasant "international style" hotel in a country setting. The staff are country folk who are "not pushy" to the point of invisibility so service hours are quite short (8am to 8pm). For example breakfast is not available until 8am. It would be the best quality hotel in the district but considering the prices it lacks the little luxury touches.
Comment from Hotel Management
30/08/2017 by GRomein, Hotel Management
Dear ... Thank you for completing a review, being a small country style hotel we do have limited reception hours, however we have a manager that is on call 24/7 so if you need something we are still there to serve you. We also encourage a sleep in hence the later start for breakfast, its nice have a lay in every now and again. I do appreciate your feedback and ensure we can learn from it to provide our future guests with the best possible service and experience. Kind regards GRomein
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveller from Sydney

Relaxing indulgence

Posted 02/08/2017
Our room was very comfortable and had a beautiful view over the vines. The food was delicious, as was the wine. The staff were friendly and professional. In many ways I'm sorry that we only had time to stay one night
Comment from Hotel Management
04/08/2017 by GRomein, Hotel Management
Dear Natalie Thank you for the 5/5 review, next time you visit you might need to stay more than one night, there is so much to see and do you just simply cant do it all in a day. Thank you again and see you on your next visit to the region. Regards GRomein General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Convenient friendly staff but not comfortable

Posted 05/07/2017 on Expedia
Pros: Convenience and friendly staff.
Cons: Room was way too sparse. The one couch and wardrobe were too small. Suggest have more loose furnitire; ie coffee table and armchair and rug.
Location: Close to shops and a few cafes.
Great friendly check in staff and location is great. Ticks the box for a place providing modern surrounds and convenience of a restaurant inside. We were just visiting for the one night on the way to Falls Ceeek so just needed convenience and comfort.
Comment from Hotel Management
11/07/2017 by GRomein, Hotel Management
Dear paul Thank you for your review, it disappoints me to read you did not find our hotel comfortable. I have noted that your room felt sparse and thank you for the suggestions. im glad to read however that our staff were friendly and we have a great location. I hope you enjoyed your skiing at falls creek Kind regards GRomein General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveller from Sunshine Coast

Lovely setting

Posted 28/05/2017
Pros: Picturesque location
Cons: Decor is tired
Location: Close to Brown Bros Winery, quiet country area
Stayed Monday, therefore no bar, restaurant or open fire.
Comment from Hotel Management
11/07/2017 by GRomein, Hotel Management
Dear Pete Thank you for your review, it looks as if you have enjoyed your time with us, and appreciated our proximity to Brown Brothers and surrounding vineyards. Kind regards GRomein General Manager