"Reasonably comfortable room. Could use an update. Bed was OK. Great views. Continental breakfast had a good selection. " More

By a verified traveller on Sun 26 Aug 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At Scamander Beach Hotel Motel you'll be in proximity to popular sights like Binalong Bay and Bay of Fires. Highlights at this beach motel include a restaurant, an outdoor swimming pool and free continental breakfast.

You can enjoy balconies, TVs and portable fans, featured in all 60 rooms. Hairdryers, irons/ironing boards and desks are also available.

The bistro, Beach Bistro, is open for lunch and dinner. Sand Bar is the motel's own bar. Business amenities include a conference centre and a meeting room. Other amenities include laundry facilities, a garden and free newspapers in the lobby. Each morning free breakfast is served. There's also the convenience of free self parking.

Sights near this 3.5-star Scamander motel include Scamander Beach and Scamander River Golf Club.

Garden View (1 Double bed + 1 Single bed)

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max
AU$100 per night

Premium Queen Room - River View

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Garden View Twin ( 2 Single beds)

Bed Count 2 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Queen Room - Ocean View

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Budget Double Room - Garden View

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Queen & Single Room - Ocean View

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Scamander Beach Hotel Motel ratings based on 336 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.3 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Scamander Beach Hotel Motel

Everyone (210) Couples (102) Family (23) Other (1)
4 out of 5
clean and comfortable, good amenities include a little kids playground. The only downside is the sound insulation of the room is bad, could hear everything outside the room.

Posted by on 7 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 May 2019 by Georgie

Hello there, Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate your feedback.

3 out of 5
Good position and great sea views a bit dated but room was clean apart from the wine glasses having finger and lip marks!. Food at bistro was good

Posted by on 27 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 Apr. 2019 by Georgie

Hello there, Yes we agree, the view is fantastic! As for our rooms, we are well aware they are in need of a make over. Except for 2 levels, all other rooms have had a make over. Perhaps you requested one of the rooms on the 2 levels that have yet to be done? The comment about the wine glasses - Did you happen to mention this to the bistro staff that evening? This is unacceptable and your feedback will be passed onto the appropriate staff. Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate your comments.

3 out of 5
Good view Upgrade to room needed, tv only had one channel

Posted by on 24 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 Apr. 2019 by Georgie

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate your feedback.

3 out of 5
Rooms are older and a bit tired but certainly adequate. Staff friendly and helpful. Dinner was rather disappointing - Roast of the day (Lamb) - meat was tasteless and seemed like it had been sitting in water, roast potatoes were uncooked, side chips with calamari were overcooked and taste of old oil.

Posted by on 24 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 Apr. 2019 by Georgie

Hi there, We're very sorry you were unhappy with your meals. Did you mention this to our bistro staff? I will pass on your feedback to the appropriate staff to ensure things like this do not happen again. We thank you for taking the time to review us, your comments are appreciated.

4 out of 5

Posted by on 23 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 Apr. 2019 by Georgie

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate it.

2 out of 5
Very poor breakfast selection low quality, large number of cheap toasters plugged into into multiple power boards tripping out electrical circuits, likely fire hazard. Faulty wiring on bedside lamp. TV ancient only 1 channel poor reception fuzzy. No aircon, no fan. Staff too busy to serve coffee.

Posted by on 22 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

3 May 2019 by Georgie

Hello, Our cold hotel breakfast is free for all guests each day they are staying here. We apologise that the breakfast wasn't what you expected. Faulty wiring on bed side lamp? We would of appreciated someone telling reception after you had found the lamp so we could rectify the situation directly. Yes, we are aware that the TV's are old. We are working on upgrading to new TV's and the whole entire TV wiring throughout the hotel as it is not picking up reception like it used to. We do have rooms with the new TV's in there but not even they are picking up all the channels with built in aerials or "rabbit ear" aerials. Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate your comments.

2 out of 5
No hot water. TV was old with terrible picture and only one channel. No wifi.

Posted by on 22 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 Apr. 2019 by Georgie

Hi there, We're sorry you were unhappy. Our hot water cylinders unexpectedly went out but it was fixed within 12 hours. As with the TV's, we are trying to upgrade to new ones but even the new TV's are not picking up all the stations that they should whether they have built in aerials or not. It is all due to the current set up from the previous owner, which we are working very hard on fixing everything altogether. Thanks for your review, we appreciate your comments.

2 out of 5

Posted by on 21 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 Apr. 2019 by Georgie

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate it.

2 out of 5
Restaurant took 3 hours for meal to come out and wasn't what had ordered and some courses missed all together

Posted by on 21 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 Apr. 2019 by Georgie

Hi there, We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll continue to work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for taking the time to review us, we appreciate it.

4 out of 5
tv is outdated only one channel..............meals where very good and plenty of it.

Posted by on 17 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 Apr. 2019 by Georgie

Hi there, We're sorry about the TV situation, we are currently having troubles fixing the reception and updating to new TV's. Thanks for taking the time to review us, we appreciate it.

About the Scamander Beach Hotel Motel

Location 158-164 Scamander Ave, Scamander, TAS 7215

Property Features

There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Free breakfast is served daily. An outdoor pool, tour or ticket assistance, and a garden are also featured at the business-friendly Scamander Beach Hotel Motel. Self parking is free. This 3.5-star Scamander motel is smoke free.

  • 60 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • Continental breakfast (free)
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Conference centre
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Garden
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Lift
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Laundry facilities
  • Playground on site

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Launceston, TAS (LST)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Scamander Beach Hotel Motel offers 60 forms of accommodation with an iron/ironing board and portable fans. Rooms open to balconies. Bathrooms include a shower, complimentary toiletries and a hairdryer. Housekeeping is provided on a daily basis.

  • Private balcony
  • Television
  • Electric kettle
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hairdryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Portable fan
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

Guests are served a free continental breakfast daily.

Beach Bistro – This bistro serves lunch and dinner.

Sand Bar – On-site bar. Open daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time ends at 7 PM
  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 7:30 AM - 9 PM.
If you are planning to arrive after 8 PM, please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 7:30 AM - 9 PM.
Guests arriving after 8 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cots (infant beds) available
  • Only service animals are allowed

Hotel Names

  • Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
  • Scamander Beach Hotel Scamander
  • Best Western Scamander
  • Scamander Beach Hotel Motel Tasmania
  • Scamander Best Western

You should know

  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.

National Rating

This property has been awarded a star rating from the Australian star ratings agency, Star Ratings Australia.