Ratings based on 1,738 Verified Reviews

Real reviews from guests who’ve stayed
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Wotif Verified Reviews
Real reviews from guests who’ve stayed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Australia

Great hotel, fantastic location, brilliant service

Posted 06/10/2017
Pros: There is a nice rooftop restaurant and bar and you literally overlook ancient Roman ruins from the hotel.
Location: Excellent location within walking distance to many of Rome's attractions. You can walk out the front door and within 15 minutes be at the Colosseum!
This hotel is in a fantastic location within walking distance to many of Rome's major attractions. The staff of the hotel were the absolute highlight of our stay. They made our visit to Rome that much more enjoyable and memorable by providing friendly and professional assistance. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They gave us great recommendations for restaurants, and booked them for us, that we would never have found without them, plus advice on tours. They were so friendly and we enjoyed every interaction we had with them. Of all the hotels we stayed at during our holiday in Italy, the Hotel 47 in Rome was the one we will remember the most. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
10/10/2017 by Danielle Mello, Hotel Management
Dear Riccardo, your beautiful review leaves us overwhelmed! Thank you so much for sharing it and we truly hope you will visit us again. We are looking forward to welcome you back! warm regards, Danielle Mello
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Wonderful location!

Posted 18/07/2017 on Expedia
Rooms are nice and hotel is very clean. They offer a nice breakfast. The roof top bar and restaurant has a nice view. Seemed like they were not interested in serving you for a drink and was hard to get service on the roof. Lots of staff sitting around and no one waiting on those sitting in the lounge. The front desk had excelllent sevice and arranged transport to the hotel. Would recommend as the location is great if interested in Ancient Rome area.
Comment from Hotel Management
16/08/2017 by Danielle Mello, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your review and feedback. We thank you also for recommending us and hope to welcome you once again! warm regards, Danielle Mello
4 out of 5
by NICOLAS

Very cool spot

Posted 17/07/2017 on Hotels
Very cool, great location, only missing pool
Comment from Hotel Management
10/08/2017
Thank you Nicolas! warm regards, Danielle Mello
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Kent

Amazing

Posted 10/07/2017 on Expedia
Beautiful hotel with a fantastic location. Staff are very polite and helpful. Rooms are a nice size and very comfortable. I'd definitely come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
10/07/2017 by Danielle Mello, Hotel Management
Dear Amelia, thank you so much for the amazing review! We are looking forward to welcome you back soon! warm regards, Danielle Mello
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

not updated, not worth the money

Posted 09/07/2017 on Expedia
this hotel is old and out of date. they've done nothing to repair it since i was last there in 2011. the decor and design of the rooms is from the 80s. the linens are rough. the pillows are hard as rocks. the shower was so small you can barely turn around in it and the door didn't close. the hair dryers are from the 80s. on top of that, we got some bad news the day we checked in and had to leave immediately for a family emergency. and they insisted on charging us the next night accommodations. so disappointing when you're in a state of emergency and they insist on making money off an empty hotel room. it's also located in tourist trap heaven so you can't even go to the local store to get a water without being ripped off. stay somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
12/07/2017 by Danielle Mello, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Our decor is not from the 80's, we opened the hotel in 2004 and since then had many renovations, the style is a contemporary Art Decò, and it can be appreciated, as many do, or not, but this is a matter of taste and so I cannot respond to that. I can read on your review about your disappointment for having to pay for your entire stay, even if you had an emergency. I regret to learn about your bad news and your emergency, but when you book a hotel room for a certain number of days, and then for any reason have to leave earlier, hotels all over the world will charge for the full period because that room, as you yourself stated, remains empty and will not be sold. Your statement that “hotels want to make money when you are on a state of emergency” sounds very unfair. Try to buy an airline, from any airline, ticket and then tell them you cannot travel that day because you have an emergency. It happened to me. The staff will be very sorry but will tell you that this is the policy of the airline, and the same thing happens with hotels that have a non-refundable policy. Lastly, our location is amazing since it is in the hearth of Rome’s archaeological sites and there are many stores and restaurants in our area, there is even a supermarket on the same street where you can buy water or anything you need, so your comment about being in a tourist trap is totally unjustified. Sincerely, Danielle Mello
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Air Conditioning didn't work well

Posted 09/07/2017 on Orbitz
There was a unit on the wall of my room to control the temperature, and after a hot, sleepless night I spoke with the concierge about fixing the air conditioning in the room. After several hours of speaking with different hotel employees, I was informed that the unit in the room does not work. Instead, the hotel sets every room to 22 degrees and those units on the wall are just for show. I explained that I wanted it cooler than that and I ended up missing several hours of touring that day in order to work with different employees in the hotel to try to explain the situation. My second night there they gave me a fan. They finally fixed the AC for my third and fourth nights. While the employees were trying to help, it was quite frustrating.
Comment from Hotel Management
12/07/2017 by Danielle Mello, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. The unit on the wall is not “only to show”, of course it has an useful function and allows the guest to increase or decrease the temperature set of a few degrees since the system is centralized. I can read that my colleagues did all they could to help you and that finally the temperature was set to your liking. I am sorry for the temporary mal function of your air-conditioner and apologize for the inconvenience. Best regards, Danielle Mello
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 08/07/2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
10/07/2017
Thank you for giving us the highest rate! best regards, Danielle Mello
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveller

enjoyable boutique hotel

Posted 04/07/2017 on Expedia
We stayed in this hotel for a weekend break in Rome. Small but cosy. The staff were lovely and the rooms were clean and tidy with enough amenities, if a little bland in design. Location was particularly good. You're nicely set-up to have a 10 minute walk into central Rome with all the sites and then you're very close to the river tiber to cross over into the Trastevere district. Courtyard was really nice to have breakfast in or a late night drink after an evening out. The staff should be promoting it more! Only downside was that breakfast was lacking and the coffee wasn't great. But overall, an enjoyable stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
07/07/2017 by Danielle Mello, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel and our location! Sorry if you didn't like the coffee, the cappuccinos and espressos are really good, you should have tried it! We hope to welcome you again, best regards, Danielle Mello
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Great location for visiting antiquities

Posted 02/07/2017 on Expedia
Pros: The hostesses were extremely friendly and helpful. They cheerfully made lots of phone calls to check visiting hours which vary at many sites
Cons: The breakfast which is hardy never varied. It gets a little boring if you stay more than 4 nites.
Location: Everything
It's a great location for visiting antiquities. You walk out the entrance of the hotel and the Temple of Portuna is staring right back at you. It's close to the Forum and the Colosseum and the Temple of Marcellus. If you walk along the Tiber you can easily reach the Vatican with a 45 minute walk and to the Ara Pacis and Castle d'Angelo. It's close to the Ghetto area for atmosphere and Roman history.
Comment from Hotel Management
07/07/2017 by Danielle Mello, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your experience with us! We will take into consideration you suggestion regarding our breakfast! we hope to welcome you again and send you our warmest regards, Danielle Mello
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from West Chester, OH

Great location. Great staff

Posted 01/07/2017 on Expedia
Location for hotel was excellent. Nice walk to all the interesting sites. Breakfast was great and hotel staff was very accommodating. Only criticism is they need more stable WiFi.
Comment from Hotel Management
07/07/2017 by Danielle Mello, Hotel Management
Dear Matt, thank you so much for writing this review. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our excellent location and staff! We have the best possible wi-fi system but we are aware that on busy hours when everyone is connected, downloading data, it gets weaker. In Italy we still don't have broadband everywhere, it is still being developed so as soon as we have it we will update it! best regards, Danielle Mello